ActiveCampaign software


192 reviews(4.0/5)
192 reviews(4.0/5)

ActiveCampaign is an integrated marketing and customer relationship management (CRM) suite with a foundation in email marketing. Targeted towards small-to-midsize businesses, the software is designed to help organizations build their contact lists, create professional emails, manage campaigns, track customer behavior and measure their marketing campaign performance.

ActiveCampaign’s email marketing and marketing automation applications include drag-and-drop email design, lead capture forms, social integration and tracking, lead segmentation, website tracking and email campaign reporting. While ActiveCampaign integrates with several leading third-party CRM solutions, it also offers its own sales force automation (SFA) features, including contact management, drag-and-drop deal tracking, pipeline management and lead scoring.

ActiveCampaign offers free customer service, including live chat and phone support, a self-help knowledge base and complementary data migration from other programs. It also offers one-on-one consulting, expedited support and free custom design services for enterprise customers.

Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7 , Windows Vista , Windows XP , Mac OS , Web browser (OS agnostic) , Windows 2000 , Windows 8

192 Reviews of ActiveCampaign

Showing 1 - 20 of 192

Start your review of ActiveCampaign

Click to start
  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    September 2018

    Great tool for managing EDM

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Rich functionality, we get a lot of use out of the automations feature. I like the summary dashboard for a quick overview as well.

    Cons

    The system takes some time to get use to, there is a bit of a learning curve to get up to speed with how to effectively build automations.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: GetApp
  • Helen from TALO

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    September 2018

    Wonderful Email Marketing Company

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    ActiveCampaign is easy to use, it integrates with other apps, the emails are mobile optimized. It is a great email marketing program.

    Pros

    ActiveCampaign is a great email marketing program. It allows you to create and set up email automations very easily. It provides templates that can be customized. You can store previous edits and emails are mobile optimized. It allows for free image hosting so there is no storage cost. It integrates with Google Analytics so you can track emails. It is affordable.

    Cons

    There is nothing not to like. ActiveCampaign has so many benefits and features, it is a great program.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Edward from eCommerce Company

    Number of employees: 201-500 employees

    September 2018

    Active Campaign is great

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Use it to send marketing emails.

    Pros

    It's super easy to use and set up email campaigns

    Cons

    No real cons. It's awesome to use and very simple.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: ActiveCampaign, ActiveCampaign

    September 2018

    Hi Edward, Thanks for the review! Glad to hear that you're finding ActiveCampaign easy to use, always a plus. Best, Your friends at ActiveCampaign

  • September 2018

    Like HubSpot - But cheaper

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Active Campaign looks great and is easy to use. These are incredibly important for any CRM. It has an easy to use email builder, allows for setting up deals, and can track where people go on your website. It also allows you to easily import and tag contacts and set up marketing automation rules.

    Cons

    No real cons. it could be a bit intimidating for a non-tecnical user to setup, although there are teams on hand to help with this.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: GetApp
  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    August 2018

    Automations for email campaigns!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A

    Would use again— I’ve recommended to most non competitors—

    Pros

    Automations and auto responders are a fantastic benefit. Bots set up on tons of conditions. Can send targeted messages straight to website visitors. Easy to understand UI.

    Cons

    Almost too many features... hard to know what you are missing.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    Great marketing automation and email software for startups and SMBs

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    ActiveCampaign is one of the best options for startups and smbs when looking for marketing automation and email software. It's much cheaper than the bigger guys (marketo, hubspot) but has similar features. Definitely worth considering if you're on a budget but want advanced automation.

    Cons

    The HTML builder is a little buggy sometimes, and their support isn't super fast. But overall I'm happy with the product.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: GetApp
  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    August 2018

    Feature packed for less money

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    ActiveCampaign does everything that the more expensive marketing automation platforms do. It's very visual in how to set up automations allowing for a very short learning curve.

    Cons

    I wish that the pricing was based solely on subscribers. You really need the 2nd tier to get the minimum features that someone would want. It's still a great deal though!

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: ActiveCampaign, ActiveCampaign

    August 2018

    Hi there! Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We appreciate the feedback and we're happy to hear that you're loving the features ActiveCampaign provides! We'd love to hear more from you regarding what you wish you could see with pricing. Would you mind adding it to our feedback page? That way our internal team will be able to see it and other users can upvote the ideas. ideas.activecampaign.com Thanks again from your friends at ActiveCampaign!

  • Nefer from Self-Employed

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    August 2018

    Good Value for Marketing Automation

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I've tried a lot of marketing and email automation software tools and ActiveCampaign delivers a generous list of features for a good price.

    Pros

    The price point for all the features you get is generous compared with other vendors in this space.

    Cons

    You are not allowed to remove inactive contacts in bulk from your account when your contact volume starts to get high (to avoid paying the next price tier for a dormant a contact list).

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Richard from AdvantageX Marketing

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    August 2018

    Practical software for an automated world.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Overall I enjoy my experience with Activecampaign. It allows us to build systems for private clients that is quite profitable.

    Pros

    My company uses this software for many different applications. We've developed systems that use the emailing and texting features in Activecampaign to accomplish marketing goals that would otherwise be hard to do manually. The value is fantastic because we get a lot of small scale projects. It's a pretty fair monthly price for the basic plan considering the services you get.

    Cons

    It's not the easiest software to use compared to others like mailchimp.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • sarah from Gordon Stuart

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    Beware!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Active Campaign could clearly knew that I never actually used the product and canceled well within the 14 day trial period. I thought the amount was too expensive for what you get. They charged my credit card for the next 9 months ! After I complained to American Express, they refunded 3 months only because American Express made them. What about the other amount you took from me? What a scam!

    Pros

    Never used it! I installed the 14 day trial and canceled after 2 days.

    Cons

    Beware! I installed it on Shopify and canceled it 2 days later because it didn't seem worth it. They kept charging my credit card for another 9 months! What happened to the 14 day free trial? Then explained that I had to contact them directly to cancel my account! WHAT?!?! They are no longer represented on Shopify app store! They only refunded 3 months because American Express made them.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: ActiveCampaign, ActiveCampaign

    August 2018

    Hi Sarah - It looks like Ryan was able to resolve this issue over email. Please let us know if there's anything else we can help with!

  • Edwin from Footballshirts4all

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    More substance when it comes to the toolkit of email marketing features compared to MailChimp

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    ActiveCampaign's been on our radar for a while for its visual automation editor which can generate impressive workflows. The segmentation by tagging is a big plus in ensuring your emails are as targeted as can be.

    Cons

    Surprisingly, MailChimp does have a better email editor.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Verified Reviewer

    August 2018

    LOVE THIS!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Easy to automatically send e-mails to customers and prospects!

    Pros

    Love the visual layout. Easy to drop/drag icons in the campaign flows. Using Zapier makes it super easy to get customers updated quickly/effortlessly and transferred into a new campaign based on actions completed.

    Cons

    I need to learn how to use the automation features better. Also, I wish it were easier to view/update already written e-mails contained within a campaign.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    Decent CRM that needs work

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    CRM Database Tracking email open rates & click rates Email deployment

    Pros

    Active Campaign is good for creating email campaigns that include or exclude certain email addresses. The automations are a helpful tool, as are the resend options. The customization options were pretty extensive, and the tag option is key for tagging individuals for specific email campaigns. We like being able to see who has last contacted or replied to an email, and the tracking system for opens, clicks, etc. is useful.

    Cons

    We use it for B2B, and there's a lot lacking in the functionality for creating companies. For example, there's no copy function that copies an individual contact (helpful for people from the same company), and the system doesn't autofill company address, even when you use the same company name from a drop-down list. The template user interface could be better -- for example, there's a visual editor in the campaign builder, but no visual editor offered when building a template. In my opinion, this makes no sense. We use custom HTML for most of our campaigns, and so not having a good editor for this function is frustrating.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Alfred from Naked Leads

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    Powerful but bad email editor

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    There isn't a focus on a specific audience, which makes the platform too big & complicated.

    Pros

    ActiveCampaign has so many integrations, a strong API, a marketplace for everything (including automation) a strong community and so much more. It's a mature platform, that's constantly getting more powerful.

    Cons

    The email editor is just horrible. It's clunky, it's ugly, it doesn't show all the sequence, even editing an email is a hassle. That's why I left ActiveCampaign. And customer service is reachable only by email. Which slows down the resolution of any issue.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: ActiveCampaign, ActiveCampaign

    August 2018

    Hi Alfred, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you're no longer with ActiveCampaign. We'd love to hear what about the email builder you didn't like so we can take that feedback to our product team. Please email help@activecampaign.com or add your feedback to our ideas.activecampaign.com page - we would appreciate the feedback! Thank you again from your friends at ActiveCampaign!

  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    Great email marketing solution!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    We recently switched our email marketing from MailChimp to ActiveCampaign. We've been very happy with the usability and features that Active Campaign has to offer. I've only had to reach out to support once but had a great experience with them being very responsive and thorough.

    Cons

    We have yet to run into a feature that we don't like. We had some small issues with importing our contacts from MailChimp but were able to get that figured out.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • awogor from Self-employed

    July 2018

    When I signed up, they gave me a free account which never worked. I had to use MailChimp for marketi

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    ActiveCampaign is recognized as one of the best emails marketing software in all times amongst others

    Cons

    I don't like them. They frustrated me when I wanted to use them. I won't advise anyone to use them.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: ActiveCampaign, ActiveCampaign

    July 2018

    Hi Awogor, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience. Please reach out to us (www.activecampaign.com/contact) so we can look into your issue more. Thank you, Your friends at ActiveCampaign

  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    After reviewing over a dozen ESPs, we determined that ActiveCampaign was the best solution for us

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    ActiveCampaign has a nice UX and provides an easy way to search through and segment audiences. The customer support staff is very attentive and responds to questions and requests fairly quickly.

    Cons

    The software can be slow when handling larger lists. One minor thing that I really don't like is the simple ability to undo (ctrl +z) when crafting emails.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Kathleen from Lourdes Health

    Specialty: Healthcare / Medicine

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    July 2018

    Clean Design

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Love the clean layout, everything shows what a flow shoudl look like. Abandoned cart sequence was amazingly simple to set up. Able to get full profiles on each email address.

    Cons

    Really really wish that when I export the CSV that I can get location. All I get is IP address, but no way to tell actual city, country, etc.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Dickie from Real Estate

    July 2018

    Expensive mistake. Buyer beware - felt ripped off.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    a loss of money

    Pros

    Was really excited to start using Active Campaign as it easy to use and understand. The potential for this software is huge and i was keen to exploit it.
    Contacts, Automation, List and Forms all easy to use and set up.

    Cons

    Here's the rant!!
    I started with a huge contact list with the view of reducing it to about 20% . First (and only) campaign was set off and filtered out non responders, bounce etc with a view to deleting them.
    FIRST CON : could not delete unwanted contacts to desired amount and therefore get reduced subscription. Soon after Active Campaign takes monthly fee the contacts are reduced to some RANDOM number.
    SECOND CON : The amount of contacts varies each day (even when no additions or deletions are made) so you have no accurate idea of how many contacts you have.
    THIRD CON: set up a test campaign using only ONE email address (mine). This is flagged up for a "manual review". It takes TWO WEEKS to review only to be told that I have failed the review as i have no proof of consent for my own personal email address!
    FOURTH CON : whilst "under review" your account is BLOCKED and you cannot use it (I'm blocked out for TWO WEEKS!)
    FIFTH CON : I quite reasonably ask for a refund. " Your account is not eligible for any refunds per our Terms and Policies" is the curt reply. NO effort in trying to help.

    Overall I have been left feeling very disappointed especially with the famous US customer service. .

    Would I recommend - Yes but there may be better alertnatives out there
    service

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: ActiveCampaign, ActiveCampaign

    July 2018

    Hi Dickie, Thank you for leaving us a review here on Capterra. I wasn't able to find your conversations with our Compliance team based on your name on here, so please send us a message if you'd like us to look into your issues further. Thank you from your friends at ActiveCampaign

  • Ravi from Biocon

    Number of employees: 5,001-10,000 employees

    July 2018

    Powerful automation system collaborating e-mail marketing and customer relationship management

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    If you select trigger, you can send emails to the targeted customers. The application is easy to use and is an affordable solution when compared to other similar applications. Presence of additional features like sort and organize and provision of filters by analyzing customer records based on their purchase lists and event engagements. Integrations to meet all business types. Integrates with Google applications like spreadsheets, docs etc. Sales pipeline component and the campaign automation features are the best for active campaigns. Templates available and you can create your own templates, with which you can work to personalize emails and add-on graphics. Assigning tags to each customer based on their interactions is another unique feature.

    Cons

    Attachment of an image to the email message is time-consuming. Real-time custom recording of events is absent. Manipulation of data and exporting feature is also absent. An outdated application program interface. It is an affordable solution but lacks a lot of features that similar automation systems have.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: GetApp
Do you use ActiveCampaign?Write a Review
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 852-3639