Givebutter Software Reviews

Givebutter Software Reviews

Find out more:

16

Recommendations

FrontRunners 2022

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.89

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Givebutter has a great team of specialists ready and willing to help you through your initial configuration as well as your ongoing work with the platform."
  • icon"It works perfectly, and has all the features we need: peer-to-peer fundraising; team and fundraiser performance tracking; and alternative payment methods like Venmo, digital wallets and paypal."
  • icon"The givebutter interface is extremely user friendly."
  • icon"Sometimes it was hard to coordinate when there are multiple fundraiser pages for one campaign."
  • icon"It is less intuitive to edit personal information and I got confused about managing different campaigns, and how to direct people specifically one campaign."
  • icon"There are very few things that I don't like about Givebutter."

Browse all Givebutter Reviews

  • Have you used Givebutter and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 103 reviews

Blake

Company size: 11 - 50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

December 2021

Givebutter: The Gift That Keeps on Giving

User Profile

Christopher

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

The Best Site to Fundraise

Givebutter is easily accessible, customer friendly, effective, transparent about their minimal fees, and the best site to fundraise, hands down, no questions asked. I used to fundraise on other platforms, but I will now always stick to Givebutter after having a continued remarkable​ experience with the company. I'm very thankful that I discovered this site, and it has saved me a great amount of time & energy with my fundraisers. I've also seen a spike in my crowdfunding success by​ using this company.

Pros

I most like the new ticketing feature for events because I plan to directly use Givebutter for a future project where there will be both crowdfunding for the tour and ticket sales for each event along our stops. Givebutter is a simple and brilliant solution for all of your fundraising needs, and this ticket feature is an example that shows how accessible, practical, and user-friendly the site is. I love how all these tools will be centered in one platform, and that helps me out tremendously.

Cons

There are very few things that I don't like about Givebutter. As the company evolves, there are better and better additions to the givebutter.com site. I definitely can't complain about the software because I've had such an easy and fun time using this fundraising platform.

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

Great benefit and easy to use platform with lots of room to grow

We have been greatly satisfied with Givebutter. The zero fees and complete data transparency have put us in the drivers seat with our online fundraising initiatives. Using Givebutter has dramatically increased our online fundraising potential. We are eager to keep this product in our arsenal of tools in the work ahead of us.

Pros

Givebutter is easy to use, has lots of great features, and gives you control over your data. It also doesn't require a barge or boatload of cash to get started. Givebutter has a great team of specialists ready and willing to help you through your initial configuration as well as your ongoing work with the platform.

Cons

There are no drawbacks. We are eager to see what new features Givebutter continues to implement to make its communication with other platforms common in the space as seamless and easy as its current complement of offerings. We are also eager to see FORM applications grow so we can retired other solutions we have entirely. We are working hard to earn enough annual dollars to afford custom URLS and the giving hub. Two great features we are eager to implement as WE grow.

Reasons for choosing Givebutter

Much lower cost of entry, no long-term contract commitments, and complete control over our data.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

We loved the ability to centralize functionality and use cases from three or four applications into a single app, with much lower fees and complete control over out data. And it talks directly to Bloomerang (our CRM for fundraising) so this was simply a MUST DO for us.

Response from Givebutter

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, Michael! We're beyond thrilled you found working with our team an added benefit to using Givebutter. Our support team is always available to take feature requests; or click the question mark in the top right corner of your Dashboard, then Give Feedback.

Replied March 2021

George

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Givebutter is more that you could expect...AND IT'S FREE!

It has been one of the best decisions I've made for our nonprofit. It integrates seamlessly with our DRM (which we will leave at the end of our current contract if Givebutter develops the ability to capture my historic donation data). Customer service continues to stun me even though I know they are world class...it still impresses.

Pros

The software is intuitive and robust and the best of all that is possible with Givebutter is the absolute world class customer service.

Cons

The inability to import historical donation history to be able to fully take advantage of the platform.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Ease if use, ability to integrate with DRM and website, and cost.

Kelly

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

My review

Pros

It's very user-friendly and easy to use.

Cons

Not much. Everything is great about this.

Elizabeth

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

You cannot beat this price for the features!

Pros

FREE! Wow, nothing is free anymore. GiveButter seemed too good to be true, yet then it worked incredibly for a ticketed event and helped us acquire new donors (and contact info), ticket sales of course, then additional donations. Really impressed that this provides a major boost to smaller or community ran orgs. We started using it for my Lions club because we couldn't justify any of the competition - and had our most successful annual event ever!

Cons

The CRM feature is real basic - which is fine honestly. We had a CRM, so I didn't rely on it. For a newer nonprofit or smaller org, I think that would be perfect.

Mary

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Excellent for non-profits of all tech-skill levels to offer modern virtual fundraising events

We created our account in 2020 and it solved the immediate critical need of reaching supporters for our fundraising events amidst a pandemic. Because of Givebutter, we had an immediate and headache-free solution that allowed us to raise almost $40K so far. Also, we are an agency with many different programs, each of which manage their own unique fundraising campaigns and have their own unique needs. Givebutter offers three different types of fundraising campaigns, which allowed each of our Programs to run the type of campaign they needed.

Pros

It has a clean and simple user interface, which required very little training time as I onboarded new Users from our staff. Their support team is very responsive and knowledgeable, and help to guide us through all of our questions. Their organization has a customer-centric focus, and is designed to receive and adapt based of their user feedback. We also really liked its ability to integrate with our CRM.

Cons

Currently they do not offer an online auction function (silent or live), but this feature is in development and anticipated this year. We also did not like the Tips feature, which if activated removed their platform fees. Essentially, if you leave the Tip feature on then at checkout it provides the donor with the option to also tip Givebutter. We felt that this was confusing to our donors, who may not understand what Givebutter is, and that those funds would not be included as part of their gift to our organization. We would instead prefer to have a flat platform fee, but realize this probably means they would make less money. Also, the integration with our CRM was limited in terms of what data migrated where. We hope to see that change, so more information can be captured via Givebutter and automatically synced into our CRM.

Reasons for choosing Givebutter

At the time, Qgiv was a mobile-only platform and we needed a web-based solution. Qgiv has announced that they are soon launching an online version as well.

Response from Givebutter

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Mary! We're so glad to read your entire team can use Givebutter with ease. Thank you for sharing all your functionality needs, too! If you haven't already, please reach out to support so we can be sure any feature requests are documented, or you can visit our Feature Request portal on our Community page.

Replied March 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

GiveButter makes fundraising for non-profits easy and user-friendly

The group I am a part of doesn't have a lot of tech-savvy members. being able to use an intuitive platform like GiveButter makes it feasible and easy for us to fundraise at all types of events. QR codes, campaign URLs, and text-do-donate have all changed who we can reach and how.

Pros

GiveButter campaigns are so easy to set up; they let you duplicate a previous campaign and amend as necessary. It's intuitive and you can always view what your campaign looks like at any step of the way.

Cons

Some of the user interface seems busy and it's not always clear which areas of the page I should be giving attention to. But I do always figure it out in the end, and by looking at everything I find out more about GiveButter's functionality.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Eventbrite was expensive, didn't have a lot of licenses, and didn't feel personal. We like that GiveButter gives us the attention we need when setting up new campaigns and that it works with non-profits.

Response from Givebutter

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review! We love hearing that your entire team finds Givebutter intuitive to use. Our team is always here to guide you when you're unsure what to do next, and we love to collect feedback about the Givebutter interface. Chat with us anytime!

Replied March 2021

Kim

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

User-friendly and always evolving

It has been great. The customer service team is understanding and quick to respond. If there's something I ask for that isn't an option, they will add it to their list of requests and usually get to it in about 6 months or so depending on how popular of a request it is. I can't wait to see what they come out with next.

Pros

Love that it is easy to use for admins and donors. The Givebutter team is so open to feedback and makes frequent updates that help us fulfill our need better

Cons

They automatically add a 5% tip to every donation unless you opt to turn it off, in which case you would absorb the cost as an organization. It's definitely the more feasible choice to have it turned on, but beware if your donors don't notice it, they might come back to you very unhappy...

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

The products were too expensive and not user-friendly.

Response from Givebutter

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Kim! And please keep your feedback coming. We love to turn requests into new features! Your thoughts on the transparency of tips are appreciated! As always, the support team is available to collect feedback you have about the donor experience.

Replied March 2021

Megan

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Fine Art

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Excellent Customer Service

We needed an easy to use platform to get started with building our member and donor base. Givebutter is quick to set up, very easy to use, and it looks great!

Pros

We just launched our first fundraiser with Givebutter, and are looking forward to exploring more of its features as our organization grows. For a brand new 501c3, we needed something that looked professional, didn't break the bank, and has the capacity to grow with us. So far, Givebutter has exceeded our expectations for ease of use and setup and their Customer Services has been stellar.

Cons

We haven't had the opportunity to try out all the features of the software, but we are very interested in future developments with Point of Sale (POS) options in the future.

Kasi

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Streamlined and Wonderful Peer-to-Peer Fundraising

We love using Givebutter. It is much more efficient than our previous peer-to-peer product and saves us time, energy, and resources that we are then able to allocate to other aspects of our fundraising efforts.

Pros

The integration with Bloomerang, our donor database, is the most helpful part of this product. In addition, it is easy to use both on the backend as an administrator and as a participant/user/donor. The website is clean, modern, and beautiful looking. We love the ease at which people can sign up and donate on Givebutter.

Cons

The fees can be a bit high, in comparison with sending donors directly to our website, however we have found that we are able to get more donors and a higher average donation through Givebutter, so the positives outweigh the negatives.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

We wanted a system that was easier to use and that would work with Bloomerang.

Response from Givebutter

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Kasi! We're thrilled that Givebutter complements working with Bloomerang so well for you, and that you're seeing higher than average donations. We look forward to supporting you for years to come!

Replied March 2021

Samir

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Great value

Excellent value, compared to our previous solution was very expensive.

Pros

integration with mailchimp, and apple pay / square. great value !

Cons

email capability for newsletters, etc not great. But integration with mailchimp mitigates this.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

cost

Keely

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

We LOVE Givebutter!

Givebutter has a great support team and takes feedback very seriously. We are very happy with the product and actively look for new ways to use it!

Pros

We love that it integrates with our donor software (Bloomerang) and it can be embedded into our website. It is so much easier for us to work with when we know that it's working alongside our already implemented softwares!

Cons

We wish disbursements would match the donations as they are logged into our donor software. It creates a little bit of accounting issues because the deposit date doesn't match the donation date, but we work around that.

Reasons for choosing Givebutter

We felt that Givebutter had more immediately usable features that would benefit our Foundation.

Response from Givebutter

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Keely! We love hearing that the Bloomerang integration is helping to make fundraising for United Leukodystrophy Foundation easier. We have a feature request for mapping split payments (the ability to differentiate between earned revenue, donations, and applicable fees). I'll subscribe you, so you're notified of updates!

Replied February 2021

Tyra

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Review

Loved it.

Pros

ease of use. everything in one place. affordable.

Cons

people who did not purchase a ticket could see the live stream.

Kerry

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

Givebutter Gives Better!

Givebutter has been a pleasant experience, without any hassles.

Pros

Its user friendly capabilities for the nonprofit, the option for fees or not, easy for donors to use, payouts are seamless, their demo videos.

Cons

Would like to see an online auction capability.

Kyle

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Easy, Simple, and Intutitive

Pros

Very simple to use, great user interface, and the staff are unmatched in their customer support!

Cons

If we could have an easier way to track event tickets and do check-in that would be great! But their support team is always adding new ideas and is always asking for suggestions to improve the software.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

We weren't generating enough consistent revenue to support the costs of Cheerful. Givebutter is the perfect free alternative with so many amazing features.

Response from Givebutter

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Kyle! We love hearing that Givebutter is saving you time AND money. If you haven't already, please reach out to support to share your needs/ideas for better event ticket tracking, or click the question mark in the top right corner of your Dashboard, then Give Feedback.

Replied March 2021

Alisa

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Brilliant Platform and Super Easy

GiveButter has been a terrific solution for our organization. With GiveButter we solved the problem of not having a donor-centric online giving platform that takes all the modern payment methods. The benefits have been that we can increase our donor engagement and allow our fundraisers to share our story in an easy and effective way.

Pros

GiveButter was incredibly streamlined to get going with. It works perfectly, and has all the features we need: peer-to-peer fundraising; team and fundraiser performance tracking; and alternative payment methods like Venmo, digital wallets and paypal. It is easy to use both for our staff and our donors. We really like the ticketing feature and the ability to live stream events on our pages. GiveButter's imbedded tips and documentation are so easy to read and understand. They have a five-star support team. We really like the API with Double the donation for matching gifts. The most helpful thing about GiveButter is the ease of implementation. It took less than a day to learn everything we need and get set up. The biggest upside to using GiveButter is that it is a donor-centric, flawless online giving platform.

Cons

I would like a little more ability to control how data exports - picking fields, for instance, instead of one massive export. Not a big problem though, and the data is useable for analysis and importing to the our fundraising software.

Reasons for switching to Givebutter

Givebutter has more flexibility in set up, and offers fundraising and events in one, inexpensive platform. They also offer modern digital payment methods.

Response from Givebutter

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, Alisa! We're so excited to read just how easy it was for you to get set up with us. If you haven't already, please reach out to support to share your needs/ideas for more exporting options or click the question mark in the top right corner of your Dashboard, then Give Feedback.

Replied March 2021

Susie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4