All Simple Salon Reviews

1-25 of 147 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Sara

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Easy enough to use

we use it on a very basic level, it has so much more potential than what we utilise it for

PROS

it was easily customisable when first staring out with the software.

CONS

Some commands are difficult with a lot of steps to set up appointments. some of our development needs are not supported.

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Easier to use for an older non computer generation

Casey

Retail, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Simple Salon Review

I would like to see it be a bit easier to double book and never to crash again and I would think about recommending to other people

PROS

That I can use it on my phone

CONS

There has been 2 crashes and I was unable to see any appointments and one of the times was very close to Christmas the busiest time of the year Iv been paying for 2 columns because it’s to hard to use the double book feature It won’t let me double book where I need to.

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Timely only gave me a 2 week trial and it was no where near enough

Elise

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2019

Customer service - face to face option

Using it as a basic booking system only. We have been able to implement the reply text confirmation but as yet nothing else is being used effectively.

PROS

I like that I can use it anywhere anytime (when I have service). I like the potential of the product.

CONS

The software has been in use as a basic booking system for years in the salon before I came on board. I would have liked to be able to have face to face training or be able to attend a course to increase the use across the board. Once I requested this earlier in my time with the company and I was directed to research it myself. I simply do not have the time or inclination to do this. We are a busy salon and time gets away from us. The task of research of the software is always on the list but always gets pushed when we have to look after our clients or staff. I would learn better if I could attend a course or if someone could come out and spend some time with me. In short, we are paying for a system and not using it to its full potential. I have been researching other software as I think if I set it up from scratch I would have a better understanding of it and it would benefit business growth.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, Elise. Simple Salon offers phone support after an initial ticket has been raised by submitting any query on the Simple Salon website here: https://www.simplesalon.com/contact-us/ From experience we've learned this is the quickest way to resolve any issue; we appreciate how busy salon operators are. And by offering support via email all necessary information is shared and accessible for future reference.

Replied November 2019

Brodie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great salon software

It’s easy to see the day to day running and keep track of earnings making eofy easy!

PROS

It’s very easy to use and has everything I need plus more!

CONS

Not many complaints. I wish the sms reminders were free, like some other salon softwares

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

I have considered changing as it’s free but have decided to stick to what I know

Kyla

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Love Simple salon

Keep track of stock, every day sale intake and easy tracking appointments

PROS

We love now we can offer afterpay to our clients. Easy and fast to use in a salon environment

CONS

It’s hard to say when you like so many things I can’t think of anything off the top of my head that we least like

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Most offordable and most straight forward to understand

Nicky

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

review

It hasn't been bad, but also sometimes when I hve had issues it can be timely sometimes to find a solution.

PROS

fairly easy to learn, has options for more use in bussiness

CONS

can be slow sometimes and doesn't log in easily on some servers.

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

price, and had been recommended by someone that was going to work for me.

Vendor Response

Hi Nicky. Thanks for sharing your experience. Hopefully everything is running smoothly for you now. However, if there ever is any issue at all the quickest way to get it resolved is to lodge all the details using the email form on our website here: https://www.simplesalon.com/contact-us/ That way we can get onto it ASAP. Thanks again for using Simple Salon to manage and grow your business.

Replied November 2019

Nicola

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

n/a

Great that it's cloud based. Always loving the updates. Love the online booking software

PROS

That it is cloud based. Easy to use. Multiple users. Good price point.

CONS

That it isn't mobile phone friendly. Sometimes confirmation SMS don't get sent out to clients so I have to constantly double check.

Reasons for switching to Simple Salon

Price and not cloud based.

Vendor Response

Hi Nicola. Thanks so much for your review of Simple Salon. We love that you love the updateswe're always in development, making sure we're growing with your needs. SMS texts issues often have sources beyond our control; we do everything at our end to make sure they are reliable but understand and totally agree with you that even one client missing one SMS is problematic. Rest assured we always find the reason and do our utmost to communicate it to you ASAP. Thanks again for being a Simple Salon user.

Replied October 2019

Lauryn

Cosmetics, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

Great Software for starting out.

- Client information privacy policy is the best I have found in my research of salon software. - Friendly staff that were prompt in answering any questions or problems I had. - Price transparency before signing up - you know exactly what you get for what price.

PROS

Simple Salon was a great starting point and was the first software I used when opening the salon. The main draw was the great client information privacy policy. It was very easy to use once all the data was put in and the team got used to using it. I love that I was able to run the salon off an iPad, including POS, and could check my schedule on my iPhone through the app Support team and email correspondence was always fast in my experience. Never tried any pushy sales tactics or upgrades. Overall, good software for newbies and reliable.

CONS

-Online booking - Slick App was the only way clients could book online, there was no real incentive for clients to use it and i never received any bookings from it- be it new or existing clients. It has no real online presence and was an unfamiliar brand. My clients felt uncomfortable handing over personal information. From memory I believe the business only had an 30 mins from opening time to confirm a booking which is ridiculous and almost impossible in a busy salon environment. -Outdated looking interface. felt very dated and clunky. It was a breeze to use once you understood it, nut did take some getting used to. - Customer support was a little tricky. Had a bit of trouble understanding how to unsubscribe (very well hidden) - Expensive for the small size of the team I have. Paying double the price for 2 columns was a bit of a joke. I can definitely see benefit if the salon team was bigger. -Disappointing that no appointment changes or new appointments couldn't be made via the phone app on the go. The app was only useful to see appointments, not much else.

Erika

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Simple Salon software for Hairdressing salons

I am really happy with this product and at times have been tempted to look at what else is out there.I have not found anything that is as easy to operate for my staff and gives me everything that I need. I also like the fact that Simple salon is always bringing out new features so I feel I am not being left behind.

PROS

This software is easy to use.You can access it anywhere and the online booking function is a must.The reports are easy to read and are invaluable to my staff for their KPIs. No updates to purchase and no contracts. It ticks all my boxes.

CONS

That it sometimes goes down.Unfortunately this is a universal problem not just Simple salon.I really have not experienced any down side.The help desk is awesome and the video tutorials are always their if you need them.

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Simple salon was one of the first on line systems available and this excited me greatly to be able to access my appointment book anywhere.I have used the software for over 7 years and am a very satisfied customer.Thank you Simple Salon for a great product you get 5 stars from me.

Reasons for switching to Simple Salon

I was looking for more features that they couldn't offer.Also the price is great.No contracts.

Colleen

Cosmetics, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Thank you Simple Salon!!

I found over the 10 plus years that I was with Simple Salon they were easy to deal with, inexpensive and made the running of my salon streamlined.

PROS

easy to use, the appointment reminders were invaluable, the bookkeeping feature was easy to execute and understand, the stock record keeping was great.

CONS

Sometimes i was frustrated that there was not a help desk phone call to talk me though any issues. But that is only because I am of that era that prefers telephone calls to emails.

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Better price point for my circumstances, easy to use on an ipad

Reasons for switching to Simple Salon

I went from owning a salon with 6 staff to working on my own. Although I really loved Shortcuts, I couldn't justify the cost of it as a sole operator.

Dan

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2021

Alot of features are implemented before they work properly

I wish they would implement improvements to important complications with their main features .

PROS

It is very affordable and easy to use. The unlimited columns works really well for us.

CONS

A lot of features do not work properly. Especially their online booking system. If a client goes to book in a laser treatment, it will show all staff members availabilities even if the laser is in use. So clients are constantly going through the entire process only to be rejected at the end, and then have no way of seeing which times they book for will actually work. This goes for every service, spray tans, micro, LED etc. This is one of many features that don't run smoothly .

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

At the time, the unlimited columns and cheap price point won me over, however as times have changed with the importance of online bookings and deposits I wish i paid more for a system that works properly .

Cindy

Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Easy as with everything you need

Love it

PROS

Easy to use and good features .............

CONS

Some of my long term clients profiles have gone and I want the phone app to have more features

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Because it was user friendly

Reasons for switching to Simple Salon

Because we had to automate everything

Belinda

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Glitch with booking notifications

PROS

Linking database to is great for marketing

CONS

If ppl are booked in for example a colour and cut. They will receive 2 notifications with two separate times causing confusion

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Price

Taliya

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Best salon software I have ever used!

Simple Salon has allowed me to operate my small business with ease and the freedom of being able to access it anywhere. It's helped me grow my business from a single operator to 6 staff members without any issues or complications. Highly recommend to someone starting up!

PROS

The support is amazing, if I cant work something out within 24hours of submitting a request it is fixed for me. I love how easy it is to set up yourself and I love that it runs online so I can access it anywhere anytime.

CONS

I have had a few issues with the online booking system, most have been fixed straight away otherwise they have said they will try figure out the problem.

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Better price, worked with Xero

Casey

Cosmetics, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Review

Great

PROS

Easy to use all my friends were using it

CONS

Paying for sms Not the best app to use

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Cheaper

Lisa

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great Salon System

I have been so happy with the system. In 5 years there have only ever been 2 occasions when there has been a system outage and SS worked so hard to get us back up and running super quick. They are also so responsive to the change in demand of further improvements

PROS

I can easily access the system from any hardware and it is just easy to use. I am not particularly techy but it just works at an affordable price

CONS

Not always easy to distinguish time of appointments if you are in column 4

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Versatility, no need for hardware and the ease to get up and running super quickly

Julieann

Cosmetics, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Medical use review

Its comprehensive

PROS

I have nothing to compare it too, but I like its capacity to upload documents to individual files and to send sms/email.

CONS

Individual screen too small for writing medical notes and no next of kin or allergy section. Searching names is temperamental at times, time consuming. After amending exisiting client details, i am unable to return to client notes with out going back through appointment page. Takes time to load initially then needs to reload to be active

Reason for choosing Simple Salon

Head office uses this system.

Vendor Response

Hi Julieann. We value your experience and are always listening to feedback and incorporating what we learn into our development game plan. Thank you for reviewing SS.

Replied October 2019

Troy

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE