Kareo Clinical EHR Software


 

Kareo is a Web-based EHR, medical billing, and practice management used by thousands of physicians across the United States. This system suits small practices and billing companies. With Kareo, practices can schedule patients, confirm insurance, manage delinquent accounts and the collections process, store patient documents, develop customized reports and more.

Practices can be up and running within 48 hours of signing up. The system starts at a low monthly rate with no contract, no set-up fees without the worry of maintaining and updating the software.

Kareo Clinical EHR can be used across a wide variety of medical specialties, including mental health, family medicine, pediatrics, cardiology, chiropractic, podiatry and more.

 

Kareo Clinical EHR - Agenda
 
  • Kareo Clinical EHR - Agenda
    Agenda
  • Kareo Clinical EHR - Billing analytics
    Billing analytics
  • Kareo Clinical EHR - Calendar
    Calendar
  • Kareo Clinical EHR - Charges
    Charges
  • Kareo Clinical EHR - Insurance collections
    Insurance collections
Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000

429 Reviews of Kareo Clinical EHR

 

Start your review of Kareo Clinical EHR

Click to start
http://www.softwareadvice.com/medical/kareo-software-review/
Software Advice Reviews (309)
More Reviews (120)

Showing 1-20 of 309

Christy from Balanced Wellbeing, LLC
Specialty: Psychiatry
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

Terrible Experience

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Not much. The orange guy logo? That about sums up my likes. I have nothing nice or positive to contribute.

Cons

Kareo is outdated and difficult to navigate compared to other available software. It lacks functionality and intuition, completely incapable of anticipating the needs of its user. The ability to sort through super bills is RIDICULOUSLY inefficient. (I have many examples of poor software design, that is making my life hell.)

The soft ware has so many "An unexpected error has occurred" alerts that prevents me from entering the patient chart and no one on the support team ever knows how to fix it. I was unable to view my patient charts for 7 days with NO SOLUTION from program designers. There is a significant lack of accountability for their shortcomings which needs to be addressed urgently. I am getting further and further behind in my documentation because this error message prevents me from viewing notes at all. I have been told 2x now that a supervisor will call me back. NO ONE ever does. It was fixed very briefly last week, but here I am again...

MASSIVE improvements to expand the functionality are needed. Kareo is not a big player in our market, and likely never will be if big changes are not made. Immediate attempts to find SOME tools that will drive efficiency are critical. This EHR software is NOT designed to save medical organizations time and effort in processing patient information, as much as they may think it does.

 
 

Nataile from Inspire Communication, INC
Specialty: Speech therapy
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

New customer to Kareo and so far I'm loving it!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

We are switching from clinicsource to Kareo and so far we are loving the extra features we get - text/email alert for patients, ease of site navigation, multifunctionality and I absolutely love all the reports and tracking systems. I can't wait to see where are earning and losing money!

Cons

The only issue I keep hitting is the template system. I understand why it is as complicated as it is but I would love an even more comprehensive guide on how to create templates from scratch AND any templates related to speech therapy would be nice. There are ZERO at this time.

 
 

Jessica from Integrated Wellness Group
Specialty: Mental & behavioral health
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

Somewhat frustrating

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Our Providers find entering notes for patient visits to be very user friendly and billing finds posting payments for patients to be easier than our previous system.

Cons

Reporting options are limited.
Cannot scheduling recurring bi-weekly appointments (which is a regular thing for our office)
Electronic eligibility check does not work.

 
 

simone from Forest Clinica Familiar
Specialty: Family medicine
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

User Intuitive but lacking support

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Easy interface that is simple and fairly fluid. Staff with limited EHR systems are able to learn Kareo quickly.

Cons

Too many glitches and inadequate access to customer support. Unacceptable to wait over 24 hours for assistance with an urgent/critical system issue.

 
 

LISA from Advanced Physical Therapy, Inc.
Specialty: Physical therapy / rehab
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2017

June 2017

BILLING MANAGER

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

There is a lot of click here and click there to get anywhere, which I believe this software should be easier to use than the older software that we had, but it is not. takes more time to do anything. There is no discharge feature. I wish customer service would be more helpful.

Pros

Very inexpensive, easy set up. Getting clearance from the insurances to switch over to the new clearing house was a piece of cake.

Cons

customer service is hard to get once they think your all set. So now I am trying to train myself. UGH!!!!

 
 

Rhonda from MBS GA
Specialty: Billing services
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2017

June 2017

The EHR does not have many bells and whistles. As a free service it sacrificed, however the options do not compare with most other services on the market in the new price range.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Kareo is similar to PracticeFusion except they now charge a few for the EHR. If the company had made changes in the operating platform to keep it modern like other programs on the market it would be great, not all programs have iPad apps; otherwise it's a waste of money and would recommend picking something different.

Pros

Familiar with software and functions.
Easy to use and maneuver.
Web-based and compatible with MAC.
iPad application available for tablet users.

Cons

Rates are fairly comparable with other EHR systems, however Kareo does not often the functions that are available on most EHRs.
Not compatible with all specialties.
Support is hit and miss.

 
 

Jerome from Revive Life House
Specialty: Substance abuse
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2017

June 2017

KAREO is difficult to use for Beahvioral Health.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Very easy to learn how to use on your own. Other than that, it is not the easiest program to use for behavioral health.

Cons

Very slow and cumbersome and not user-friendly for counselors
1 Cannot enter groups all at once (having a preloaded listing of clients and enter a visit in and have it populate automatically in all their charts)
2 No treatment planning option at all; other programs have treatment plans that ties notes and counselors to specific treatment plans (cannot update them electronically);
3 Even when you choose more than 10 clients per page, you still have to scroll down; window does not fit screen; if you get out of it, it defaults back to 10 clients; slows down progress
4 You should be able to print all notes out for client at one time

I have worked at both the state and federal level and while their systems were much more in-depth, they were more user-friendly and ease of navigation.

 
 

Colleen from Mrowka Physical Therapy
Specialty: Physical therapy / rehab
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2017

June 2017

I am a sole practitioner

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

For a small practice, this is one of the. Ost cost effective programs I have seen.

Pros

Progress note generates the billing.
Professional reports, professional looking statements
Can add timed codes for medicare patients so you can avoid a billing error.
Can fax evaluation dirctly to MD upom creation
.

Cons

Cannot have two "user windows" open at once without paying additional money for 2 PTs. For example, I would like to be able to document on my ipad while in a room with a patient, and then comp,ete the note on my PC in my main gym area. I have to exit out,then sign back in on a different device, taking 4 steps instead of 2. Doesnt sound like much, but adds up to a lot of time over the course of a day.
Many of the features have additional rcurring fees. (Schedule, outcomes,)

Not all fields are customizable. You can add "smart text" for frequently used phrases, but this option is not available on every field.
For example, cannot add smart text to the Plan, or to Assessment. Have asked many times if could be added, but it has never been put in update.

 
 

Olumuyiwa from Pizzazz Hospital
Specialty: Hospital
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2017

June 2017

Average customer rapport.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Nothin Much

Pros

Customer reps are a bit cautious and reassuring. Cost effective, cloud based. More suitable for small business.

Cons

Customer Service seems professional but exhibit sort of deficiency in tackling some problems which arises with few inherent features.

 
 

Amy from ADDing Solutions
Specialty: Mental & behavioral health
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2017

June 2017

Great Software, Easy to Use

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

This software is easy to use and works well for our small practice. It has everything we need to ensure quality and continuity of care for our clients.

Cons

The billing portion of this software suite didn't quite fit our practice's needs and we would also have liked a mobile app version of the calendar.

 
 

Amy from CNP
Specialty: Psychology/therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Very Frustrating Experience

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

After spending about 10-15 hours learning Kareo and starting to develop templates, I threw in the towel and canceled it. Thank goodness I was on a free 30-day trial period. The straw that broke the camel's back was not being able to schedule non-patient appointments and being told my request would not be dealt with by the engineers in the near future. They have their "roadmap" set for the next few months already and take customer input on a quarterly basis.

Pros

When I asked to speak to a manager, I got someone who was professional, nice, and apologetic for some problems I ran into. The "success training coach" was very friendly and genuinely seemed like he wanted to help and accommodate any request.

Cons

The sales rep did not communicate to the "success training coach" what I needed to have my EHR configured. We wasted hours on the phone trying to figure it out. Had she just communicated my needs to him ahead of time, he could have solved the issues behind the scenes, instead of having me lose a few hours of valuable time. After all of that, when I started using the system, I discovered you cannot book a non-patient appointment!!! The system does not allow you to schedule meetings or non-patient related phone calls!

 
 

Sunny from UMD Care
Specialty: Urgent care
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Decent billing software for small scale offices

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Easy to use interface, good customer service during initial setup, cost-effective, cloud-based,

Cons

Customer service takes too long to pick up the phone and are reading off a manual (not very knowledgeable), features are not very customizable

 
 

Greg from Strategy Anesthesia
Specialty: Anesthesiology
Number of employees: 201-500 employees Employees number: 201-500 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Kareo, aware of a MAJOR Issue involving

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Treating customers in an insulting and condescending manner is unacceptable.
When contacted first thing Monday morning, May 1st their phone system announcement was more aware of the issue then the support staff!

Pros

It's an elusive idea. You want positive reviews then provide the service your charging us for and fix all the issues and start implementing ALL the REPEATED requests for improvements to the system... Most years old!

Cons

Everything involving technical support from long hold times with terrible hold, technical support who are clueless of current, or any other, issues with this product.

 
 

Mary Beth from CORE ABA
Specialty: Applied Behavior Analysis/Autism
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

Ar easier

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Great ar system but customer support and training is def lacking

Pros

Seeing eobs before they hit the mailbox, electronic billing is easier and class flow has increased as claims paid quickly.

Cons

Needs a manual, feel like there's a lot of features I know nothing about and would like formal training

 
 

Annie from CBT PSychological Associates
Specialty: Psychology/therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

oKAYY

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Kareo is a great product for a small business and its very great with there support team. They have several modules that can be added or taken away to tailor to your practice

Pros

Billing Modules

Cons

NOT 24*7 Support - located in California so time difference

 
 

Sarah from Florida Infectious Disease Specialist, Inc.
Specialty: Infectious diseases
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

April 2017

April 2017

Overall mostly good, poor customer service (help) and does not support MIPS/ PQRS reporting.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A

no

Pros

I would have rate the overall system (EMR) is for the most part user friendly and easy to navigate through.

Cons

Kareo does not support CMS reporting and the customer service/ help line/ support system is very poor.

 
 

Joseph from NMS Chiropractic and Rehabilitation Associates, PC
Specialty: Chiropractic
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

Joseph Verna, DC

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Have been using billing for one year and recently added marketing and full EHR. Very pleased

 
 

Shirley from Complete Provider Resource
Specialty: Billing services
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

March 2017

March 2017

Relatively easy transition after nightmare experience with previous vendor

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Admittedly, we're still new, but we've been very pleased with the support we've been able to find through the help desk and the Facebook groups. We've encountered a number of practices who have already worked out many of the issues we've encountered and have taught us a lot in the process. We really like our success coach, and he's gone out of his way to help me work through some of the particular things my clients want.

Pros

It's easy to use, and cost-effective for us.

Cons

We wish they had a collections module. Right now it's a VERY manual process.

 
 

anusuya from windsor internal medicine
Specialty: Internal medicine
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

March 2017

March 2017

customer support

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

I have been using kareo for more than 5 years. Lately the waiting time to talk to a customer service rep is too long.
most of the time we don't get the answer and will say we will get a call back. we never get a call back .
If we ask for help with EHR and templates most of the time they don't have the answer.
Also we have to pay for training session other than the initial session

Pros

Nothing at this time

Cons

frustrating

 
 

Francis from Caring Partner Medical Clinic
Specialty: Family medicine
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

March 2017

March 2017

Worst EHR

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

I am currently using this EHR because my billing company recommended it since they use the Kareo practice management. It has been a nightmare for me having used a much better EHR - Athena. The onboarding process was a disaster and after 3 months, the lab integration has not been completed with labcorp and there is no follow-ups. I have to initiate every contact with my coach who should be reaching out to me to make sure that my transition to kareo is seamless.

There is no integration with Imaging centers so you have to order the tests and then manually fax to the imaging center unlike Athena.

When it comes to labs, you cannot find some of them like a common FIT test to screen for colon cancer.

How about e-prescribing? Forget about prescribing common diabetes supplies like test strips, lancet or OTC medications, they are not there. With Athena, once you start typing the name of the supply you need, it pulls everything up and you can transmit those to the pharmacy electronically. For those you now want to fax to the pharmacy manually, the pharmacy name, phone or fax # does not even show on the prescription so you have to go back to the patient's chart and go to somewhere in the demographics to find the fax # and then write it down or memorize before faxing.

When you place a referral, you cannot attach documents such as labs, radiology reports to the referral before efaxing. What is the point efaxing just a referral and then printing out other relevant records that should accompany the referral to manually fax....so dumb.

How about releasing a patient result to their portal, you are not able to comment on the results that you are releasing to the patient. You have to send a different message to the patient after you have already released the results. Now, I keeping getting an error sending a message to patients through the portal using Google chrome browser and Firefox with different computers and they don't have any clue what is going on. I can't get any help with the technical support or my coach. They created a case and that's it. I guess I need to be calling them and taking time from caring for the patients to be doing that before I can resolve any issues.

Pros

Frankly, I do not see any

Cons

Everything

 
 
 
Write a Review
Showing 1-20 of 120

Melody from Walnut Street Health & Wellness
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2017

July 2017

Terrible. Going on 4 months, cannot bill Medicare due to their incompetence. No formal training.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I cannot honestly say that has given up much benefit = perhaps more options for reports.

Pros

lots of options in reports, but not easy to figure out. colors of screens are easy on the eyes. no other good comments.

Cons

Poor training. poor customer service. errors that I do not get answers on. Does not pull in appointment code & ending date of service, using Care360 for EMR. Pulling up info - not enough info shows. No place to make recommendations (like when pulling up the list of "encounters", which insurance is it). Too many steps to find the patient balance, why is it not on the first patient screen. Also, copay, have to add an extra step in to find copay for insurance unless the patient has a card. Difficult to figure out what needs to be fixed on denials. No place to put the reason the patient is coming in that will cross over. So an "office visit" for any reason, we make a note and then have our staff print that day's appointments - or flip between systems. I have over 30 years experience, the sixth system I have been on, and I am NOT happy.

Source: Capterra
 

Suzanne from Alliance Physical Therapy
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2017

June 2017

Kareo has been instrumental in billing "clean claims" to the insurance.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Clean claims

Pros

Easy to navigate and customer service is professional and helpful. Claim rejections are informative as far as what is needed by the payer and enrollment assistance is easy to access. Claim scrubbing can be done for each new patient which creates smooth billing for ongoing claims.

Cons

Not enough variety for report options and the custom report option is too complicated. Billing secondary claims can be perplexing trying to attach the primary remit information to the claim. The sort method for some of the screens could have more options.

Source: Capterra
 

Christopher from Varsity Rehabilitation
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Change is always hard at first, but Kareo is indispensable

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

It covers all the aspects we need to keep record and track of claims

Pros

Change is always hard at first, and at first I was not happy. When things are made easier for you and you can not tell; you rebel. I was wrong...the more I used Kareo the more I found it to be so helpful in running a small medical office.

Keeping track of charges, billing, claim transmission, and statements all made easy

Cons

The Cons are not as negative as other issues. The program shuts down when an error occurs; yet nothing is ever loss.

Source: Capterra
 

Dennis from Right Relief Health
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

An unfortunate let down

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

An electronic health record system that works but even in itself has too many shortcomings for taste.

Pros

This software provides beatiful EHR templates for charting. You can also create your own specified templates but the pre-made ones suffice. Along with that the scheduling in the EHR is easy to use and you can create a patient if they aren't in the database and you need to schedule a new patient.

Cons

Customer service is one of the worst providing customer service I have experienced. Dedicated members of managed billing, enrollments, and marketing don't even communicate efficiently. They also have you do their job at times when they have the resources at hand to figure things out yourself. You'll spend more time trying to get the certified medical biller and coder to do their job than taking care of patients.

Source: Capterra
 

WA from OHM
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

The process of submitting claim was confusing and tedious. They also charged me 4 times quoted rate.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

None, tried to cancel immediately, but even that took months.

Pros

They provided a very extensive tutorial, which is needed considering how complicated the process was.

Cons

Poor customer service, they would not refund money after they placed me into wrong subscription category.
The process of submitting a claim took about 4 times as long as it did with a free system I had been using.
They continued to charge my bank account for 2 months after I cancelled and did not offer a refund.

Source: Capterra
 

Nolan from Sports & Wellness Physical Therapy

May 2017

May 2017

Efficient Revenue Cycle Management Program

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

A complete and easy to use software to maintain a clean A/R

Pros

Ease of use once you get accustomed to the location of the features. On-boarding and training are easy. They help you through setting up all the clearinghouses and getting your EFTs and ERAs.

Cons

There are some reports that would be nice to have and reports tend to be more complicated than they need to be.

Source: Capterra
 

Lisa from Southern Maryland Dietitian
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

RD Private practice

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I signed up for Kareo after trying with Office Ally. Office Ally was so hard to use, Kareo is much easier and had great training.

Pros

integrates with Practice Fusion, good customer support

Cons

Windows based

Source: Capterra
 

Brad from Your Health Pediatrics
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

Not recommended for start-up clinics

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

As a start-up and not being able to open for several months, having your arm twisted to purchase an PM/EMR/Billing solution is not being considerate on the part of Kareo. A start up has many things to do and many things to invest in without wasting money on a system that will not be used due to time constraints. We paid from our limited resources for nothing for a couple of months. Even after canceling they are still trying to bill us. I consider them to be insensitive to the needs of a start-up and would not recommend them. They have a good sales pitch but my trust level was completely destroyed and I switched to another company.

Pros

It has a marketing solution

Cons

It does not create an automatic narrative attached to ICD10 codes as you click on options.

Advice to Others

Start-ups with limited resources should not be pressured into buying any software until they know that other priorities are out of the way. Otherwise they will pay for something they will not be using for a couple of months.

Source: Capterra
 

Amanda from Endeavor Rehab
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

March 2017

March 2017

Kareo is great!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Kareo has been a great billing software that we have been using for a little over a year now. We have been able to keep track of our a/r with all of the great reports that are available to us. We are overall satisfied with kareo.

Pros

The reports

Cons

Collections accounts could be easier to differentiate with a highlight on the account.

Advice to Others

This software is very easy to use and if you have any questions you can call customer service who has always been extremely helpful.

Source: Capterra
 

Carol from Comprehensive Psychiatric Solutions
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

March 2017

March 2017

RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY IF YOU'RE THINKING OF USING THEM

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

KAREO IS HORRIBLE!!! They're customer service is rude. They're account representatives are illiterate.

They do not know how to bill for services. We tried Kareo for a time. They sent out invoices to people who never should have been billed and for the people who were supposed to be billed they never sent an invoice. They're expensive for extremely poor work. We could not wait to get away from this company and now they're denying us access to our old notes. We often receive requests from lawyers, insurance companies, other physicians for our patients notes, but Kareo will no longer allow us access to the old notes unless we pay...

It's clear to me that this company is in trouble if they have to insist on payment to access old notes that the doctor documented on his patients. We are now looking into litigation and we will sue for our records. This company WITHOUT QUESTION and most assuredly is destined for failure. IT's inevitable. AGAIN IF YOU'RE THINKING ABOUT USING THIS SERVICE, KAREO, FOR ANY OF YOUR MEDICAL OFFICE NEEDS I IMPLORE YOU TO LOOK ELSEWHERE. THIS COMPANY KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT MEDICAL BILLING, SCHEDULING AND THEY REALLY, REALLY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT DECENT CUSTOMER SUPPORT. ALL THIS COMPANY CARES ABOUT IS $$$$$$$$$.......TAKE IT FROM ONE WHO KNOWS...MOST INCOMPETENT.

Pros

Nothing...it is not user friendly

Cons

Customer service is rude. Customer billing representatives are incompetent.

Advice to Others

FIND ANOTHER BILLING SOFTWARE COMPANY...KAREO IS ON ITS WAY OUT....

Source: Capterra
 

Kevin from Spectrum Behavioral Health LLC
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Kareo Billing and Practice Management programs work.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We are a small practice, and handling the office management, administration and billing was taking too much time and manpower to address. The Kareo Practice Management app allows me to stay on top of issues and keep my practice running well. Their billing team is excellent and we have a dedicated team leader from Kareo (Tanya) who is outstanding. They have kept my A/R aging under control and have really helped me deal with the many hurdles you can face with insurance companies. I have been able to use my time on running and growing our business and have been able to focus our small office staff on customer service and revenue generating activities.Strongly recommend you check Kareo out.

Pros

The support is excellent and you can always get a live voice to discuss issues and develop solutions.

Cons

Would like to see the cost come down a bit.

Advice to Others

Worth a look

Source: Capterra
 

walter from nextclinic
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Get quote in writing or bait and switch

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

make sure to get a quote in writing, we received a quote and started to implement the software and later found out it was really two times as much, had to start all over with a new company. Lots of wasted time.

Pros

original price

Cons

the actual price

Advice to Others

get quote in writing, will change after you start implementation.

Source: Capterra
 

Luana from New School University

January 2017

January 2017

Too confusing

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Very confusing system and doesn't show the bills by line item just a total. You can enter multiple codes for billing but to actually look at what your sending out, you can't.

Source: Capterra
 

Philip from P Mark Glencross MD MPH

January 2017

January 2017

No guarantees

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I had to cancel due to inability of Kareo to integrate with Practice Fusion. Despite advertising they could, they were unable to do so after multiple hours with technical support and two months trying. It was - Practice Fusion saying it was Kareo, Kareo saying it was Practice Fusion. I was very surprised having seen Kareo's reviews. When I asked for a refund, I received a firm, "no" and the reply below. I didn't read their extensive contract, which in fact states, if they can't get it to work, it is not their responsibility. I switched companies and was up an running in two weeks.

From Kareo, "Please keep in mind that Kareo subscription fees are not contingent on your ability to successfully integrate with your third party EHR"

Source: Capterra
 

Jeremy from Taylor Made Integrative Therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

January 2017

January 2017

DON'T DEMO THIS SOFTWARE UNLESS YOU KNOW YOU WILL BUY

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Red flag went up when they wanted my credit card information before I was able to use the free 3 month demo version. Well I was busy setting up a new practice that I moved into December 1st and never used the software. I emailed them 8 days after the 3 month demo expired which was December 4th and that I wouldn't be able to afford the EHR just yet and to check back in February. No response from Steve Cohen the sales guy. But on January 10th I don't just get a bill but they automatically withdrew over $800 from my account for a service I never used. I call and left a voicemail, then I emailed Steve Cohen, no response back from either yesterday. I call again and the guy puts me on hold at least 4 times and his response is, "Well we tried to call you several times." I understand I went past the deadline so I was willing to pay for the 6 business days of use after the demo was over but that was over $500. And then I got hung up on. I guess I know why they get your credit card info. If you don't want the software they can find some way to charge you anyway!!!

Pros

great options, would have done what i needed for manual therapy

Cons

Too costly and too many features for what i do.

Advice to Others

don't demo it.

Source: Capterra
 

Sharla from Cutting Edge Physical Therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Easy to Use

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I really enjoy using Kareo for our PT clinic. It is so easy to use! I really enjoy the check code feature it has.

Pros

Ease of use, reporting, and code check

Cons

It's missing some reports I would like to have and I would like a few more filter options on some of the reports

Source: Capterra
 

Leah from Goldsboro Physical Therapy

November 2016

November 2016

Simple and Easy to use billing software

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I use Kareo for our medical billing and it is easy to navigate and use. I would recommend Kareo for billing management.

Source: Capterra
 

Diana from Physician 1st Billing Management

November 2016

November 2016

Easy to use

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I have been using Kareo for 6 years and they have come a long way. I love that it's super easy to use and the staff learn if from day one compared to other software. The only think i don't like are reports and patients statements

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Patient statement
Reports

Source: Capterra
 

Devon from Craft Behavioral Health
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2016

October 2016

Kareo EMR and billing platform

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I like the Kareo billing platform and the Kareo EMR when using them together. It is kind of frustrating that I have to flip back and forth between the facesheet and account to view the insurance when doing prior authorizations. I also wish the patient's insurance information was more readily available to see. However, past due balances and copays are easier to track. Kareo EMR is also super nice because it will tell you if a patient's insurance is active or not.

Pros

That Kareo EMR and the billing plateform are super compatible with each other

Cons

That the patient charts are not more efficient.

Source: Capterra
 

Sharla from Cutting Edge Physical Therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2016

October 2016

Great Billing Software

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I have been using Kareo for 2 years now and I love it. I only use it as my billing software, but I wouldn't change it for another. I love the ease of use and the cost.

Pros

I really like the ease of use, and the cost.

Cons

Some of the reports could use some more filters.

Advice to Others

For the cost, you get a great software!

Source: Capterra
 
 
Write a Review