About Drakewell

Drakewell is a cloud-based field service software that helps businesses in the oil and gas industry streamline operations related to assets tracking, drilling, employee management and more on a unified portal. The platform enables organizations to track asset condition, shipping, maintenance and work hours across multiple locations.

Drakewell includes team management tools, which allow enterprises to maintain employee profiles and monitor work hours and utilization of resources. It offers various features such as inventory tracking, predictive and failure analysis, onsite job management, field tickets, data visualization, and more. Additionally, customers can view job summaries, daily activities, 2D/3D plot and other data in real-time via a sel...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

49 Reviews of Drakewell

Average User Ratings

Overall

/ 5 stars

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(0)

0

4 stars

(0)

0

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1 - 20 of 49 results

Do you use this product?Write a review

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Scott from D-Tech Drilling Tools Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Above Expectations - Just reviewing the Roll out and Implementation

1. Ease of Use. 2. Fast and painless Implementation 3. Elimination of unnecessary clerks to re-enter paperwork from tool assemblies / disassemblies 4. Drakewell team is 1st class in support and product knowledge. 5. Fun team to work with. 6. Software has strong controls that are easy to work with. 7. Engine the software runs on is extremely powerful. 8. Feels more like shopping on amazon than working in an accounting package 9. Analytics are amazing. Recently presented data tot a customer live in DW, Sales team is now using this functionality. 10. Alerts to team members is a great feature, when tools arrive, when incidents occur, when jobs start or are completed. 11. Daily revenue function is my goto each morning. 12. End users (Tech's/Field Engineers) actually like the software and commend its ease of use.

Pros

As far as the initial Roll out of the Software package, us migrating from multiple ERP programs and Excel spreadsheets, The attractiveness of the software from an Asset perceptive is that these components are live, our technicians use DW on Ipads as they receive tools, build them, and dispatch them thus eliminating clerks who historically entered the data. Once we were ready to migrate, we were live within 1 month, and all techs trained. My favorite area of the software is the ease of Bids and tickets, and the forecasting. Very powerful and intuitive areas. Our salesmen are creating bids in customer offices within seconds of being asked. Back to the rollout, I highly recommend working with the DW team. A refreshing change from the "others" in the DD software world.

March 2018

josh from AIM Directional LLC

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2018

Drakewell could be a great bit of software.

Using Drakewell allows me to keep my job, thus providing me with sufficient funds to feed my family.

Pros

Its better than winserve, mostly. Forcing a person to type a minimum number of characters while asking for positive statements is like farming for like on social media. Pointless.

Cons

Its an internet based software, in a business that operates in places where internet serviced is awful. The lowest level of clearance is so basic, it's more tedious than winserve, and the requirement for all fields to be filled in on a BHA before one can save is ridiculous. That makes it impossible to try and get ahead on finishing up a BHA. Not being able to, on the field hand level, transfer BHA from one job to the next is a big hiccup also.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Josh, Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are working on ways to make offline sync happen for you. In the mean time, Drakewell does work on any mobile device or hotspot if you don't have internet but can get a bit of cell service. Additionally, we don't allow BHA's to transfer from job to job, BUT we do easily allow the shipment of tools from job to job. We can update Aim's configuration to make this happen, but we'll need permission from your company to do so. Please raise this issue with your coordinator if it's something that would really benefit you! Drakewell

December 2018

Larry from True Directional

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Good Initiative / Bad Judgement

I can see where Drakewell can be beneficial to those in the office, in town, where internet is good, and they work a 40hr week. For those of us who have to actually use this software on a drilling location, it's not good, at all. Most rigs don't tend to have very good internet, and what we do have, is run off of a near non-existent cell service. This, in turn, winds up adding about 2hrs a day to our already 12hr shifts. It's really quite evident that the person who designed this software, never spent any real time in the field. I honestly don't know how you talk anybody, with any field sense, to actually spend money on Drakewell.

Pros

Compared to other available reporting systems, nothing, honestly, comes to mind.

Cons

It's redundant, slow and requires the field location to have decent internet, which most don't.

Response from Drakewell

Replied January 2019

Hi Larry, Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback! One of the best things about Drakewell is that you can run it from your phone. Anywhere you have the ability to make a phone call or check your email from, you should be able to use Drakewell from as well. That being said, we are aware that some rig locations may have poor service which can inhibit seamless utilization of Drakewell in real time. We are in the process of developing a way to run Drakewell without internet, that will automatically pipe the information entered when sufficient internet service has resumed. This is expected to be deployed to the field within a few months. Feedback from users like you is what drives innovation in the Drakewell platform, so again, thank you for your time and comments.

March 2018

Mark from Foresight Directional

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

great use it everyday

Pros

combines several other software that is needed into one software. Combines inventory tracking, motor and MWD rebuild tracking, rig daily reporting and some sales aids and administrative reporting. 3d well design helps at the filed level understand what the well is doing. Also very easy to use and implement. Also like the feature of "Roles" so everyone can see there work but don't have to see what everyone is doing to make the software work. Also like that it works on any device, computer, laptop, tablet or smart phone.

Cons

Not being able use it offline. needs the ability at some rigs that don't have internet to still use the software.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Mark, Thank you very much for taking time to review us! We will keep working to continue to improve the platform and its availability during times of poor connectivity. Drakewell

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Drakewells user ability

Pros

Love the software from tracking cost to BHA design. Software is very user friendly

Cons

I personally would like to see anti collision in the directional tab instead of in the 3D plots. A lot of places we are working internet is not real reliable, and it would be nice if it could work with out being connected.

Response from Drakewell

Replied January 2019

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback! One of the best things about Drakewell is that you can run it from your phone. Anywhere you have the ability to make a phone call or check your email from, you should be able to use Drakewell from as well. That being said, we are aware that some rig locations may have poor service which can inhibit seamless utilization of Drakewell in real time. Offline functionality is expected to be deployed to the field within a few months. We also appreciate the feedback on the UI for anti-collision information. Feedback from users like you is what drives innovation in the Drakewell platform, so again, thank you for your time and comments.

March 2018

Kippy from Von Directional

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Drakewell has been a good replacement for Winserve. It's nice to do everything from 1 program.

Drakewell allows me to perform my daily reporting, create BHA's & track hours & footages on them. Also it provides a survey program that calculates your precise downhole location of the bit & to run projections from

Pros

I like that you get your hi/low, left/right on the same page where you input surveys, with no extra steps involved. Add your survey, instantly see where you are compared to the plan.

Cons

I deeply dislike that it's internet based. If you don't have internet you can't do anything. (That I'm aware of) I would prefer the program be installed on a computer so you don't have to worry about internet outages. Let the program sync up to a server any time you're connected.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Kippy, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you have been able to replace Winserv with Drakewell. Regarding offline mode, this is something we're working on--it was a project that was actually shelved a few years ago because people weren't using it. Keep in mind that Drakewell can also work on any mobile device or over a hotspot if you have some cell service! Drakewell

March 2018

Bogy from Aim Directional Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Overall, I've had a great experience with the software.

The daily reporting aspects of the software are used by us on a daily basis. It is a good place to go to if you are trying to get a grasp of what is going on at the rig without having to access multiple files from the MWD and DD sides.

Pros

It is pretty user friendly and it is built around modern software development technology. The front end development is impressive. For a software that has to have so much information entered, the team has done a great job with making the user interface smooth and concise.

Cons

Customer service. When I have had problems, the turn around time has not been impressive. I have called a few times and there are times in which there have been a couple of days between communication from Drakewell's customer service.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Bogy, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the honest feedback about the customer support. We definitely take this feedback to heart and hope that you have and will continue to see improvement in our turnaround time. Drakewell

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Very simple to use

Pros

Easy to learn. Easy to use. Easy to setup.

Cons

Very basic when it comes to doing projections It is time based so I am not sure how you would insert a survey if you had to take it on the next trip There doesn't appear to be any offline mode should your internet connection go out There is basic summery information like AFE that can't be entered in the field. When you make an entry in the "Directional" tab there is annoying date box that pops up. After the very first entry there is no reason to ever enter the date as it carries over. The box blocks the actual information you want to see or enter so you have to click elsewhere to get rid of the box. VERY annoying..

Response from Drakewell

Replied January 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad that you have found Drakewell overall easy to interact with. On the date box-we designed this so that any user could simply tab through the cells on a survey, slide, or rotate instead of having to click inside a specific cell to enter data. As if Drakewell is ready for you to start typing right away! Additionally, offline will be out soon! One other thing to consider in the mean time is that Drakewell works on cellular data as well, so any mobile device with connectivity can run it. Thank you again! The Drakewell Team

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

It is way better than Winserve

Ease of access

Pros

It's net based, not serial key based. I like that alot.

Cons

Only a few things in how the Bha's are listed. I also dislike that not all tools can be listed. Other than that it's phenomenal.

Response from Drakewell

Replied April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us! If you read this, we would love the opportunity to understand your BHA questions better. Many features associated with BHA's are configurable by our client, so if we need to improve your employers configuration we should do so!

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Easiest Drilling Program

My experience with Drakewell after using other programs is this one , a person just getting in the field with no knowledge of it before, it’s the best one I’ve ever used!

Pros

What I like most is the ease of use. It’s so user friendly. After you input all the well information all there is to do is enter the current information....That’s All!!

Cons

There was really nothing I liked least. It was just getting to know the software after using some others in the field.

Response from Drakewell

Replied January 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us!

March 2018

Parker from Aim Directional Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

I mostly use Drakewell for capturing component specifications to build my torque and drag models.

The benefits for myself are the facts that I can capture the MWD and DD BHA specs in one location. Not all of the information is entered but I can complete most of my case with the information they input within Drakewell. I also benefit with the capturing of the daily activities. This helps when i have to see what rig activity is during a certain time period or depth.

Pros

I like how user friendly the software is and its functionality to locate the component specs in a timely manner. I don't have to waste any time trying to guess where the data is, but can find quicky to ensure the customer has their models completed as quickly as possible.

Cons

I believe there should be a complete user manual that could be downloaded for reference. There are a couple of glitches that could be worked out but that comes with new software. Customer support could be a little more helpful, as there is a gap when issues arise to when they are resolved.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Parker, Thanks for the review! Have you visited help.drakewell.us? It is our User Guides as well as links to Tips & Tricks and YouTube videos. We push content through these channels as often as we can. Drakewell

March 2018

Buck from Self employed

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Ive used this software for about a year now. I do like it more than other softwares ive used.

Combination of normally two different softwares put into one places.

Pros

I like that the surveys and and dailys are on one platform. The fact you can use it on your mobile device is very helpful. The asset tracking is really helpful for digitally shipping and tracking tools from office to location. The customer support and response to feedback from Drakewell is very good also. You can set up email notifications for nearly any action you want to be notified of when it is done to the well you are assigned.

Cons

Having and offline mode would be helpful for when you're in low quality internet areas. If your internet is slow the quality of this software is hindered. Being able to just sync up once a tour as others would be nice in those situations. It can take a bit to get used to at first but afterwards its pretty easy to navigate

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Buck, Thank you very much for the review! Drakewell

March 2018

Nick from AIM Directional

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Easy to use and understand, but it lacks a few features.

The ability to access multiple jobs and its corresponding data within our organization quickly and efficiently.

Pros

Generally pretty easy to access all the different functions. There are features that make certain aspects of the daily reporting more convenient.

Cons

The inability to import post run corrected survey data to a well path and maintain the original date and time stamps. Currently that process requires opening each survey station and making the changes manually. This becomes very time consuming if you have 50 survey corrections to edit after a run.

Response from Drakewell

Replied July 2018

Thank you for the review, Nick! We will reach out to understand more about the survey correction workflow you're using and see what we can do to make this process more user friendly. Nick - 7/6/2018 We have now deployed a feature that allows the replacement of manually entered surveys with the corrected ones. We hope you've found it useful!

March 2018

Tim from NZONE Guidance

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Little challenging to get started but works good once you get used to it.

Pros

The reports are easy to get to, rather you want it in pdf or excel its simple to get. The performance feature is really cool to keep up with how different motors and bits drill in sections. Real easy to help make a decision on the next well when you know what bit works best.

Cons

The assets section needs some updating. A lot of times a company will want a BHA and some of your subs you cant get a ID or OD off of because of the way they are in the basket. If you put the length in to get the client a BHA, you can not come back and add anything else without erasing all that you have in there all ready. Also when you ship tools from the job you are on to a different job, you have to go back in and click the strap sheet to make it show up. I feel like this should carry over without the user having to go through all that again.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We know that it is definitely a different system from others on the market. Regarding the assets section, there may be some configuration changes we can make that would address what you are experiencing with the strapping work orders. Drakewell's configuration layer is very robust and flexible. Drakewell

March 2018

Liz from Nzone Guidance, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Drakewell has been a life saver for our company.

Organization, better tracking, ease of invoicing, but mainly having real time well data at your fingertips!

Pros

My favorite thing about Drakewell, is all of our data is in one place. We always know what is going on at location, and where our tools are! Drakewell reps. listen.... and the software is modified to be a custom fit for your company!

Cons

Set- up for this software seems extensive and time consuming. But it is so important so you can get the most out of it. Every person needs to do there part or things can get "hung up."

Response from Drakewell

Replied April 2018

Hi Liz, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for the glowing review. It does take some time to get the system set up and it does require teamwork. We've enjoyed working with you and the NZone team and are looking forward to helping y'all continue to digitize! - Alison

March 2018

Branden from Aim Directional

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Overall good front end of the software but has a few glitches that need to be addressed

Pros

Good User interface Ease of use Ability to customize features Easy access since the software is web based

Cons

A few glitches in the software Customer support needs improvement Need to create a user guide for new users

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Branden, Thank you for reviewing us! We apologize for the delay in our customer support response time. We changed ticketing systems earlier this year, which led to some delays. We hope you've experienced, and will continue to, an improvement in our support response time. Additionally, we do have a Quick Start Guide and User Guides available. Check out our website or email support@drakewell.us and we will get you hooked up! Drakewell

March 2018

Bekah from Firethorne Downhole

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

This program makes everything much easier for our company, We love Drakewell.

Pros

We like how easy it is to navigate through., It makes it easy for us to keep in contact and up to date with what each person in the company is doing and helps us work together.

Cons

I think constantly having to hit save, I understand that it is necessary so that Drakewell cvan be live. Its just a pain when I forget.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Hi Bekah, Thank you for taking the time to review us! Yes we make you hit save so that if you make a mistake you can "not" save it and recover your work. We are glad to hear Drakewell is working well for you and for Firethorne. Drakewell

March 2018

Rolando from Aim Directional Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

My experience with Drakewell was initially overwhelming but it's now great to see it flow together.

Pros

I started using Drakewell several months ago and what I like the most about it s the fact that our office and field staff are all on the same page as we are drilling these wells. I'm a well planner and importing plans and creating new well paths has gotten easier as we get more familiar with it. Also, the fact that we can see daily/hourly activities along with the BHA's they are using and their performance is a big plus.

Cons

We have only had minor issues with surveys not matching but the Drakewell staff is always ready to respond and take care of business fast.

Response from Drakewell

Replied May 2018

Rolando, Thank you for taking time to review us and for the positive feedback! - Drakewell

December 2018

Manuel from Altitude Energy Partners Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Very Likely to use once you get the hang of the system

DrakeWell was hard at the beginning, but as time went by and the help, support, and implementing within both companies, it is now simple but still more to add to improve the system.

Pros

its a good tool to use for any asset tracking of components and hours.

Cons

not being able to track how many assets were assembled and disassembled each month.

Response from Drakewell

Replied January 2019

Hi Manuel, Thank you for taking the time to review us! It's been a pleasure working with you over the past months. Drakewell is the primary tool for real time data collection and does the "heavy lifting". Analytics will have all the answers you need for shop metrics. We will reach out directly to you to dive into these a bit deeper. The Drakewell Team

December 2018

Nicholas from Altitude Energy Partners

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2018

Consolidating drilling data is an issue

It’s been good so far but frustrating at times closing BHA’s and getting reports with clear data that my customers ask for.

Pros

Drop down menu options and invoicing interface

Cons

When I’m trying to get circulating hours or drilling hours for my current BHA it is difficult to get them and there is no motor report option to use until the BHA is closed out. There is no good option at all to track inventory on location to my knowledge. I’m just learning your program so perhaps I’m missing something but compiling drilling data is too difficult. The daily reporting and survey programs do their job but the survey program could use a lot more options and better plot data. Also it would be very beneficial to be able to use the program offline if internet connection is an issue on location which still happens often out there. When closing out a BHA it sometimes does not highlight what is wrong with the information causing the program to deny me from saving it and also the but grading box is way to constricted to properly convey bit condition.

Response from Drakewell

Replied January 2019

Hi Nicholas, Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We will reach out to you directly as we want to dive deeper into each of the items you mentioned and address them one by one. - The Drakewell Team