About Muster

Muster is a cloud-based grassroots advocacy and analytics platform allowing small to medium-sized nonprofits to connect their members and advocates with elected officials at the local, state, and federal levels of government. Customers can create email, phone, or letter writing campaigns that influence public policy, gain momentum on social media, and ultimately grow their supporter base. Nonprofit users can track the effectiveness and reach of their campaigns through comprehensive analytics reports. Light contact management features allow for easy membership management.


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows XP, Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

25 Reviews of Muster

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.8 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(20)

20

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 25 results

March 2021

Anthony from Virginia REALTORS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Muster for Association Advocacy

Muster has been great to work with and made our efforts to engage our members in advocacy efforts simple and straightforward.

Pros

The product is streamlined and easy to use. The team at Muster is customer service driven and great to work with.

Cons

Looking forward to Muster version 2.0 and the new functionality it will provide.

Reasons for Switching to Muster

The functionality and ease of use, plus getting to work closely with the team at Muster on our projects.

Response from Muster

Replied March 2021

Hi Anthony, Thank you for the wonderful review and for being a continued power user of Muster! We're beyond excited for the release of Muster 2.0 and the new functionality it will provide our customers. Our team can't wait to get it into your hands. -Corey

March 2021

Margie from The Center for Education Reform

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Easy Way to Mobilize Your Grassroots to Tell their Reps Their Opinion

We were able to give grass roots an easy way to reach their reps - it was so easy that our action center was shared by several allied organizations to their followers.

Pros

Easy to use. Meets our needs for advocacy and geocoding people to their correct rep.

Cons

Doesn't measure twitter activity. Can set up action center for Twitter, but software doesn't currently have ability to measure tweets generated.

Reasons for Choosing Muster

The right mix of options vs. price for what we were looking to do: impact policy through grassroots action.

Reasons for Switching to Muster

P2A wasn't working on all phones; we had a hard time collecting cell phone numbers; we have more email addresses. Also more costly.

November 2019

Kadi from Michigan Federation for Children and Families

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Effective Advocacy Tool

Using Muster has increased our reach on issues that matter most to our members. Our members find it easy to click through the prompts and customize their message to legislators, and they are able to easily share the Action Alerts among their networks as well.

Pros

Muster is an effective tool for engaging our association membership to participate in advocacy activities and engage their elected officials. With a few simple clicks, it makes it easy for people in our network to reach out and advocate.

Cons

There is not a way to modify the text in the messages we send to legislators—ie, bolding certain phrases, italicizing legislation, or bulletin key takeaways. This is disappointing that the letter the legislator receives is not eye-catching in that way, where they can easily pull out the key features of the message.

Response from Muster

Replied February 2020

Kadi, Thank you for your wonderful review and we appreciate the feedback! We always want to ensure the deliverability of constituent messages which is why we made the choice to limit the styling for them. We look forward to continuing to serve the Michigan Federation for Children and Families and making it easier for your supporters to connect with their legislators. Best, Corey @ Muster

April 2017

Charles from RVA Rapid Transit

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Public Policy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Muster is a Must-have

We began using Muster in its early days as a tool for us to build a grassroots advocacy organization. Before Muster, we used MailChimp, which is great for sending email, but it doesn't provide the key functionality of calling your list to specific, political action and then tracking the outcomes. Muster was absolutely critical to our success when, last year, our city council passed the final vote to begin building rapid transit infrastructure for our city. Now, as our organization grows and matures, Muster's features allow us to keep our supporters engaged and keep our officials on the right track.

Pros

Muster is great for the following reasons: Excellent underlying data that makes segmentation and targeting your list simple. The team is fantastic at supporting their product. Sending quick updates is easy.

Cons

Muster could be better if: More integrations Greater ability to customize emails Organization-facing mobile apps for managing lists, signups, calls to action.

May 2020

Atul from Physicians for American Healthcare Access

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Powerful and economical

Pros

User-friendly with an easy to use interface. Economical - well suited for a growing organization. Very responsive team, actively seeking feedback and making changes to suit our campaign.

Cons

Data organization can be tricky. Large numbers of contacts can slow down the interface.

Response from Muster

Replied June 2020

Hi Atul, The whole Muster team wants to thank you for your continued feedback! We want to ensure you and every other customer gets the most out of our product. We've loved seeing the incredible growth you've had in the short time you've used Muster and we'll always work on ways to make the experience smoother. Best, Corey @ Muster