Smokeball

Smokeball

RATING:

4.76

(189)

About Smokeball

Smokeball is the only cloud-based legal case management software that also runs from your desktop. Manage all of your matters with collaborative case management; customize your commonly used forms with a single click in document automation; pull up-to-date local forms from our library of 20,000+ court documents; track your billable hours across programs without a single click; bill, e-file, and collect all in one place. Try Smokeball law manager software and see all of its benefits for yourself! ...

Smokeball Pricing

Smokeball offers different solutions depending on your needs, from cloud-based billing to complete firm management.

Starting price: 

$29.00 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Smokeball homescreen
Slide 1 of 6

Smokeball Reviews

Overall Rating

4.76

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Showing 1 - 5 of 189 reviews

User Profile

Furqan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

SmallLaw Review

Overall, an excellent software and definitely worth considering for your law firm, especially if you handle real estate transactions.

Pros

1. Smokeball is an "everything" platform. We realized we were only using the other softwares for billing/invoicing, but found little use for them otherwise. Smokeball, on the other hand, is much more versatile. We track our to-dos there, create workflows, assign tasks/projects to others at the firm (it avoids the back-and-forth internal emails), share our draft documents with client through a secure portal, and much more! 2. If you are a real estate transactions law firm (as we are), Smokeball is the only platform specifically designed for that practice area. We love that it automatically calendars deadlines, has templates built in, and otherwise automates much of the closing process for us (and avoids costly mistakes such as missing a deadline).

Cons

1. Cost (yup, it's one of the more expensive options you'll find out there). But when evaluating options, the thought process should be whether you will save some time by implementing the features of the software. And if so, a few extra bucks monthly is well worth it. 2. A little glitchy at times. We sometimes would create an invoice but would not be able to load it or send to a client until the next day. I have no idea why this happens, though it hasnt been a big issue for us. 3. Requires you to invest a lot of time to set up to automate your documents and learn how to modify them as you go. But, again, it is time well spent.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

Looking for a more versatile platform for legal management.

Response from Smokeball

Thanks for the review, Furqan.

Replied June 2022

Brooke

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

I Love Smokeball

Pros

I love Smokeballs features. The document automation saves me time and headache with formatting. The integration features make sure that nothing I do is missing in the client files. The cases are always complete. the ease of integration for the products that I use is excellent and seamless. The time tracking capabilities help make sure that I don't miss a billable.

Cons

They recently updated the mobile software so it is more difficult to use on a tablet or my phone.

Reasons for choosing Smokeball

Because the feature were more robust and the billing time tracker is key.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

I didn't like the document automation of Practice Panther nearly as much as I like Smokeballs. The billing software in practice panther is not as user friendly as Smokeballs.

Lee

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

February 2019

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Response from Smokeball

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team pull public forms and load them directly into Smokeball for all users to access. (2) It is true that we currently don't have direct integration with the Google suite. We do, however, integrate directly with MS Office products like Outlook and Word. Our Sales people in charge of demos should make this absolutely clear in initial conversations, and we will ensure that they continue to do so for all future consultations.

Replied January 2020

James

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Great platform, great Outlook email syncing, just no ability to automatically monthly invoice.

My experience with Smokeball was great. If Smokeball had the features I needed that MyCase had, I would have stayed with Smokeball. I liked the look of Smokeball better.

Pros

It was very user friendly and looked easy to use. Very customizeable. The Email syncing feature is great if you use Outlook. You can not only send emails when you're logged-in to Smokeball (which connects the email to the matter), but you can also send emails out of Outlook and you can click on a button on the bottom of the email screen and connect that incoming/outgoing email to a Smokeball matter. Can create custom fields. Can set-up intake forms with fields, that can be sent to the potential client for them to fill-in that automatically in-loads to their contact info in Smokeball.

Cons

Not able to set-up automatic repeat invoicing. If you have a client (such as a criminal defense client that needs to make monthly payments and want to, when you're setting up the client's case, set-up future invoices to go out to the client for them to be able to pay on-line, Smokeball can't accomplish this. The only platform I found that was able to do that is MyCase. This is a lifesaver for my criminal-defense firm. It only syncs with Outlook and not Gmail.

Reasons for choosing Smokeball

I loved the email syncing (if you use Outlook), the document management/creation, the customizeability, and the price is very reasonable.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

I loved the email syncing that Smokeball had/has. But I wanted to be able to pre-schedule emails to go out on later dates (such as pre-scheduling fax-arraignments to go out via email), Smokeball only synced with Outlook and Outlook will only send out pre-scheduled emails 'if' Outlook is open. Gmail will send out pre-scheduled emails whether Gmail is open or not, which, because of the repeat invoicing that MyCase has and that Smokeball only syncs with Outlook, were my main reasons for going back to MyCase.

Response from Smokeball

Thanks for your review, James. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the user experience with our software, so this feedback is very much appreciated.

Replied June 2022

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Allows for easy systemization saves time increased profit

Smokeball is an excellent system that has allowed me to streamline my Estate Planning and Elder Law practice. They systems I have put in place through smokeball have allowed me to increase profit in each practice area. And my team can sleep well at night knowing things won't get missed or fall through the cracks.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to implement. Customer service is excellent they are always willing to improve their product and help with issues and questions. We have systemized every practice area so we don't forget steps and can sleep at night knowing the system has our back.

Cons

hybrid cloud and desktop was helpful in the beginning. It is nice to work when not online, however it slows the system a little and going completely cloud based would probably remedy that issue.

Reasons for choosing Smokeball

It came down to customer service. they had the best team and the best service and they still do now ( 5 years later). I am still happy we went with Smokeball.

Reasons for switching to Smokeball

Needed a much more robust system. I have tired several and Smokeball still leads the pack.

Popular Smokeball Comparisons