About Moon Invoice

Moon Invoice is a cloud-based and on-premise billing and invoicing solution designed to help businesses of all sizes across education, legal, healthcare, hospitality and various other industries process payments, track expenses and generate financial reports. Features include multi-currency, tax overhead calculation, data synchronization, offline access and timesheet. 

The application enables users to create invoices using predefined templates, automate recurring bills on a daily, monthly or yearly basis and send account statements to clients. Finance teams can monitor history of estimates, notify customers about the valid proposal period and receive approvals on the quotations sent. Employees can log time while starting a project, letting supervisors pr...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

50 Reviews of Moon Invoice

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.42 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(36)

36

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(4)

4

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 50 results

February 2020

Molly from Frizz Studio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Highly Recommended for Invoicing & Expense

Easy and efficient invoicing. Love the template features for both email templates + invoice, estimates, PDF templates. I love that I can run this from a mac app and do not have to log into a website to use it (and also from my phone).

Pros

I love that this software is EAY to use, EASY to look at (great UX) straight forward invoicing, expense, estimate, reporting tool(s). ALL the tools I need for my photography and graphics business, without distractions and bloated costs. It's been the perfect solution! The software is kept up-to-date, no bloated costs attached to updates and the software just gets better and better (also excellent and prompt support!).

Cons

Nothing, it's been a perfect solution. Any tiny bugs (if any) are squashed immediately through support.

Reasons for Choosing Moon Invoice

I can't recall all of the other apps I looked at back then, but most either ONLY did invoicing and not expense tracking etc, some were built badly/ugly/outdated, I really felt that Moon Invoice hit the spot. Not complicated and did what I needed. Since then, the updates have really made it more beautiful than when I first started using it. :)

Reasons for Switching to Moon Invoice

I was VERY TIRED of paying a TON of annual/monthly fee's. My main priorities: Get away from large annual payments (reoccurring), get away from web apps, find an app that was focused on improving the app UX. #1) I wanted to run my invoicing/expenses from a stand-alone app (most of the other services I was using were run theirs from web-apps). It's super annoying to have to rely on a web app even with shortcuts. #2) The trend of subscription payments was getting out of control for bloated services (online). Paying too much for too little. #3) ALL the services I was trying to use would start out with a lot of promises, only to see them not working on their current features and UX (to make them a better user experience, fix issues, etc) -- rather they would start releasing new idea's and introduce new extra cost for those features... all while never working on the core of the system that was needed (like basic invoicing structures).

Response from Moon Technolabs

Replied February 2020

We are super grateful for your support. Please feel free to contact us if you have any queries or suggestions about the application.

October 2020

Jim from GreeneCode

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Great invoicing solution for small business

Pros

Moon Invoice was by far the easiest to setup and deploy on MacOS. We were up and running in about a day including setting up backups.

Cons

We haven't really come across anything missing from Moon.

Reasons for Choosing Moon Invoice

Subscriptions are much friendlier and ease of use.

Reasons for Switching to Moon Invoice

Quickbooks no longer offers the options we need at an affordable price.

Response from Moon Technolabs

Replied October 2020

We appreciate your valuable review for Moon Invoice. Keeping the customers satisfied is something we always thrive for and we shall continue to deliver the utmost quality-driven services to you. If you have any queries, feel free to drop us a line at support@mooninvoice.com, we'd love to assist you.

June 2019

Sarah from SMU Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2019

Subpar support for invoicing system

Pros

My company has used Moon Invoice for 3+ years. When it works it is a good enough system for our uses.

Cons

However, there have been several occasions where an “update” caused major glitching in the system, removing tabs, forcing autofill entries and making the program miserable to try to use. When I reached out for support of these issues their inevitable response was that the next update will fix it. Then you wait with bated breath to see if the next update miraculously makes it the subpar invoicing system we sadly depend on. Often times the issue is not fixed for several updates and you waste time trying to use the product you unfortunately paid for.

Response from Moon Technolabs

Replied July 2019

We are sorry to know that you had a negative experience. We have checked the details regarding the issue reported by you in past and found that the issue has already been resolved by us with a new update. Please let us know if you are facing any issues with the application.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

Very useful program but not very customize

None.

Pros

User friendly interface, cloud solution and how design are ok

Cons

The cloud is not perfect. I will like to be able to input my asset and liabilities to create a balance sheet and not only a income statement.

Reasons for Choosing Moon Invoice

Price mixed with user friendly. The option of a cloud and connectable with other divice.

Response from Moon Technolabs

Replied October 2020

We appreciate your valuable review for Moon Invoice. Keeping the customers satisfied is something we always thrive for and we shall continue to deliver the utmost quality-driven services to you. If you have any queries, feel free to drop us a line at support@mooninvoice.com, we'd love to assist you.

September 2020

Jonathan from technidale productions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Good value, waiting for one specific feature.

I am pleased with Moon Invoice and have no reason to move away

Pros

It worked across all my devices seamlessly, something Totals did not do. Setting up my business details was also pretty easy. I am a freelancer and, due to post-ObamaCare IRS rules, on the payroll of almost all clients I work for so it is used more as an event-by-event, client-by-client time/rate/expense tracker.

Cons

It does not allow for cost-basis on products, expenses, or tasks. The gross total of each of my invoices is not indicative of what I will clear. It would be nice to have a way to track what I can count as hours billed against what was actually invoiced. Also, the interface that sets up default invoice layouts is very, very clunky and unintuitive. There is no obvious, easy way to preview changes made to a layout. The user kind of has to know what the item is and where it should be in order to confirm its existence or deletion.

Reasons for Choosing Moon Invoice

I am tied very much into the Apple Sandbox. Moon Invoice worked across all my MacOS and iOS devices seamlessly and continues to do so. It is also good to see it is now cross-platform, should the need arise to move to Windows, which I did for a time over the summer before finding a deal-breaker and having to return to the Mac platform.

Reasons for Switching to Moon Invoice

I bought Totals through the Mac App Store back when Apple was attempting to push developers to that software distribution method. My purchase through that storefront was a mistake. Eventually my invoice database became corrupted and there was no support offered for anyone who had purchased the product through the Mac App Store.

Response from Moon Technolabs

Replied October 2020

We appreciate your valuable review for Moon Invoice. Keeping the customers satisfied is something we always thrive for and we shall continue to deliver the utmost quality-driven services to you. If you have any queries, feel free to drop us a line at support@mooninvoice.com, we'd love to assist you.