Vend POS Software


175 reviews(4.0/5)
175 reviews(4.0/5)

Vend is a cloud-based point of sale system for retailers of all types and sizes. Vend offers tools to help manage the customer experience, as well as sales, inventory, customer data and more.

Vend is designed to work on various devices including Macs, PCs and iPads, and a dedicated iPad app is available. It can also operate with a range of in-store hardware including receipt printers, barcode scanners and cash drawers. An offline mode allows users to continue selling even if the internet goes down, and automatically resyncs once the system is back online.

Customers can check into a store using a mobile phone and pay using their PayPal account.  Vend can support input with a mouse and keyboard or a touchscreen, and the point of sale screen can be customized for access to popular products or actions. Other features include inventory management, tracking customer information, sales reports and integrations with Shopify.

Supported Operating System(s):
Web browser (OS agnostic)

175 Reviews of Vend

Showing 1 - 20 of 175

Start your review of Vend

Click to start
  • Baldwin from Panda Hobby

    Specialty: Toys / hobby shop

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    September 2018

    A great POS for starters and less tech savvy customers

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    This POS system seems more like a stepping stone. It gets you through the door to start your business but once you grow out of the beginning step you will quickly find the system isn't reliable, lots of crucial functions are missing and worst their customer service is almost useless. Most of the time we file for a support ticket the customer service replies with typical troubleshoot issues that we clearly stated we've done before and waste our time and when it gets to an actual technician they don't know how to fix it. I highly suggest for someone starting to use it to get a feel of what system they will need for their future but not something you will stick with for a long time.

    Pros

    Easy to use, has lots of functions that other software doesn't come with out of the box. A great start to get your business going. It looks clean and the UI is the nicest looking one so far we've seen. They have a free front display app for a second ipad so you can have a customer facing screen.

    Cons

    Lacking crucial functions to actually run a business. No real reporting, often system goes down. The system lacks any mass editing features unless you export the database into csv and re import it. Not efficient if you need to adjust tags in large batches because the exported CSV file, all the tags are in a single cell.

    The system lacks stability, we have been using this system for more than a year and it's been going down on crucial moments. Right now the system is slow to sync to Vend server causing sales screen and transaction not to be processed. This has costed us many sales specially at crucial times.

    Their customer service is great, nice and friendly but virtually useless. Not once has any of our issues been resolved. It was either an issue that resolved itself over time I guess they fixed it on their back end or we have learned to just live with it.

    You have to pay for individual cashiers. So if we were to want to do an event and have an additional cashier it would cost a lot more than what it's worth to have an additional cashier.

    Reporting is very basic. If you need numbers that for example compare data points of last week's sales vs this weeks sales by day vs by hour to know which day of the week is your strong day and which hour of the day is your peak you can't do it. Unless you do everyone stat as an individual data pull then you can get the stats but there is no clean visual display to arrange the data neatly so more work is to be done.

    Very simple reporting such as what do we have in our inventory of type A vs Type B to know what we're lacking in inventory is a many step process to pull which results in more work.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Michael from Eagle I Courier and Commerce

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    September 2018

    Great product

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    So far great product. Like how is it was to setup and the service of having someone walk you through the whole process.

    Pros

    I like the use of it adding products and all the intergrations it has. Very easy to setup and use to keep track of things.

    Cons

    Price went up. Big price increase was not pleased.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Vend, Vend Limited

    September 2018

    Hey Michael, thanks for your positive review of Vend POS. It's wonderful to hear you're finding Vend great to use and you were pleased with your set up. We've recently made some changes to our pricing structure so that we can continue investing in and developing Vend even further. We've already made some significant updates, such as an extensive promotions suite, big changes to our inventory platform, more powerful reporting and real time analytics. We hope these features can be used in your business and help you grow and run exceptional retail. If you have any questions around Vend please reach out to us directly. Best wishes, Vend's Community Manager.

  • MARTINA from CLAY CORNER STUDIO

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    September 2018

    Picture Perfect POS

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Vend POS has made my life so much easier. I like being able to search, order, plan from home and not have to go into the store to do work. I also enjoy that I can search almost anything.

    Pros

    This POS system is easy to use and easy to teach new employees. I love being able to access it from anywhere and being able to get information I need for planning and ordering.

    Cons

    None as of yet. We have been happy. We have had no real issues and anything that has come up has been easily solved.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Vend, Vend Limited

    September 2018

    Hey Martina, thanks for your review of Vend POS. This is the kind of feedback we absolutely love to hear. We're so pleased to hear you're finding Vend easy to use, train your employees on, and that Vend POS is making your life easier. If you do have any questions or problems please don't hesitate to reach out to our friendly team - we're here to help you run the world's best retail! Best wishes, Vend's Community Manager.

  • Michelle from Healing Hollow

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    September 2018

    A great Change

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    We now have stats of everything. Inventory is awesome and easy to enter. Keeping track of things is easy. Staff use this system without any issue.

    Pros

    The intuitiveness of it makes it easy to train staff to use. Adding products and tracking is amazing. As a POS it knows exactly what retailers would need.

    Cons

    Can’t change a payment method if you hit the wrong one causing issues at end of day. Has messed up inventory/costs 2-3 x and we lost our work.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Vend, Vend Limited

    September 2018

    Hey Michelle, thanks for your review of Vend POS! Great to hear that you're finding Vend so easy to use and train your staff. Sorry to hear that hitting the wrong payment method caused some issues ¿ if you'd like to give us more details on what happened so we can look into that please open a ticket with our friendly support team. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Katie from South Puget Sound Habitat for Humanity

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    September 2018

    Convenient straightforward way to keep track of inventory

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A

    It's easy to inventory, keep track of things, and search. It's very user friendly and has many functions making it a versatile and easy to use program for anyone.

    Pros

    Vend has a great search function making it easy and convenient to find anything! It's also a very straightforward program, very user friendly. You can add new items easily anytime.

    Cons

    To be honest I have not found anything negative when I've used Vend.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Vend, Vend Limited

    September 2018

    Hey Katie, thanks for such a great review of Vend POS! If you ever need any help or have any questions please let our friendly team know :) Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Roselyn from Shivana’s Asian Grocery Shop

    Specialty: Convenience store

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    August 2018

    Awesome

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    more likely to refer it to my friends

    Pros

    Easy to understand and not too complex especially for small business. And cheaper fee. And they offer package and they have more benefits of using it.

    Cons

    I cant think of any cons as the software itself was easy to use and find it handy. More likely to keep it

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Michelle from Nook

    Specialty: Gifts

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    August 2018

    Problems every step of the way

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The in-store point of sale system software is quite good. Easy to set-up and use so far. Plenty of online tutorials available.

    Cons

    The in-store POS system did not initially sync up stock levels with Vend e-commerce. I had to wait 2 weeks and continually contact support to get that fixed. Once that was fixed, items I had discounted weren't syncing with e-commerce. Sale items were displaying at full price. My latest issue is with my custom domain, which I thought would be fine to use, isn't. Vend doesn't provide SSL certificates so my online store is displaying as not secure. They have no advice for this.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Amogh from Deloitte Consulting US-India Pvt. Ltd.

    Specialty: Health & personal care

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    July 2018

    Super Easy to Use

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    Love the cloud services they provide and especially the feature which allows Vend to work even if there is an internet outage.
    Some of my colleagues are not techno savvy but they managed to figure it out pretty quick.
    Loyalty dollar options also seem interesting and its an optional feature.

    Cons

    The single browser support makes it risky if and when it gets a bad update. Currently only chrome is supported.
    Additional cost for premium phone support irks me because if Im buying the product, the highest level of support should come with that

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia , Vend Limited

    August 2018

    Hey Amogh, thanks for your review of Vend POS − great to hear that you’re loving Vend’s cloud point of sale software, usability, and offline mode. Vend is fully supported on Google Chrome and Safari, we cannot guarantee that Vend will work as it should on other browsers, some features may work and some may not. Sorry if that’s not ideal for your business setup and appreciate your feedback on this. We highly recommend using Google Chrome for the best performance. Best, Lucia (Vend’s Community Manager).

  • James from Technology intelligence Agency

    Specialty: Footwear / shoes

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    July 2018

    So easy to use, even my Grandma could use it.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    love using Vend. Its simplicity allows for quick training of new employees of all technological experience. However, the best feature is the ability to use it during an internet outage. We had this happen a few times where the internet went out, yet we were still able to conduct transactions. With our old POS system, an internet outage meant we had to close until the internet was restored. With Vend, there was no wait. We were still able to process sales and didn’t lose money. However, the lack of Priority Phone Support, while we haven’t yet needed it, is a little disconcerting. Adding this to all of the plans would create a near-perfect system.

    Pros

    absolutely love the ease of use of Vend. While I myself am rather technologically literate, some of my employees are not. However, because of how easy Vend is to use, they picked up on how to use it within an hour. I do also love the cloud services and their ability to keep running even through an internet outage. I did like that I had the ability to try out the product before purchasing. I realized within minutes that I preferred it so much more than my previous POS system. My favorite aspects are the value and price. You seem to get so much product at such a cheaper price than its competitors. I also liked that we could use our existing cash drawer and receipt printer with Vend. The loyalty dollars option is not something we currently use, but it is nice to know that we could always opt-in.

    Cons

    Even though I use Google Chrome as my daily web browser, I am not fond of the fact that this is the only browser that works with Vend. If an update breaks Chrome, then I am left without a POS system. I’m hoping that they fix this and allow other browsers to work with the system. I also do not like the fact that I have to pay an additional cost for Premium Phone Support. If I am paying for your product, I should have support that is available at the highest level and available when I need it. Sometimes, something is so important that it can’t wait for an email support response. This is something that definitely needs fixing.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    August 2018

    Hey James, we love to hear that retailers love Vend! Thanks for your review of Vend POS − great to hear that training has gone well and that you’ve made good use of our offline mode, it’s really an essential feature for a modern POS. Vend is fully supported on Google Chrome and Safari, we cannot guarantee that Vend will work as it should on other browsers, some features may work and some may not. Sorry if that’s not ideal for your business setup and appreciate your feedback on this. We highly recommend using Google Chrome for the best performance. Best, Lucia (Vend’s Community Manager).

  • Christopher from Mr. Clone

    Specialty: Farm / ranch supplies

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    July 2018

    With a free trial its a no lose

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    I lose this on a couple facts. Free trial for 30 days. On top of their insanely low pricing per month, this software is relatively easy to use

    Cons

    Monthly cost, no software to purchase and own with no monthly costs. Monthly costs are very low but still over time if you stick with this company it adds up

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    August 2018

    Hey Christopher, thanks for your review - you're correct, it's a 'no lose' situation been able to take Vend's 30-day free trial for a spin! We think it's a great way for retailers to see Vend in action and test the software. Vend plans are available on a monthly or annual billing and Vend runs on Mac, PC, and iPad so retailers can get going on hardware that's up to 90% cheaper than outdated legacy POS systems. That's a huge saving for retailers and allows a lot more easier for retailers when it comes to Thanks again for your review. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Omarie from K08 Sounds

    Specialty: Salon/Spa

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    July 2018

    Good but there are better softwares available

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    I used Vend POS at my old job. It worked well for tracking inventory and I like that it integrates well with ecommerce in our online store.

    Cons

    There are a lot of features still not available. Although they seem to be constantly updating the softwares with new features sometimes it just takes too long to wait. I think it'd be better just to get a different POS that already has everything our company needed.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    August 2018

    Hey Omarie, thanks for taking the time to review Vend POS. Wonderful to hear that you found Vend worked well for inventory management and selling online. Our team are always working on new ways to make Vend even better and really appreciate feedback from retailers. If you want to share what features you would like to see added to Vend please reach out and let us know! Best wishes, Lucia (Vend’s Community Manager)

  • Jim from Simply Vapor

    July 2018

    Completely streamlined the way we do business

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Thorough reporting, cost effective, reduces our workload. Easier management of inventory.

    Pros

    I absolutely love the multi-store functionality of Vend. We used to have to create multiple transfers because our previous software was not cloud based and did not communicate between stores. It was a huge headache to manage two completely separate inventories. Vend solved this problem and cut our work load in half. Our inventory counts are now far more accurate and easy to facilitate.

    The interface is extremely user friendly, and new employees typically need very minimal training to become proficient completing transactions. The reporting is absolutely fantastic and thorough. The thorough reporting has allowed us to order product far more efficiently and accurately than before.

    The price is reasonable, the customer support is fantastic.

    Cons

    I really can't think of much negative to say about Vend. We have had a great experience with Vend, and all of the issues that we have had were successfully resolved in short order by the outstanding on-boarding and support teams.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Vend, Vend Limited

    July 2018

    Hey Jim, thank you for your glowing review of Vend POS! We're delighted to hear that you're so pleased with Vend point of sale software and that you've had a great experience with our team. Have a wonderful day! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Cheryce from Freelancer

    Specialty: Other specialty retailer

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    July 2018

    Vend is awesome

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Overall this is a good software and I would recommend it for use by retailers as it can be very beneficial to analyze business growth and failure.

    Pros

    1. It is a web-based application that is accessible from anywhere.
    2. You are able to be very detailed with your products (ie colours, SKU, Size, quantity etc) all in one entry
    3. The reporting system which is provided is just phenomenal, very detailed.
    4. The interface is very user-friendly
    5. Customer database that is created is very easy to access
    6. Technology for barcode scanner, Bluetooth printers etc is very on point.

    Cons

    1. Once your subscription expires you no longer have access to your business information.
    2. Phone support is not available outside the USA
    3. Email correspondences take a very long time and often times the communication is off
    4. Can allow editing float amount entered especially by the manager, not cashier privileges.
    5. Does allow you to create an actual quotation or estimate but can use the park sale option and void if not necessary.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    July 2018

    Hey Cheryce, thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review of Vend POS − great to hear there are so many features and functions of Vend that you're enjoying using! Wonderful to hear that you're finding our reporting phenomenal, that's exactly we love to hear. In regards to subscriptions, you have the option to put your account 'On Ice' for a small monthly fee if you wish to retain the data. In regards to Vend support, sorry to hear you experienced a slow response via email and weren't 100% happy with the response, we've been making some changes in this area to improve a few processes. Phone support is available in all countries on all plans. Hope that helps and do reach out if you need assistance with anything - our team are here to help. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Haitham from Maui

    Specialty: Sporting goods

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    POS

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Eady to use if you're only operating a retail store and need a POS system and have an accounting system that can be integrated

    Cons

    Cant handle complex inventory costing so all the costing per SKU must be outside vend. It would be be great to have a better costing system

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Jenni from Furniture Factory Outlet

    Specialty: Furniture & home decor

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    June 2018

    Easy way to sell your products

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    Vend is a great way to sell products of any kind. The ipad app is easy to navigate and you can set up quick keys for some of the products.

    Cons

    It used to kick me off of my account sometimes and make me sign back in. I havent noticed it doing that in a while though.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    July 2018

    Hey Jenni, thanks for your review of Vend POS − happy to hear you're finding it so easy! Sorry to hear you were having a login issue, if that pops up again please don't hesitate to let us know. We're here to help! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Jasper from Per Expressie

    Specialty: Bar / nightclub

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    June 2018

    Vend

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Vend is a great pos application, it looks and feels very modern, and it's really easy to use for anybody, no matter how technical you are.

    Cons

    Sometimes it seems to react a bit slower than usually, but this might also be a problem related to our own network

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    July 2018

    Hey Jasper, thanks for your review of Vend POS! Appreciate your feedback regarding Vend being modern and easy to use, great to hear. If you're still experiencing any delays in speed please submit a ticket with our support team for assistance. Hope you have a great day! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Larry from Great Mattress

    Specialty: Other specialty retailer

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    June 2018

    We grew up with this software because it forced us to follow their business methods. This has helped us on our change over to Light speed retail

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    If Vend had training that worked, it might help. The register part of the program worked well to produce tickets. Vend would send an email to ask us what could be done to improve. I replied with a large list of problems twice but did not get a phone call to ask what they could do to help.

    Pros

    Vend has the ability to do almost anything, it just is not intitutive in many ways. Vends inventory entry method worked well. They gave a discount for paying ahead.

    Cons

    Their Layby program(Lay a way)it just was not good. We asked for help and did not get it. Also it would lose sales tickets from time to time. Also the drawer check out did not give all the info you would expect. There were many ways to make things happen and that would confuse people as to how to do something. I think it is good software but just did not fit us as we were at odds with it many days. We never did get it to interface with Quick Books online.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    July 2018

    Hey Larry, very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with Vend point of sale software or your experience with our team. Most retailers find Vend very intuitive and easy to learn so it's disappointing to hear you don't feel that way. If you have any specific feedback that you'd like me to pass on to our team you can reach me via email on lucia@vendhq.com. We wish you the all the best for your business. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager).

  • MS from Be Inspired Fibres

    Specialty: Toys / hobby shop

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    June 2018

    Program is a works in progress and poor communications

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Great range of features and a good simple starter inventory management system , but the program is a works in progress and can be frustrating.

    Pros

    Neat, simple and easy to use, starter price was competitive. Good inventory management features, which feeds into the POS system, simple reporting and it has the capabilitiy to link to Xero.

    Cons

    I have had similar problems with others, when VEND update or upgrade the program, which seems like every 2 months, it plays havoc with the data inputting and adding new product, and with VEND, it is imperative that you input the data accurately when you add a new product. Plus, they are not good with communicating that they will be doing an upgrade or making changes to tariffs, which might affect the functionality of the program. I have been trialling the system for a year, and I am rather nervous of enabling the xero integration, as it might not be accurate information that is being fed thru.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source

    Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

    July 2018

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review Vend. Happy to hear that you're finding Vend easy to use and enjoying the range of features, including inventory management. Sorry to hear you've had trouble with an update. Updates are always done to add value to Vend and our team thoroughly research and test all updates before releasing them. Our friendly support team are able to help should you need assistance or have questions about any updates. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Rebekah from Avenue Yarns

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    June 2018

    We use Vend to run our retail yarn store.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    It is a robust and fairly flexible program that keeps our store running, and provides most of the financial reporting that we need.

    Pros

    It is fairly simple to learn and use on a daily basis. It can handle a lot of SKUs. The customer phone support is very good. It integrates with our online store that uses Shopify.

    Cons

    It doesn't sort sales by payment method. We cannot get all of the historical reports that we would like to access. It is not easy to print reports directly from Vend.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Vend, Vend Limited

    July 2018

    Hey Rebekah, Thanks for your review of Vend. Really great that you're finding it easy to use on a daily basis. Thanks for your feedback on reporting, I've passed that on to our team. Feedback from retailers helps us make Vend even better so thanks for taking the time to share yours with us! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

  • Debbie from The Wilderness Center

    Specialty: Museum / park / zoo

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    June 2018

    Vend used for a Nature Store

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I would highly recommend. We are very happy so far with the system. We implemented 5 months ago and we have not had any major problems getting it up and running.

    Pros

    We took this product on due to the fact we have multiple volunteers who need to use it. After reviewing 12 different systems (yes, I looked at 12 of them!) I chose Vend. The screen is user friendly. Completing purchases is simple. It's incredible easy to find a products. I have trained individuals from age 12 to 85 with success.

    Cons

    My biggest complaint is the time for customer service. Unfortuntely they are in New Zealand so you must email if you are from the US and wait for a reply. Their replys usually takes till the next day because of the time change but if you can wait, they are really good about giving you what you need.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
Do you use Vend?Write a Review
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 685-8455