Is Moon Invoice right for your business?

We’re here to help you make the best Accounting Software choice.

best for

  • Accounting
  • Best For All Business Sizes
  • Supports Multiple Platforms

what reviewers say

  • Great value for money
  • Great ease of use
  • Great functionality
Frontrunners

Frontrunner 2021

Software Advice's FrontRunners report ranks top products based on user reviews, which helps businesses find the right software.

What is Moon Invoice?

Moon Invoice is a cloud-based and on-premise billing and invoicing solution designed to help businesses of all sizes across education, legal, healthcare, hospitality and various other industries process payments, track expenses and generate financial reports. Features include multi-currency, tax overhead calculation, data synchronization, offline access and timesheet. The application enables users to create invoices using predefined templates, automate recurring bills on a daily, monthly or yearly basis and send account statements to clients. Finance teams can monitor history of estimates, notify customers about the valid proposal period and receive approvals on the quotations sent. Employees can log time while starting a project, letting supervisors prepare invoi... read more

Jump to:

Moon invoice preview
Moon invoice preview
Moon invoice credit note creation
Moon invoice credit note creation
Moon invoice adding payment details
Moon invoice adding payment details
Moon invoice estimates
Moon invoice estimates
Click to open gallery

User Review Highlights

4.36

55 Reviews

5
39
4
7
3
4
2
0
1
5
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"There is nothing good about this product. I can not think of a single good thing this program does."
  • icon"The thing I liked most about this software is the simplicity to creating invoices."
  • icon"It's simple, easy to use, I don't need to be a rocket scientist to use it. Perfect for small business."
  • icon"It does't follow a logic order of the reconciliation between payment invoices of customers. Is a pure piece of shit."
  • icon"Sometimes laggy and glitchy which can be frustrating when it's needed at a critical time."
  • icon"It’s a little difficult when transferring info from one device to another."

Read user reviews

How much does Moon Invoice cost?

Pricing is available on monthly as well as annual subscriptions. You can get upto 58% discount from the pricing page. Monthly subscriptions start at $2.99 per month for a single company and $14.99 per month for unlimited companies. Yearly subscriptions start at $1.25 per month for a single company and $12.50 per month for unlimited companies. 2 yearly and 3 yearly plans are also available.

Starting price

$1.25 per month

Free trial

Available

Free version

Available

Which features does Moon Invoice offer?

Core features:

Activity DashboardActivity TrackingAlerts/NotificationsBilling & InvoicingCash ManagementContact DatabaseContingency BillingCore AccountingCurrency ManagementCustomizable BrandingShow more features +

People who reviewed this software give it a 4 star rating for functionality.

How easy is Moon Invoice to use and deploy?

Moon Invoice supports multiple deployment options, including: Cloud, SaaS, Web-based, iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows, Linux.

People who reviewed this software give it a 4.5 star rating for ease-of-use.

What do verified users say about Moon Invoice

4.36/5 out of 55 Reviews

Showing 1 - 5 of 55 reviews

User Profile

Molly

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Highly Recommended for Invoicing & Expense

Easy and efficient invoicing. Love the template features for both email templates + invoice, estimates, PDF templates. I love that I can run this from a mac app and do not have to log into a website to use it (and also from my phone).

Pros

I love that this software is EAY to use, EASY to look at (great UX) straight forward invoicing, expense, estimate, reporting tool(s). ALL the tools I need for my photography and graphics business, without distractions and bloated costs. It's been the perfect solution! The software is kept up-to-date, no bloated costs attached to updates and the software just gets better and better (also excellent and prompt support!).

Cons

Nothing, it's been a perfect solution. Any tiny bugs (if any) are squashed immediately through support.

Reasons for choosing Moon Invoice

I can't recall all of the other apps I looked at back then, but most either ONLY did invoicing and not expense tracking etc, some were built badly/ugly/outdated, I really felt that Moon Invoice hit the spot. Not complicated and did what I needed. Since then, the updates have really made it more beautiful than when I first started using it. :)

Reasons for switching to Moon Invoice

I was VERY TIRED of paying a TON of annual/monthly fee's. My main priorities: Get away from large annual payments (reoccurring), get away from web apps, find an app that was focused on improving the app UX. #1) I wanted to run my invoicing/expenses from a stand-alone app (most of the other services I was using were run theirs from web-apps). It's super annoying to have to rely on a web app even with shortcuts. #2) The trend of subscription payments was getting out of control for bloated services (online). Paying too much for too little. #3) ALL the services I was trying to use would start out with a lot of promises, only to see them not working on their current features and UX (to make them a better user experience, fix issues, etc) -- rather they would start releasing new idea's and introduce new extra cost for those features... all while never working on the core of the system that was needed (like basic invoicing structures).

Response from Moon Technolabs

We are super grateful for your support. Please feel free to contact us if you have any queries or suggestions about the application.

Replied February 2020

Jim

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Great invoicing solution for small business

Pros

Moon Invoice was by far the easiest to setup and deploy on MacOS. We were up and running in about a day including setting up backups.

Cons

We haven't really come across anything missing from Moon.

Reasons for choosing Moon Invoice

Subscriptions are much friendlier and ease of use.

Reasons for switching to Moon Invoice

Quickbooks no longer offers the options we need at an affordable price.

Response from Moon Technolabs

We appreciate your valuable review for Moon Invoice. Keeping the customers satisfied is something we always thrive for and we shall continue to deliver the utmost quality-driven services to you. If you have any queries, feel free to drop us a line at support@mooninvoice.com, we'd love to assist you.

Replied October 2020

Sarah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Subpar support for invoicing system

Pros

My company has used Moon Invoice for 3+ years. When it works it is a good enough system for our uses.

Cons

However, there have been several occasions where an “update” caused major glitching in the system, removing tabs, forcing autofill entries and making the program miserable to try to use. When I reached out for support of these issues their inevitable response was that the next update will fix it. Then you wait with bated breath to see if the next update miraculously makes it the subpar invoicing system we sadly depend on. Often times the issue is not fixed for several updates and you waste time trying to use the product you unfortunately paid for.

Response from Moon Technolabs

We are sorry to know that you had a negative experience. We have checked the details regarding the issue reported by you in past and found that the issue has already been resolved by us with a new update. Please let us know if you are facing any issues with the application.

Replied July 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Very useful program but not very customize

None.

Pros

User friendly interface, cloud solution and how design are ok

Cons

The cloud is not perfect. I will like to be able to input my asset and liabilities to create a balance sheet and not only a income statement.

Reasons for choosing Moon Invoice

Price mixed with user friendly. The option of a cloud and connectable with other divice.

Response from Moon Technolabs

We appreciate your valuable review for Moon Invoice. Keeping the customers satisfied is something we always thrive for and we shall continue to deliver the utmost quality-driven services to you. If you have any queries, feel free to drop us a line at support@mooninvoice.com, we'd love to assist you.

Replied October 2020

Timothy

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Excellent and easy to use freelance system

Well thought out and constantly updating

Pros

Over all all the features are easy to use. They do require some review of how to setup but excellent documentation helps with the understand and I initial setup

Cons

Nothing against this product. I don’t like having to start from scratch as I was using another freelance application.

Reasons for switching to Moon Invoice

No longer supported and original developer canceled the product

Showing 1 - 5 of 55 reviews

Popular Moon Invoice Comparisons

Moon Invoice

Moon Invoice

4.36/5 out of 55 reviews
PriceDemo