Smokeball Software

4.67 / 5 (82) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 10 times in the last 30 days

About Smokeball

Smokeball is a complete cloud-based legal productivity software to automatically record time for you, allowing you to increase your firm’s profitability and productivity by over 30%. Whether you bill hourly, fixed fee, or on contingency, Smokeball provides you the insights you need to run a more profitable law firm. Plus, with over 14,000 automated forms and a robust MS Word and Outlook integration, managing your firm has never been so consistent - and easy. Access all matters on the go with Smokeball’s mobile app built for iPhone and Android. Smokeball is a premium practice/case management product and only for PC computers running Windows 8 or 10. Smokeball is a practice management software with dedicated, award-winning customer support and consulta...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 8, Windows 10

82 Reviews of Smokeball

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.67 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(63)

63

4 stars

(15)

15

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 82 results

June 2020

Fey from North Beach Law

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

I can't live without it.

The best.

Pros

There is nothing I don't love about this software. My first cloud-based firm management system went unsupported after a couple of years, and I could understand why. I stumbled on Smokeball (an excellent, perfectly persistent and not annoying sales rep), and I have never looked back. The AI for time and billing is exceptional; the choices made when partnering with services are well-considered and launched, and the customer service is fabulous. And they keep making integration and start-up even simpler.

Cons

There is genuinely nothing I don't like about the software. I suppose, in an ideal world, there would be a partnership with Westlaw, but that's not a criticism.

June 2020

Sarah from Kurt A Johnson

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Fantastic CRM

Awesome!

Pros

The tech support is spot-on and extremely reliable. The integration of Word & Outlook is very user-friendly. I became very familiar with the Automation, so I was able to modify my own forms very easily. The only downside to the software is that it is expensive and the price rises each year. The price goes up because there are so many new features that are added each year. We don't use most of the new features because our firm doesn't use many of the features for our area of law. The software that I do use is very reliable.

Cons

The only downside to the software is that it is expensive and the price rises each year. The price goes up because there are so many new features that are added each year. We don't use most of the new features because our firm doesn't use many of the features for our area of law.

February 2019

Lee from Lee Pugh & Associates, PLLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2019

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Response from Smokeball

Replied January 2020

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team pull public forms and load them directly into Smokeball for all users to access. (2) It is true that we currently don't have direct integration with the Google suite. We do, however, integrate directly with MS Office products like Outlook and Word. Our Sales people in charge of demos should make this absolutely clear in initial conversations, and we will ensure that they continue to do so for all future consultations.

June 2020

Marianne from Robert J. Wagner, P.C.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Smokeball is Desparate for your money

Our firm has used Smokeball legal software since 2016. We have had 2 licenses which we paid for monthly/yearly. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in our firm, passed away unexpectedly in December, 2019 at age 64. Our open cases were referred to outside counsel. The practice was closed on March 31, 2020. I have been working with Smokeball in a round-about way since the beginning of March. Smokeball refuses to refund the unused portion of our license renewal which is approximately 1 year, over $2,000. No one is using the Smokeball licenses and they have not been used for 3 months. User beware. I feel this is a scam. This could happen to you!

Pros

The best feature is being able to e-file directly from the matter.

Cons

Customer service passes you from one person to another. No one can answer your questions. Terrible customer service. When I asked to have our files backed up to close the account, 92 files did not come over.

Response from Smokeball

Replied July 2020

I'm very sorry to read this. We're aware of this case, and I've escalated it in order to address it as quickly as possible. Of course we're terribly sorry for the circumstances, but we can assure you that we're neither desperate for your money nor a scam; this is an unfortunate case that we'll do our best to assuage.

June 2020

Tondalaya from The Lloyd law firm

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Smokeball is great

Pros

It’s robust and had a lot of tools to help manage your law office from automated forms to billing to filing

Cons

In the automation screen I would like a search button so I can’t watch for the input would like to add

Response from Smokeball

Replied June 2020

Thank you for the glowing review! I'll forward your question to our development team to see what we can do about making the interface even more useful in the future.