Paymo Software

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2021

Find out more:

About Paymo

Paymo is a work and project management solution for small and medium client-based businesses. This solution supports remote work and offers project planning, resource scheduling, team collaboration, file proofing, time tracking, and project accounting within a single suite. Its project management features enable you to create projects, add tasks with multiple assignees, as well as save them as a template for later use. What’s left is to monitor the project progress (time tracked vs initial budgets) and manage work through one of the four different task views: List, Table, Board, Calendar, and Gantt Chart. Paymo also has you covered with a built-in timer, desktop, and mobile apps, as well as accurate timesheets that act as a window into your productivity. Data can be...

Paymo Pricing

Free - For 10 users Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools Small Office - $9.56/user/month Business - $15.16/user/month

Starting price: 

$9.56 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Available

Close

Image 1 of 6

Kanban View

Headshot of Software Advice Advisor

Find the right Project Management Software for you.

What key features are most important to you in Project Management Software?

Paymo User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Showing 1 - 5 of 414 reviews

User Profile

Leticia

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Our main tool to run the business

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant improvement with new features. It's a rich feature tool for a low price and it suits our company as no other does, not only in what they offer but in an intuitive and easy-to-use tool. The timer, invoices using the timesheet, team scheduling, sending estimates, all those make the difference in our business and has help us to save and make money.

Pros

The timer is the best feature of Paymo. We search a lot but none of the other tools allows us to easy time our work and bill our clients as Paymo, with an always-visible timer. And the ability to bill our clients with the timesheet completes our process perfectly.

Cons

It's lacking a client portal, where they have all information about their project and invoices

Reasons for choosing Paymo

The always-visible timer and invoicing with timesheet abilities.

Response from Paymo

Time tracking FTW, Leticia - thank you :) I think there's a misunderstanding. The current client portal allows clients to view their invoices. Just be sure to add them as contacts too: https://help.paymoapp.com/en/articles/900000-how-do-i-add-a-contact-to-a-client They can't see the project progress, something that is going to be fixed with the next release of the client portal. That will grant guest users in-app access. This is our #1 priority right now, so stay tuned! Kind regards, Marcel

Replied June 2020

User Profile

Jelena

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

My time and sanity saver!

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management. Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription. Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :) Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Pros

Paymo has been a lifesaver in many business management areas: project management, client management, time tracking, accounting. With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver! One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time! Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task. And Payoneer, in addition to PayPal/Stripe/Authorize.Net payment gateways is a big plus! It's brilliant. The moment I first tried it, I could immediately feel that Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis. It's not complex, and all the features it has are just *right*. Exactly what I need. And it's getting even better!

Cons

I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap. Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

Reasons for switching to Paymo

I used many other project management tools like Asana, Trello, Basecamp, Teamwork, Zoho Projects - but none of them were enough to cover my freelance business needs. Then I first signed up for the Paymo free trial - and I knew it's the one. The main reason I made the switch is the ability to manage it all under one app. Not under separate project management tool, then a separate time tracking tool and a separate invoicing tool. Instead, Paymo keeps all my business data organized neatly in one place, which makes no room for overlaps or confusions.

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Jelena <3 Speed improvements are already something that we're addressing. Stay tuned for more goodies such as a task calendar view, improved mobile app with team collaboration features and guest access. Cheers, Marcel

Replied July 2020

Howard

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

First Class Application for Electronic Engineering Consulting Business

Top notch with excellent and very responsive customer service (technical and general queries)

Pros

We have been using Paymo for more than 10 years in our electronic engineering consulting business. We love the way we can set up multiple projects with multiple tasks per project and track time per project and task, and then use the invoicing system to invoice our clients. We often work on multiple projects simultaneously and without it we would not be able to work as effectively or track our time as accurately. It also allows us to analyze our effectiveness and enables us to more accurately quote on future projects. Intuitive interface and easy to use

Cons

We have no negative comments about Paymo

Response from Paymo

Thank you Howard for all your support over the years!! *crying internally of joy*

Replied August 2021

Tanuj

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Great project management tool for small and medium sized businesses

We use it basically because of the great invoicing feature it has. It makes it really easy to keep a track of the expenses and the resources and to generate invoices. It is a quite handy tool for project and time management.

Pros

Paymo is the ultimate project management solution for small and medium sized businesses. It has a lot of features for project management like time and resource utilisation tools, billing and invoicing, resource management. It is easily accessible and quite user friendly.

Cons

The webpage kind of lags sometimes and it's a little difficult to navigate. Sometimes the projects takes a little longer to load.

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Tanuj!! Apologize for the webpage load, we experienced some AWS outages last week . As for the project speed, can you give us more details at support@paymoapp.com about that particular project please? Thank you again!

Replied July 2021

Cameron

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all! If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system! You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!! If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!! I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye. System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!) Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Reasons for choosing Paymo

Because I am an idiot and made a mistake and now I am paying for it...literally - I am now out lots of money cause they won't refund people!!

Reasons for switching to Paymo

Because Zoho was TOO much features/functionality it became overwhelming...then was told lies about all the wonderful things Paymo could do, but it didn't do them int eh way I had explained to the rep...and now I am hunting for yet another system that actually does what it says without being overwhelming!!!!

Response from Paymo

Hi Cameron, Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something. Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only. However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API. And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

Replied January 2020

Popular Paymo Comparisons