Givebutter Reviews

4.9 / 5 (96) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 5 times in the last 30 days

User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(86)

86

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Givebutter Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 96 results

March 2021

Michael from Central Penn College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Great benefit and easy to use platform with lots of room to grow

We have been greatly satisfied with Givebutter. The zero fees and complete data transparency have put us in the drivers seat with our online fundraising initiatives. Using Givebutter has dramatically increased our online fundraising potential. We are eager to keep this product in our arsenal of tools in the work ahead of us.

Pros

Givebutter is easy to use, has lots of great features, and gives you control over your data. It also doesn't require a barge or boatload of cash to get started. Givebutter has a great team of specialists ready and willing to help you through your initial configuration as well as your ongoing work with the platform.

Cons

There are no drawbacks. We are eager to see what new features Givebutter continues to implement to make its communication with other platforms common in the space as seamless and easy as its current complement of offerings. We are also eager to see FORM applications grow so we can retired other solutions we have entirely. We are working hard to earn enough annual dollars to afford custom URLS and the giving hub. Two great features we are eager to implement as WE grow.

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

Much lower cost of entry, no long-term contract commitments, and complete control over our data.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

We loved the ability to centralize functionality and use cases from three or four applications into a single app, with much lower fees and complete control over out data. And it talks directly to Bloomerang (our CRM for fundraising) so this was simply a MUST DO for us.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, Michael! We're beyond thrilled you found working with our team an added benefit to using Givebutter. Our support team is always available to take feature requests; or click the question mark in the top right corner of your Dashboard, then Give Feedback.

February 2021

Mary from Knoxville - Knox County Community Action Committee

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Excellent for non-profits of all tech-skill levels to offer modern virtual fundraising events

We created our account in 2020 and it solved the immediate critical need of reaching supporters for our fundraising events amidst a pandemic. Because of Givebutter, we had an immediate and headache-free solution that allowed us to raise almost $40K so far. Also, we are an agency with many different programs, each of which manage their own unique fundraising campaigns and have their own unique needs. Givebutter offers three different types of fundraising campaigns, which allowed each of our Programs to run the type of campaign they needed.

Pros

It has a clean and simple user interface, which required very little training time as I onboarded new Users from our staff. Their support team is very responsive and knowledgeable, and help to guide us through all of our questions. Their organization has a customer-centric focus, and is designed to receive and adapt based of their user feedback. We also really liked its ability to integrate with our CRM.

Cons

Currently they do not offer an online auction function (silent or live), but this feature is in development and anticipated this year. We also did not like the Tips feature, which if activated removed their platform fees. Essentially, if you leave the Tip feature on then at checkout it provides the donor with the option to also tip Givebutter. We felt that this was confusing to our donors, who may not understand what Givebutter is, and that those funds would not be included as part of their gift to our organization. We would instead prefer to have a flat platform fee, but realize this probably means they would make less money. Also, the integration with our CRM was limited in terms of what data migrated where. We hope to see that change, so more information can be captured via Givebutter and automatically synced into our CRM.

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

At the time, Qgiv was a mobile-only platform and we needed a web-based solution. Qgiv has announced that they are soon launching an online version as well.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Mary! We're so glad to read your entire team can use Givebutter with ease. Thank you for sharing all your functionality needs, too! If you haven't already, please reach out to support so we can be sure any feature requests are documented, or you can visit our Feature Request portal on our Community page.

October 2021

Jeanine from Habitat for Humanity of Rabun County

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

For the price, you can't beat it!

Overall, we had a great experience with Givebutter. If you a small nonprofit and watching your pennies, give them a try.

Pros

The price--we used the free version, so we can't complain and the customer service--they have fantastic customer service!

Cons

It is difficult to customize GiveButter's events at this time. They are growing their offerings and I really hate to complain about a free service.

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

The fees

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

We hated giving up so much money in fees.

March 2021

Kathi from Lafayette Library and Learning Center Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Dynamic Online Donation Platform

Easy to implement and create campaigns. Integrates seamlessly with our CRM. Solid customer support. We would like more detailed reports, but appreciate that their Dev team is always working on upgrades.

Pros

It's very easy to create custom appeals with unique themes and seasonal messaging.

Cons

The donation receipt does not show whether the donor covered the fees. An administrator must download a transaction report to view that details.

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

We were using our CRM's online giving form before, but prefer the functionality of Givebutter.

December 2018

Kelly from Student

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

My review

Pros

It's very user-friendly and easy to use.

Cons

Not much. Everything is great about this.

August 2021

Courtney from Writer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Givebutter, Give Better.

Pleasant transition to Givebutter. Free trial was promising. Will be using for nonprofit donor base going forward.

Pros

Truly a 'All-in-one fundraising for the modern nonprofit'

Cons

N/A. The landing page is a bit busy but this doesn't impact the integrity of the software.

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

Fundraising, Engaging, Simplicity

February 2021

Kim from Hospitality House of Charlotte

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

User-friendly and always evolving

It has been great. The customer service team is understanding and quick to respond. If there's something I ask for that isn't an option, they will add it to their list of requests and usually get to it in about 6 months or so depending on how popular of a request it is. I can't wait to see what they come out with next.

Pros

Love that it is easy to use for admins and donors. The Givebutter team is so open to feedback and makes frequent updates that help us fulfill our need better

Cons

They automatically add a 5% tip to every donation unless you opt to turn it off, in which case you would absorb the cost as an organization. It's definitely the more feasible choice to have it turned on, but beware if your donors don't notice it, they might come back to you very unhappy...

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

The products were too expensive and not user-friendly.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Kim! And please keep your feedback coming. We love to turn requests into new features! Your thoughts on the transparency of tips are appreciated! As always, the support team is available to collect feedback you have about the donor experience.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

GiveButter makes fundraising for non-profits easy and user-friendly

The group I am a part of doesn't have a lot of tech-savvy members. being able to use an intuitive platform like GiveButter makes it feasible and easy for us to fundraise at all types of events. QR codes, campaign URLs, and text-do-donate have all changed who we can reach and how.

Pros

GiveButter campaigns are so easy to set up; they let you duplicate a previous campaign and amend as necessary. It's intuitive and you can always view what your campaign looks like at any step of the way.

Cons

Some of the user interface seems busy and it's not always clear which areas of the page I should be giving attention to. But I do always figure it out in the end, and by looking at everything I find out more about GiveButter's functionality.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

Eventbrite was expensive, didn't have a lot of licenses, and didn't feel personal. We like that GiveButter gives us the attention we need when setting up new campaigns and that it works with non-profits.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review! We love hearing that your entire team finds Givebutter intuitive to use. Our team is always here to guide you when you're unsure what to do next, and we love to collect feedback about the Givebutter interface. Chat with us anytime!

February 2021

Angelica from WNC Bridge Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Great Customer Service!

Being able to continue our fundraising efforts in a virtual format during the pandemic has been incredible. It has opened our eyes to the benefits of this channel of fundraising and we will likely continue implementing it into our annual fundraising efforts.

Pros

We absolutely loved the donor wall, as did those donating to our cause. We did a follow-up survey after our first campaign hosted by GiveButter and this was voted as the favorite feature of our campaign by our constituents.

Cons

There is an ease of use about this software which makes it easy to build onto. Some features that could be improved upon would be the ability to align photos and text (content) better, to be able to track site visitors, and being able to order/remove information at the top of the page prior to seeing the story. That said, Givebutter is great about accepting recommendations and has made many upgrades simply by user suggestion, which is an awesome customer service attribute!

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

Price point, ease of use, look & feel of the site.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

Our previous platform did not offer such ease of use or have near the features of Givebutter.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Angelica! We're glad to have provided what you needed to pivot to virtual fundraising. We look forward to supporting you for years to come (post-pandemic!)

February 2021

Kasi from The Place

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Streamlined and Wonderful Peer-to-Peer Fundraising

We love using Givebutter. It is much more efficient than our previous peer-to-peer product and saves us time, energy, and resources that we are then able to allocate to other aspects of our fundraising efforts.

Pros

The integration with Bloomerang, our donor database, is the most helpful part of this product. In addition, it is easy to use both on the backend as an administrator and as a participant/user/donor. The website is clean, modern, and beautiful looking. We love the ease at which people can sign up and donate on Givebutter.

Cons

The fees can be a bit high, in comparison with sending donors directly to our website, however we have found that we are able to get more donors and a higher average donation through Givebutter, so the positives outweigh the negatives.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

We wanted a system that was easier to use and that would work with Bloomerang.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Kasi! We're thrilled that Givebutter complements working with Bloomerang so well for you, and that you're seeing higher than average donations. We look forward to supporting you for years to come!

February 2021

Kyle from The DeGood Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Easy, Simple, and Intutitive

Pros

Very simple to use, great user interface, and the staff are unmatched in their customer support!

Cons

If we could have an easier way to track event tickets and do check-in that would be great! But their support team is always adding new ideas and is always asking for suggestions to improve the software.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

We weren't generating enough consistent revenue to support the costs of Cheerful. Givebutter is the perfect free alternative with so many amazing features.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Kyle! We love hearing that Givebutter is saving you time AND money. If you haven't already, please reach out to support to share your needs/ideas for better event ticket tracking, or click the question mark in the top right corner of your Dashboard, then Give Feedback.

February 2021

Keely from United Leukodystrophy Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

We LOVE Givebutter!

Givebutter has a great support team and takes feedback very seriously. We are very happy with the product and actively look for new ways to use it!

Pros

We love that it integrates with our donor software (Bloomerang) and it can be embedded into our website. It is so much easier for us to work with when we know that it's working alongside our already implemented softwares!

Cons

We wish disbursements would match the donations as they are logged into our donor software. It creates a little bit of accounting issues because the deposit date doesn't match the donation date, but we work around that.

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

We felt that Givebutter had more immediately usable features that would benefit our Foundation.

Response from Givebutter

Replied February 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Keely! We love hearing that the Bloomerang integration is helping to make fundraising for United Leukodystrophy Foundation easier. We have a feature request for mapping split payments (the ability to differentiate between earned revenue, donations, and applicable fees). I'll subscribe you, so you're notified of updates!

February 2021

Alisa from Metro YMCAs of the Oranges

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Brilliant Platform and Super Easy

GiveButter has been a terrific solution for our organization. With GiveButter we solved the problem of not having a donor-centric online giving platform that takes all the modern payment methods. The benefits have been that we can increase our donor engagement and allow our fundraisers to share our story in an easy and effective way.

Pros

GiveButter was incredibly streamlined to get going with. It works perfectly, and has all the features we need: peer-to-peer fundraising; team and fundraiser performance tracking; and alternative payment methods like Venmo, digital wallets and paypal. It is easy to use both for our staff and our donors. We really like the ticketing feature and the ability to live stream events on our pages. GiveButter's imbedded tips and documentation are so easy to read and understand. They have a five-star support team. We really like the API with Double the donation for matching gifts. The most helpful thing about GiveButter is the ease of implementation. It took less than a day to learn everything we need and get set up. The biggest upside to using GiveButter is that it is a donor-centric, flawless online giving platform.

Cons

I would like a little more ability to control how data exports - picking fields, for instance, instead of one massive export. Not a big problem though, and the data is useable for analysis and importing to the our fundraising software.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

Givebutter has more flexibility in set up, and offers fundraising and events in one, inexpensive platform. They also offer modern digital payment methods.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Alisa! We're so excited to read just how easy it was for you to get set up with us. If you haven't already, please reach out to support to share your needs/ideas for more exporting options or click the question mark in the top right corner of your Dashboard, then Give Feedback.

February 2021

Susie from Glen Echo Park Partnership

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

First foray into online giving platform--so easy to use!

We are delighted that donors can cover the cost of fees if they decide too (and we can opt to ask them to or not). I am finding it super easy to use and if I have a question, I can get an answer pretty quickly!

Pros

GiveButter is straightforward and easy to use! It's also flexible in that you can start out using it for fee (aside from fees). I like that we can set up easily new campaigns and track donations to them. The customer support is great and very responsive (even without the premium account). It has allowed our organization to try out text to give without investing in a contract and we have been using it for our regular donations as well because it's so easy and we can ask donors to cover the fees if they want (and most of them do!).

Cons

Where you make changes to your campaign/settings-- isn't super intuitive to me (I hunt around on where to find what I need to tweak). If the payout history could get provide detailed reports that would help out accounting (it's in the works, I believe?)

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

No initial contract investment; text to give.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Susie! We do have more payout data for accounting purposes in the works! We'll be sure you're subscribed to updates in our feature request portal. We look forward to supporting you for years to come!

February 2021

Rhea from Cancer Care Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

A Great Switch

We have been very pleased with Givebutter and their openness to update/upgrade their platform based on feature requests of the non-profit users.

Pros

The user interface with Givebutter is much better than the previous online donation form we were using. We like that it is a step-by-step click through opposed to a long form to fill out. Having the ability to run an online donation and an event page in the same system is helpful to our team to not have to learn two different types of platforms.

Cons

Givebutter promotes itself to be free to the non-profit, and the donor pays the platform fees. We would like to be able to choose to pay a monthly price to pay some of the platform fees on our own (as we know it is part of doing business) instead of passing them on to the donor every time.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

The previous online donation form we were using was long and required a lot of information which we felt was deterring donors to complete the form. Givebutter is much better for the donor.

Response from Givebutter

Replied February 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Rhea! We love reading that donors are finding your new donation form easier and more enjoyable to use. We appreciate you letting us know your preferences about platform fees, too. We can certainly take this into consideration!

February 2021

Jyl from Cancer Resource Center of the Finger Lakes

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

A Dream Come True

Pros

The integration into our Bloomerang database has save us COUNTLESS hours of donation entry. I was thrilled to find it SO user friendly. It looks great. People love it. The customer service is EXCELLENT.

Cons

I can't think of anything that I don't like about it!

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

Givegab didn't integrate with our database.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Jyl! We love reading that you're able to work with Bloomerang + Givebutter seamlessly. We look forward to supporting the Cancer Resource Center of the Finger Lakes for years to come!

February 2021

Deborah from Jack's Family Fund

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Easy To Use/Low Overhead

We had to change the way we were accepting online donations due to a change in what our parent organization was requiring in terms of security documentation. And, we needed to do it very quickly. GiveButter was able to provide the necessary documentation we needed for the "higher ups" and was very easy for me to get set-up and working.

Pros

Love how easy it was to create and implement an online donation campaign.

Cons

No disappointments at this stage, but we have only used it for accepting online donations.

Reasons for Choosing Givebutter

Price, ease of use, security documentation they could provide

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

They did not have a completed AOC and the timeframe for when they would have it was too far out to satisfy our parent company.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Deborah! We're glad to hear our security practices fit your organization's high-security needs. The feedback about our response times is much appreciated, too. We can review the conversation timelines to be sure we were able to implement improvements based on the experience supporting your team.

February 2021

Terrance from Red Panda Network

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Givebutter is the best.

Our virtual events are so much better with Givebutter!!

Pros

Givebutter has been been a game-changer for our virtual fundraising events. You can live stream, set up a campaign in minutes and the social proof feature makes it so fun to give. Their customer support is also excellent -- quick, friendly, and personable.

Cons

I do wish they integrated with the Kindful CRM but they integrate with other CRMs which is great. Fortunately, they made the data transfer process very easy.

Response from Givebutter

Replied February 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Terrance! We love reading that your virtual events are "butter" with us. We do have an integration with Kindful logged as a feature request, and I'll subscribe you to updates!

November 2018

Daphne from Humans for Education

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Givebutter is the best way to raise money

My overall experience has been so positive from day one. I feel that the customer service is above and beyond excellent and I couldn't imagine having a better team to help me raise money.

Pros

Givebutter is the best way to raise money, hands down. Not only is the platform easy-to-use but it has many useful tools for fundraisers and their teams. It is easy for anyone to migrate their fundraising to this platform. Givebutter does a fantastic job at getting the community involved and having donors feel like they are connected with other interested donors. The social media platforms for sharing are seamless. I recommend Givebutter to everyone who I meet that fundraises.

Cons

Givebutter is working on integrations with Salesforce and we can't wait for this to happen!

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Everyone should use Givebutter!

I would highly recommend Givebutter to anyone looking for an easy to use and engaging fundraising platform. It's especially great for college student organizations. My student organization has used Givebutter since the beginning and we have seen them continue making updates and improvements to make it even better. PFTK loves Givebutter!

Pros

Givebutter is an easy to use platform that is fun and engaging, especially for college students. What first drew us to Givebutter was that they keep fees super low, which isn't found on any other platforms. We also love the team fundraising option and your members can even personalize their page. The new event feature for selling tickets is a plus. They also have excellent customer service! The team really makes it personal and you can always get in touch in a timely manner.

Cons

I can't think of any. They are always making improvements. The Givebutter team is very open to feeback and will do everything they can to make your experience better.

May 2019

Zienab from Orphan Relief - OU

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

The BEST Donation Platform

Pros

I love everything about Givebutter. They do not charge unreasonable rates on donations, features like ticket purchasing are very convenient, and the staff is AMAZING and very receptive to feedback.

Cons

Absolutely nothing upsets me about Givebutter. They really are concerned with costumer satisfaction and try to work alongside nonprofits, rather than against them.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Christopher from HOPE Tour

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

The Best Site to Fundraise

Givebutter is easily accessible, customer friendly, effective, transparent about their minimal fees, and the best site to fundraise, hands down, no questions asked. I used to fundraise on other platforms, but I will now always stick to Givebutter after having a continued remarkable​ experience with the company. I'm very thankful that I discovered this site, and it has saved me a great amount of time & energy with my fundraisers. I've also seen a spike in my crowdfunding success by​ using this company.

Pros

I most like the new ticketing feature for events because I plan to directly use Givebutter for a future project where there will be both crowdfunding for the tour and ticket sales for each event along our stops. Givebutter is a simple and brilliant solution for all of your fundraising needs, and this ticket feature is an example that shows how accessible, practical, and user-friendly the site is. I love how all these tools will be centered in one platform, and that helps me out tremendously.

Cons

There are very few things that I don't like about Givebutter. As the company evolves, there are better and better additions to the givebutter.com site. I definitely can't complain about the software because I've had such an easy and fun time using this fundraising platform.

February 2021

Lindsey from Local Media Association

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Super easy to use

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and how quickly you can get campaigns up and running.

Cons

The reporting by campaigns. I wish there were individual reports for each campaign within the larger one.

Response from Givebutter

Replied March 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Lindsey! We love reading that you find Givebutter a snap to set up. We'd love to hear more about your reporting needs. If you haven't already, please reach out to support so we can log a feature request for you, or visit our feature request portal on our Community site.

April 2020

AUTUMN from Wilson PTSA President

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great Customer service

The thing that impressed me the most was customer service. The day I set up my account, I recieved an email to set up a call with a customer service rep to make sure I knew how to use the platform. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], my customer service agent, was extremely helpful. I completely recommend GiveButter.

Pros

This platform is so much easier to use than other platforms my PTSA has tried. And the customer service was absolutely amazing.

Cons

There wasn't anything I didn't like. I'm completely happy.

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

Figh fees and ugly design platform

November 2018

Marie from Students for Haiti Solidarity at UC Santa Cruz

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

A great platform for donor engagement

Pros

I love that this software allows donors to interact with the fundraisers they're supporting. You can view donors' reasoning for donating to a cause and donors have the option of supporting a specific team member they might be connected to. Givebutter also has amazing customer service - if I ever reach out with a question, Max provides a quick and valuable response.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't identified something that I don't like about Givebutter's software. I'm happy that fundraisers' urls now reflect the name of the campaign rather than a random assortment of numbers and letters. That was a great change!

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Great Platform!

Givebutter allowed for me to raise money for my club to ensure than finances would not be a barrier for a student to play on a club team. We greatly appreciated the platform and recommend it to anyone looking to raise funds for a good cause!

Pros

I love how the platform is more interactive than a GoFundMe page. That and they take only a very small percentage of the proceeds, unlike the bigger pages. I also really like the Givebutter crew, they are easy to work with.

Cons

There were some issued when I was trying to transfer the money back to the cause. It was a bit confusing to figure out how to access the raised money. I did a fundraiser about 2 years ago though, so it might have improved since then.

December 2018

Emily from Delta Phi Epsilon

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Givebutter is the BEST!

Pros

GiveButter has been an absolute life saver. Every component of the website is extremely innovative and is constantly upgrading to be the best that it can be. Donors have spoken so highly of it as it is very simple and easy to navigate and use. Each member can create his or her own page which helps form friendly competition which increases fundraising. Furthermore, the GiveButter team is so kind and responsive — they will answer any questions and be there to support you every step of the way. In the past, I have used sites such as CrowdRise which feel like scams. GiveButter is the opposite; they want you to succeed and maximize fundraising!

Cons

There is nothing I do not like! It is truly the best.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Givebutter helped my organization so much!!

I started a school magazine from nothing, and we wanted to do print issues and weren’t going to change our mind. Givebutter allowed us to make enough money every semester to help fund the printing costs.

Pros

What first drew me to givebutter was that it didn’t take any fees out of what we got, we weren’t going to lose a large percent of donations to the host website.

Cons

There wasn’t much I didn’t like about the software, the only thing is that it isn’t as well known as go fund me for example so I don’t think as many people were “on board” with donating because they didn’t know what the website was

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

For those of us that don't love technology...

I was able to fundraise for school supplies for Karen Refugees in Thailand - the fundraiser was a huge success thanks to Givebutter!!

Pros

Givebutter is so easy to use. It is easy to create a fundraiser and easy for team members and donators to navigate the page (which also looks nice, in my opinion). The founders are quick to reply if you do have any issues. It is also extremely easy to transfer the money to a bank account when your fundraiser comes to a close. I have loved using Givebutter!

Cons

I wish it was more familiar/popular. It is a relatively new platform, so people aren't as familiar with it as they are with GoFundMe - but I think Givebutter is better so I hope it becomes more popular!

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Kurt from GumGum

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Butter Ambassador & Regional Manager

Great! I think a lot of my struggles were self induced and that it was a great way to interact with people I may never have. I certainly recommend it.

Pros

I loved the ease of use. Even the people who I had raise money never once mentioned it as a tough software to use. That makes everything much quicker.

Cons

I would say nothing but I feel like that doesn’t provide you with insights to optimize. I suppose the only thing that comes to mind is the navigation through the software.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Amazing Up-And-Coming Platform

Overall I’m just waiting for the next opportunity I’ll have to use the platform! Very pleased :)

Pros

I liked best the personal approach that took when operating the site. Being able to reach out to him directly and getting help when we had issues with the platform made me trust I could use this for anything I needed to the fundraiser for.

Cons

I think the Meme page could be a little smoother designed. I’m not sure what that would look like but I think the concept is excellent and will evolve to be even better.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Friendly Fundraising!

We've seen an increase in fundraising efforts on both ends, it attracts donors and fundraisers because of it's ease of use.

Pros

This platform streamlines teams and campaign groups, is easy to customize and compatible with social media efforts. I also like that donors are given the option to assume the fees so their donation goes as far as they are promising.

Cons

Often between uses, I'm logged out and have to sign in again before I can perform one-click actions, like react to donations.

Response from Givebutter

Replied February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're thrilled to hear that Givebutter's ease of use has facilitated fundraising and served your internal team, fundraisers, and donors alike!

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Elisha from Guggenheim Partners

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Positive Experience Both Times Using

I used it as a fundraising platform for my college business org, a 501(c)(3). People enjoyed it and we got a lot of positive feedback from it.

Pros

I liked the UX/UI - it's a simple design with not an inundating amount of features that is easy and fun to use.

Cons

Brand recognition is pretty low - people are less willing to put their cc information into a website that they don't recognize. I think marketing could go a long way - maybe through a high profile fundraiser for some college phone-a-thon or something.

February 2021

Brittany from Christ Community Health Services Augusta

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

We love Givebutter!

We are integrating virtual components to our event fundraising and Givebutter has been super helpful!

Pros

We love the design of the donation pages and how easy it is for users to donate! The forms are very intuitive. We also love the customer support team! Their education videos and trainings are super helpful for non-profit fundraising!

Cons

I honestly can't think of anything! We love Givebutter!

Reasons for Switching to Givebutter

It is more affordable with less fews and we love the integration with Bloomerang.

Response from Givebutter

Replied February 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Brittany! We love hearing that we've been helpful in supporting your fundraising efforts at Christ Community Health Services Augusta. We look forward to working with you for years to come!

November 2018

Caroline from Georgia College Music Therapy Society

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Easy Money with GREAT customer service

Pros

We have used Givebutter for 3 campaigns that have always been successful. It's easy to promote and the one time I had a question, customer rep. was amazing and answered all of my questions. We even got stickers! We will continue to use Givebutter and I recommend it to all organizations looking for easy, worthwhile crowdfunding.

Cons

We have not experiences any cons with this software.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

GreenLight Loves Givebutter!

GreenLight Solutions Foundation found Givebutter when we were searching for a cost-effective way to crowdfund and raise money to grow our organization. When we joined Givebutter a little over a year and a half ago the whole process was pretty new for us, but overtime it became easier to use and has really helped us do more than we could have with out it. Funds from Givebutter have helped pay for supplies for students at ASU, project materials for local businesses, and even helped pay for our business trip to Pittsburgh to attend the 2018 AASHE Conference! We love Givebutter's new homepage/interface/UX and the fun communication/branding is cool too. Many thanks to Max & his team!!

Pros

Fun company, simple to use software, and excellent customer service. Givebutter has helped grow our organization by cultivating grassroots fundraising efforts.

Cons

Some functionality is difficult to navigate on the website, like going between campaign and chapters and such...although with the new set up it does seem easier to use.

November 2018

Arielle from Kol HaNearim

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

amazing software with even better customer service

Pros

Honestly the customer service. The staff is extremely responsive and always willing to help with any questions or concerns. Very helpful in catering the platform to our business’s needs. The platform is extremely easy to use and takes the headache out of fundraising. We have used Paypal and stripe, and Givebutter is definitely our number one choice!

Cons

We love the software! We honestly just want them to continue building out their capabilities so we can use Givebutter in other capacities.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Givebutter for the win!

Pros

The team at Givebutter are some of the most helpful people I've met. They are always making sure that their product is what their customers need and are always available to answer questions. Givebutter is an awesome platform and if you are looking for a new way to fundraise or give, you should definitely be looking at Givebutter.

Cons

The team at GiveButter are constantly innovating. This is definitely a plus, but the platform has changed quite a bit since I started using it.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Givebutter Review

Great and simple platform to lead your fundraising campaign, very easy to use and work with for people of all ages.

Pros

Very easy to use, and great customer service. My team's had issues with receiving payment and they walked us through the errors step by step until the problem was solved. Strong user interface, and easy to set up for fundraising efforts.

Cons

Can be small delays in receiving funds, and they do take a percentage of fundraising efforts, so plan on trying to raise over your goal just in case.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Helps Everyone

Overall Givebutter has helped member of my college campus raise money for causes they are very passionate about.

Pros

Givebutter offers you a chance to fundraise for a good cause, rather than just from a business standpoint. I am a college student and have watched fraternities and sororities use it multiple times. A fraternity on campus was able to raise over $6,000 with the help of this software. It is more than just another app, it is life changing for many people! Please think about purchasing this app!

Cons

Unfortunately donations are tax deductible but most users will pay the difference in tax so that the organization can still raise the same.

November 2018

Mandy from The Petey Greene Program

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

If you Give Butter do they Give Better?

We have not received donations on the level we were hoping, but that is more about our staff not promoting it they way we invsioned.

Pros

The set up was easy, it looks good, it's easy for our volunteers and donors to use. This is not our primary fundraising tool but it enabled us to reach out to the networks of our student volunteers in a way we had not before.

Cons

I wanted to be able to easily go to each campus group page and see the donations. We can see all of the donations but not which campus group received the donation. You can find this but have to take more steps to get there.

April 2019

Liberty from Alpha Sigma Tau

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Givebutter is awesome!

I have used givebutter as the fundraising platform for my sorority for almost 2 years now, and love that they do not take a percentage off of the profits. I think the set-up is perfect for fundraising for any organization and I’m confident that we’ll be using Givebutter for years to come.

Pros

I loved how easy it was to figure out/use. There is nothing complicated about it and the customer support responds almost instantly!

Cons

Nothing! I didn’t have a single issue using Givebutter.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Intuitive, user-friendly, budget-friendly choice

Pros

Givebutter's main draw as a nonprofit professional is that it offers online fundraising and virtual event tools that other platforms charge exorbitant prices for.

Cons

Certain product features are limited (i.e. inability to customize certain fields and forms)

Response from Givebutter

Replied February 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We love to hear that you're using Givebutter for both your virtual events and online fundraising efforts. Our support team is always available to take feature requests; or feel free to leave them for our product team directly on our Community Feature Requests page.

December 2018

Matthew from Jupiter Farms Residents

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

A Non Profit Fundraising Platform that is Better than the Rest

For us it's very, set it and forget it. It's there when we push the link out to our base and in the background when we don't. Like a warm hug waiting for us when we need it.

Pros

Ease of use and direct to the point. Does not bog you down in minutia.

Cons

Great for general fundraising, not so great for the type of fundraising events we sell tickets to, and we get that. You can be everything to everyone everytime.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Matt from Brawl for a Cause

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Next Gen Fundraising Service

Excellent.

Pros

Being young and dynamic, the founding team is anticipating where the fundraising world is headed, and they are using tech to get ahead of it. Their customer service is top notch, and I would highly recommend working with their team.

Cons

I would like more robust ticketing features and more customer/donor insights

November 2018

Alessandra from LearnServe International

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

GREAT!

Pros

Easy to use, and excellent customer support!

Cons

Sometimes it was hard to coordinate when there are multiple fundraiser pages for one campaign! But the support that we received from the team was stellar!

December 2018

chloe from Alpha Chi Omega - Epsilon Phi

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great Customer Service

Pros

The customer service is very responsive and helpful, and they send out the donations promptly. The website is simple and intuitive.

Cons

It is less intuitive to edit personal information and I got confused about managing different campaigns, and how to direct people specifically one campaign.

February 2020

Daniel from Willow Creek 2 Homeowner's Assoc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Crowdsource Awesome in a Flash

I needed an online mechanism for raising funds for a community project (crowdsourcing birdhouses for placement in our greenbelts). Givebutter offered an ideal solution to the challenges I faced. With low overhead costs and a pleasing interface, I finished my project entirely satisfied with my choice of the platform.

Pros

The platform was very easy to get up and running. User interface was excellent and very intuitive. Feature set, while fairly simple, was very easy to use and clearly represents a well-thought out approach to modern fundraising. The platform documentation was helpful in articulating some of the platform's more advanced capabilities.

Cons

I needed to collect custom metadata with my campaign, which is a feature that isn't user-facing as of today. But their customer service (yes, they have that!) quickly and cherfully implemented my require fields.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Allison from Columbia Books & Information Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Best Customer Service

Givebutter has helped us mobilize our volunteer base all over the country and allowed everyone to see how the other chapters are performing and where they need help. This visibility has vastly improved our fundraising approach.

Pros

I loved how easy it was to use the software. But better yet, the executive and his team are always available to answer my questions. He and his team even joined our 3v3 basketball tournament fundraiser so support us. You won't find a more personal or dedicated company anywhere else.

Cons

It was lacking a few features at the beginning, but I believe all of those have been implemented, such as a better integration with our site.

November 2018

DAVID from UMASS-Amherst

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Givebutter's Great Program

It helped me immensly with a fundraiser.

Pros

The program was very easy to use and it was very easy to work with the Givebutter team.

Cons

Overall throughout my experience, I belive there just needs to be more awareness with the site so other people will be more familiar with donating on it's platform

Displaying 1 - 50 of 96 reviews