All Givebutter Reviews

1-25 of 418 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Blake

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed December 2021

Givebutter: The Gift That Keeps on Giving

User Profile

Leah

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Wonderful for Nonprofits

PROS

My favorite features are the fundraising and online auction. We recently used this feature for a fundraiser and had a lot of success.

CONS

The customer service response time is great, however, one of the chat representatives was not helpful and did not know how to fix an error I made. He took a very long time trying to find the answer and ultimately was unable to help. Thankfully another representative reached out and my problem was fixed immediately.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

They were constantly changing and I didn't like their interface. Givebutter was easier to use and I didn't like that they were always merging companies. In addition, I love the way Givebutter was started.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for these kind words, and we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed hosting your auction with us! Our apologies for the chat mishap – our team is always learning and improving. We appreciate you being a part of the Givebutter fam!

Replied December 2023

User Profile

Nathan

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Integration with Bloomerang is critical and easy to use

We would not have used GiveButter if it had not been for their Bloomerang integration. That has made transferring donor data and information super easy.

PROS

Easy and very intuitive to use. Free to set up pages and has a good number of options to use, but not an overwhelming number of options. Love that on auction items, you can manually add bids (for live auction) and can change the auction start date for each item.The integration with Bloomerang is crucial! It is the reason that we are using GiveButter. There are other good options out there, but they don't have the native integration.The Live Display feature is slick and will come in handy at live events for real-time updates.

CONS

For some reason, text will not format correctly in the Story section, especially when copying and pasting. I have been told by support that I need to manually type everything in versus copying and pasting. Bullets when formatting text don't work correctly either. This is a basic feature that must be corrected immediately.The ability to use discount codes on the registration page is pretty weak. Cannot configure codes to specific items. For instance, if you want $10 off a specific ticket, you can't assign it to that specific ticket. Doing a percentage amount can get messy too. Need the ability to assign codes to specific tickets.Missing chance drawing (raffles) functionality. We're bastardizing a way to do it using auctions, but I hate to have to bring in another software to execute the chance drawing.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

Love RallyUp, but we need the Bloomerang integration. We did one event with RallyUp, which went really well, but the back end cleaning up and reporting was a mess.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

The Kindful product is pitiful. It is not very flexible and graphically intuitive.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing these thoughts, Nathan! We're always working to improve Givebutter and feedback from changemakers like you is the most important part of that process. I've added all your feedback to our roadmap so engineering can take it into consideration for our next updates.

Replied May 2023

Mary Kay

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Giving is easy with Givebutter

Overall, I am very happy with our choice to use Givebutter to manage donations. The ease of use both on the backend for our Admin team and on the front end for our donors is superb. The platform is not overly complicated and works great for a small organization like ours.

PROS

Givebutter is a super intuitive platform to set up and start using. I really enjoyed the ease of integration with our existing website and the simplicity of the donation form.

CONS

The credit card fees from both Givebutter and their payment processing platform, Stripe, can eat into donations.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

Givebutter offered more payment options for donors, an easier interface for setting up campaigns and tracking donors, and better website integration.

Vendor Response

Thank you for these kind words! We're so glad that you're finding our platform easy to use. Credit card processing fees (2.9% + $0.30 per transaction) go straight to Stripe for covering secure online processing. Givebutter is free to use if optional Tips are enabled, and these never come out of your donated funds. Please get in touch with our team if you have additional questions about fees, we'd be happy to help! Keep making the world a butter place.

Replied February 2024

Helen

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2023

Disaapointing results for our first big fundraising event!

Meh.

PROS

Works well for simple online donation tracking and follow up.

CONS

The Auction feature is a big bust and I dislike the use of the word "tipping" for donors.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

Price and we liked that it was less complex--it fit our needs better.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Needed a more robust system

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing this, Helen. We're always working to improve Givebutter and feedback from changemakers like you is the most important part of that process. You are always welcome to turn the tipping option off, although keeping that activated is what makes Givebutter free for you to use. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in auction. We continue to add improvements on a weekly basis. If there's something specific you would like to see addressed, feel free to drop us a message at support@givebutter.com

Replied May 2023

Christina

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Easily customizable, great interface. Donors love it!

PROS

It's easy to use and the backend administration is really user-friendly.

CONS

We chose Givebutter for its ability to migrate our recurring donors over. We've spent 4 months trying to do that and haven't been able to and that has been frustrating.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

Its integration with Bloomerang and the ability to migrate monthly donors, which we haven't been able to do.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

We needed a product that integrated with Bloomerang.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review! We're so glad that you've found the interface easy to use. It looks like you were working with Hayley on migrating your recurring donors over, and we apologize for the delay when this process was started! It seems you are running into an issue due to missing donor addresses (required by Stripe) – unfortunately, we aren't able to complete migrations for donors with incomplete required data. The good news is that you can always upload your data for the donors that do have complete addresses! The others can be added once you have addresses for them. We'd recommend reaching out to Hayley if you have additional questions on this process. Thanks for being part of the Givebutter fam!

Replied November 2023

Caroline

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

EXCELLENT CROWDFUNDING RESOURCE!

Excellent servicing of donations, no cost except for our IT people to personalize the page, and donors found it simple and easy to use.

PROS

The ease for donors to complete the required information, the absence of a fee, customer service.

CONS

That we didn't receive any merch for advertising their products except for a couple of stickers.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

no cost to our organization at all. The ease in which to customize our website. Navigation on the page, ease in locating transactions.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

cost mostly, their fees were very high for our small school

Vendor Response

Thank you for these kind words! Keep making the world a butter place.

Replied February 2024

Hannah

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Easy, intuitive setup and use

PROS

The tipping point for our organization to use Givebutter was definitely the price (free) and the option it gives donors to pay for the processing fees, so the organization gets more of the donation, instead of part going to those fees. After choosing Givebutter, the good aspects continued with intuitive campaign setup, and easy transfer of funds. It was also nice to be able to add donors on the "back end" who had given in person, but whose donations still helped move the "thermometer."

CONS

It would be nice to have the ability to feature more photos and videos on the campaign page, instead of one photo.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

The tipping point for our organization to use Givebutter was definitely the price (free) and the option it gives donors to pay for the processing fees, so the organization gets more of the donation, instead of part going to those fees.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your kind review! We're delighted to be your fundraising partner.

Replied February 2024

Tina

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Easy to use

Give Butter has allowed us to make the donation payment process so much easier.

PROS

Give Butter does all the work. So easy for people to donate and for us to track those donations.

CONS

I would rather have the donations direct deposited weekly to eliminate the process of us transferring.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Having the fees covered by the donor, Gives us more of the amount donated.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for this feedback! If you're a verified nonprofit, we offer an automated payouts option on a daily basis. Keep making the world a butter place!

Replied February 2024

Niesha

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Hands down—the best option

I love it and can’t see myself using anything else.

PROS

I love how user-friendly it is. I can upload campaigns and modify the URL to make it easier to find the campaigns.

CONS

I can’t think of anything that I don’t like about it. Maybe the fact that the meetings they hold with organizations happen in the daytime when I’m at work.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

They were helpful and made everything easy to do.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear Givebutter is making fundraising easier for your organization. 

Replied February 2024

Heather

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Excellent Tool for Any Nonprofit

Give utter has improved our fundraising capacity and reduced the workload on our small nonprofit considerably. We've used it to host events, sell tickets, run an auction, and set up monthly and one time donations to multiple funds. We have nothing but excellent things to say about our experiences with it and it's increased our funding significantly.

PROS

The ease of use, clean design, integrations, tracking, and robust tools.

CONS

That donators cannot put their chosen name on their donation and have it show publicly. Their legal name shows instead.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Cost, ease of use, collection of available tools.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for this feedback! Donors can enter a display name on the "Show your support" slide – this is optional, and a legal name is never required for public display. Donors can also donate anonymously if they choose to do so! We're so glad to hear that you're enjoying using Givebutter.

Replied February 2024

Jennifer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Best Option for Small Nonprofits

We have no plans whatsoever to change from Givebutter and see ourselves using it for a long time. It's perfect for our needs! Any nonprofit with a budget of under 1M would be wise to explore Givebutter as an option.

PROS

Givebutter's customer service is probably my favorite, though a close second is the format of the dashboard and ease of use. I always receive a response from customer service within an hour or less when I've reached out, and I see consistent improvements being made from suggestions made by users. They really, really listen to what users are saying and implement solutions quickly!

CONS

The only function I dislike is in the auction feature, where it cannot be deleted from a campaign. We launched an auction on the wrong campaign by mistake and now it lives there indefinitely, without a way to remove. However, I'm confident Givebutter will update soon to fix this, as they always have a way of listening to the needs of their users and implementing solutions quickly.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

Classy is WAY too expensive

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Kindful didn't have options for recurring donors, wasn't intuitive for donors to use, didn't offer a lot of customization options, and wasn't easy to manage refunds or recurring payments on behalf of donors.

Vendor Response

Wow, Jennifer! Thank you for this detailed and complimentary review! We're so glad you're part of the Givebutter fam. That's a great suggestion to remove the Auction tab from the main campaign page if an auction is canceled. I've created a feature request for that - feel free to add your vote! https://community.givebutter.com/raise/p/if-an-auction-is-canceled-also-remove-the-auction-tab-from-the-campaign-page

Replied May 2023

Sara

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Great Price, Great Product

Givebutter does everything that I need it to. I can process donations for our ongoing donation page and for specific events like Giving Tuesday. I am also able to use it for our annual fundraiser by selling vendor booths & tickets. And all of this for free. It's perfect!

PROS

It's free which is great for me because I work at a small nonprofit and we have a huge upswing in money coming in for our annual Fundraiser in August, then the rest of the year there is little activity. Paying for a product all year when it's really mostly used a few months out of the year didn't make sense. Givebutter being free is the biggest Pro!

CONS

It was little hard to import donors and I never figured out how to put in past donations to get our records all in one place, but I was able to tag people as having donated in the past so that worked well enough.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

All the other products required me to schedule a demo to see what their products can do. With Givebutter, I was able to make an account and start using it to see if it was right for my needs. It was so easy to use that I cancelled all the demos and started using GIvebutter that day.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

DonorPerfect was already expensive for us because we are a small nonprofit. The features that I needed to sell event tickets for out annual fundraiser were extra and we couldn't afford it. We made due, but then we were notified that they were increasing the price! So I cancelled immediately and started shopping around.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for buttering us up, Sara! We're glad you're part of the Givebutter fam. If you still want to import those historical donations, we recently added that ability. Here are directions for you! https://help.givebutter.com/en/articles/6934176-how-to-import-transactions

Replied May 2023

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Amazing software for small nonprofits

Amazing experience with Givebutter and I would 10/10 recommend them to small to mid sized nonprofits looking for a comprehensive fundraising solution! I don’t recommend it for larger organizations that need more custom solutions and robust reporting.

PROS

The price is unbeatable — it’s free, other than fees that can be passed to the donor! Not only is it free, it’s intuitive and powerful. It’s better than some of the paid tools I’ve used. The customer service is fantastic and they are always adding new features. Free SMS?! Such a bargain and has been so useful to our organization.

CONS

The email functionality isn’t great because the email design/template isn’t very customizable. However, it’s great for just transactional emails, and anything more sophisticated I use another email platform for. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the way the plain donate forms looked, but they’re updating those too!

Reason for choosing Givebutter

I chose GiveButter because it had so many features built into one free platform. Donation forms, auction, events, P2P, SMS, and emails!

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing this great review and suggestions! We're always working to improve Givebutter and feedback from changemakers like you is the most important part of that process.

Replied September 2023

Carrie

Events Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Simply solution for family benefit

We needed a way to solicit donations online and with various payment options.

PROS

Givebutter provided me a simple solution to create a campaign and solicit online donations for a family in need. The interface was easy to use. We were up and running in less than an hour. I was able to quickly make changes along the way as new donations became available. It was also great to assign other individuals access to run reports and track donations. Payouts were simple and quick.

CONS

I wish I could have uploaded pictures of donation items directly into the interface rather than having to upload to a server and referencing them via .html. I think that there should be a better way to manage.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

Interface was simple. Price was competitive.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing this, Carrie! I'll pass that feedback along about uploading photos directly for tickets/donation items. Glad to hear you were able to help someone in need and that Givebutter made that easy to do.

Replied May 2023

Tony

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

GiveButter has streamlined our nonprofit and we’ve only scratched the surface.

We’ve been using it for a few months and plan to only increase what we are using it for!

PROS

The user experience and customization make building campaigns and creating landing pages that integrate with our website and social media so easy!

CONS

This is not really a con but I wish there was a membership management function that allows you to create members only lading pages with login info that can be turned on or off based in payment status.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

It was ultimately free and had a very smooth UX and has checked all of our boxes so far.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Classy was too expensive and the sales team is extremely pushy

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing this! I've passed your feedback along to the engineering team. We're always working to improve Givebutter and feedback from changemakers like you is the most important part of that process.

Replied September 2023

Joel

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Great solution for a PTA

It's been great. Great support. Great to use. Adopting it as our tool has elevated our fundraising efforts.

PROS

Site is easy to set up and customize. It is easy to share out. And it is easy for donors to use.

CONS

Would like to be able to customize fee settings more - choose to cover some fees and request donors cover others. Auction needs more functionality. One specific thing is the ability to print item sheets with description and picture. We cannot make an easily seeable and exportable note on transactions. Cannot make customizable fields for internal use only.

Reason for choosing Givebutter

Ease of use, customization ability, and fee structure. We may use RallyUp for auction or another provider due to lack of needed functionality.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review! We're always working to improve Givebutter and feedback from changemakers like you is the most important part of that process.

Replied January 2024

Jada

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY