Revel Systems Software


 

Revel is a cloud-based business platform that integrates operations and customer channels with point-of-sale (POS) functionality in a single dashboard. It is suitable for stores and restaurants of all sizes and provides users with a POS, as well as integrated inventory management, customer management and social media management.

Revel offers a data analytics application that tracks hourly sales, order history, payment summaries, product mix and sales summaries and presents the data in reports and graphs. Other features include managing loyalty programs and gift cards, mobile ordering and barcode support.

Business owners can control user access with with unique user IDs, passwords and swipe cards. Inventory management tools connect in-store and e-commerce channels to provide real-time inventory data. CRM features let users capture customer data and order history.

Revel offers support through training videos, live chat and over the phone. Integration with third-party partners like Apple Pay and QuickBooks are also available.

 

Revel Systems - iPad POS
 
  • Revel Systems - iPad POS
    iPad POS
  • Revel Systems - Ordering
    Ordering
  • Revel Systems - Reporting
    Reporting
  • Revel Systems - Login screen
    Login screen
  • Revel Systems - Checkout
    Checkout
Supported Operating System(s):
Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8

102 Reviews of Revel Systems

 

Start your review of Revel Systems

Click to start
http://www.softwareadvice.com/retail/revel-review/
Software Advice Reviews (80)
More Reviews (22)

Showing 1-20 of 80

Shan from Rally Pizza
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

March 2017

March 2017

A disaster from start to finish

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

In theory, it should be great. But this system loses orders, loses discounts, moves voids from one ticket to another, loses payments, combines checks that have been split, splits checks that have been merged...I could go on and on. All the functionality in the world doesn't matter when a POS can't handle the basics. By far the worst experience I've ever had with a POS. It's cost me thousands of dollars in lost customers, lost credit card payments, money that I've spent paying my bookkeeper and other staff to straighten out all the issues, food that I've had to comp because orders were lost, etc. I've receive a total of $ in compensation from Revel. I've been stuck with this useless system for five months and cannot wait for the day I'm done with it.

Pros

What it can do in theory

Cons

The reality of how it actually works. The cost. Tech support. Customer support. Losing customers because of POS mishaps.

  Response: Sarah, Revel Systems Inc.

Date: March 2017

March 2017

 

Hi Shan,
I am really sorry to hear that you have experienced so much frustration. I have taken a look at your ticket history and I can see what the source is here. Software updates are consistent across all iPad based POS software. Most clients never hit a bug, so we're very sorry to see you were hit by one or more in a row. This is not standard and we can assure you we're working to improve testing and our overall quality with each release. I can see that you are now working with a senior agent and that things apprear to be moving in the right direction. Again, we apologize and appreciate your patience in working with us.
Regards,
Sarah, Community Manager, Revel

 
 

Christian from AMB Foods llc
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

March 2017

March 2017

Skeptical at first...

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

After months of wrangling with the decision of which system to invest in I cautiously went forward with Revel. 2 terminal system only so if it didn't work out the damages would be minimal. I learned the hard way jumping in with two feet real quick with Clover. (Different business than the one I bought Revel for. The CC processor is really to blame for saying that Clover is a good system for full service restaurants and I'm to blame for not verifying.) That was a disaster. Paying monthly for a pile of stuff I never went live with. Back to Revel. So many negative reviews made me really worried but after so much research, a: it seemed like it was very robust, more than any other cloud based system, something that would be difficult to quickly outgrow, b: relatively cheap entry cost, albeit the most expensive ongoing costs (more on that later), and c: every system turns out to have overwhelming negative reviews by my count.
After reading all the reviews 2 things stuck out to me. One, I was real concerned about the support teams. It was such a common theme amongst so many review sites. Two, I sensed a bit of naivete on many of the negative reviews. After reading between the lines I figured this was a very complex system and one would have to put forth a lot of effort to get it set up and working well for your business. It does not plug and play. It could be but you would be barely scratching the surface of what it is capable of. The lack of support made it seem like someone with little experience with computers and or POS systems should stay far away. We have been live for over a month and I felt compelled to get on here and tell about my experience. Completely exceeded my expectations. To be clear, it has been a challenge getting it all where it is now. We went live 16 days after it arrived in the mail. That's not enough time. My own fault for dragging my feet. Give yourself 30 days. That would be a nice luxury. Plan on adapting it to your business. This system is designed for such a broad spectrum of businesses so don't expect it to be perfect just for you. That will take time. We have so much more tweaking and customizing ahead. Recipe builds, ingredient unit and cost data etc. You will only get out what you put in. The support that comes with the system combined with the fact that you get lifetime updates as the system is improved and having features added makes the monthly cost worth it to me. Thanks to an agent of NY for giving me all the information I needed without any of the typical sales pressures. I will be adding the self serve kiosk sometime this month. Can't wait to bring that exciting feature to our customers.

Pros

Basic programming is relatively easy, uploading large amounts of items via excel spreadsheet was great. The support has been awesome! We have made a few mistakes on our end and they have gotten us back on track, plus quickly been able to guide us through some more complex feature programming. No issues have gone unresolved and none have gone into the 2nd day. No issues have been in any way critical or serious either.

Cons

Even though our system is 100% hardwired it still requires an access point that is wireless. I don't like the potential issues with wireless. A few days ago one of the terminals was having a spotty connection issue.

 
 

Nik from Triton Brewing Company
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Very costly and riddled with glitches

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support
Pros

- Very insightful data displays
- Great inventory tracking
- Mobile units are nice for busy shifts
- Customer files make it easy to keep up with trends

Cons

- Customer service is very lacking. One issue usually takes multiple reps to resolve and if you are in a hurry... Good luck.
- Loyalty points do not accrue even though we pay for the service
- Reporting data is not always realizable and accurate. Numbers from a closed out day often change and skew tax reports.
- Extremely expensive
- Still waiting on iOS 10 compatibility even though it's been out for months
- Updates are very frustrating and we never get any notification that an update is ready to install. Have even had customer service reps caution us about updating too quickly due to bugs and glitches.

 
 

Laura from Wood Floors
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Now with Dragontail systems it will allowed us to use the best deliveries and food preparation results.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

This system works perfectly and smoothly. My employees loved working with it and there is no doubt that it will work with every company.

Advice to Others

You won't regret using Revel Systems. Very recommended!!!

 
 

Geaorge from Wingstop
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 501-1,000 employees Employees number: 501-1,000 employees

February 2017

February 2017

We're using Revel POS in all our QSR.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

Extremely friendly, professional and now with the option of Dragontail systems which will allow us to make deliveries "state of art" it's the perfect POS.

 
 

Shawn from Red House Advertising and Internet Marketing
Specialty: e-Commerce
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

February 2017

February 2017

REVEL POS Brought NON-Profit To It's Knees - ISSUE NEVER RESOLVED

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

I am hoping to resolve the current issue between Revel and the organization Rethreaded. This nonprofit made a calculated move to switch to Revel with promises your sales team was unable to deliver. I hope, for the future of Rethreaded and Revel, that this matter can be resolved. I would truly like to turn this into a beautiful PR story and not PR nightmare.

Back in August, after a meeting with Rethreaded concerning their POS and CRM needs, I contacted QuickBooks looking for an integrated system to work with QuickBooks, while serving as a POS, and an e-commerce solution. QuickBooks suggested Revel be the solution to meet Rethreaded’s needs and believed because of Rethreaded’s nonprofit mission, working directly with Revel would prove to be a great fit.

When I first contacted QuickBooks about their system options, they gave a quote to me which I shared with Revel. I asked for Revel to match or beat that quote. I was assured it could be done. I reached out to Revel looking to discuss my project and was connected with a sales representative. I explained to him what my most important needs were and forwarded him the quote from QuickBooks. These needs were clearly explained to be: complete integration to QuickBooks with the ability to track multiples sales channels (retail, wholesale, corporate sales, home parties, warehouse events, outside events, and ecommerce) with a total of 9 POS systems with one being stationary and eight working in a retail environment, the option to go off-site and ring up transactions via the Verizon mobile network, tracking inventory to the ‘ingredient’ level, and a CRM system that would allow us to track a person from becoming a customer and also be potentially a volunteer, donor, vendor, or employee. This was key – tracking the same person and marketed to in each role specifically. I also soon found out the promise of different sales channels would be a sticking point in Rethreaded’s relationship with Revel.

The represenatative informed me that he was at the annual Revel Conference and would work directly with his supervisor, to create a solution package that would fit my needs. I was always clear about Rethreaded and in an email on September 9th, “Allow me to put it like this, the reason we would agree to pay for you to install the system is my client felt like you cared about them and to create an amazing PR story for our local news (which has already agreed to cover the story).”

Revel promised to exceed our expectations. After several weeks of going back and forth with questions and concerns regarding the Revel platform meeting all of our needs, they shared with us that Revel would be able to exceed all of our requirements. Furthermore, they shared that if we switched to Intuit credit card processing, Rethreaded would qualify for a rebate through Intuit that would cover almost half of our Revel conversion costs. On September 12th, they emailed me the Terms and Conditions of the Intuit Cash Back Offer. We went back and forth throughout the month of September concerning pricing, even though I was originally told my quote from Intuit could be met. I even went as far to pass along monthly invoice sent to Rethreaded by Vend. Rethreaded wanted to switch their system for improved features at a fair cost because of their nonprofit status.

Revel seemed like a company full of solutions. Another solution presented was in the installation of the system. After they expressed to me that Revel was the number one POS system in retail locations, together team and myself, saw the opportunity to train Rethreaded survivors to become experts on Revel’s front-end management system. This would allow them to further grow their career skill set and offer a better future. This was a key selling point of going with Revel, rather than building a proprietary system.

Even terminology started changing. It is important to note that during the sales process, I kept referring to our POS systems as individual POS systems. The representative kept referring to them as order takers. My response was I am not looking at order takers but a POS system. He indicated that an order taker and a POS were the same system. The truth that came out was the systems were in fact different. In text message conversations and phone conversations, I kept redirecting him to understand that we wanted one stationary POS and eight mobile POS, the contract kept changing with me needing to clarify again and again. He quoted the entire package, including cases, and when I started reading the specifics I noticed cases were missing. He then reverted it back to the original, if I had been diligent my client would have suffered.

I was led to believe that I would save time, effort, and money if I hired Revel for the installation and training. Furthermore they informed me that it would be much easier if we paid an additional fee to have Revel do the complete install and training. They proposed that it would save time on the install which would reduce my budget cost and that by being trained by a Revel professional, the Rethreaded organization would have the ability to go live the same day. To conclude our sales process, the final step was the approval by the executive board of Rethreaded. The board requested a meeting with Revel’s representatives, in which they would give a complete demo and answer questions/concerns about Rethreaded’s workflow and Revel’s ability to meet those needs.

During that call, we went through a number of questions, mostly led of Rethreaded. I left the meeting feeling confident and even emailed them after the meeting saying, “I feel the meeting was very productive and answered all of Rethreaded’s questions…”
The Board meeting with them supposedly answered our questions. Here are some issues we went through during the meeting: they asked if Revel would be able to group products into either sales channels or product groups. He responded that, yes, Revel supports this with the option to build classes of people to make everything more specific. He further stated that automated reports would be emailed daily with the ability to track by sales channel and product group. The sales channels were defined as retail, wholesale, corporate sales, home parties, warehouse events, outside events, and ecommerce. We were also informed that commissions could be recorded on a transaction by transaction basis driven by who was logged into the device. Retail channels for Rethreaded were discussed. Once again (and without any reference to a price change), myself and the representative with the Board were assured a wholesale, retail, home channel, and any other sales channel would be possible. We were told directly that the person ringing in a transaction would simply need to login by event type. These tasks can only be achieved by having multiple establishments which equates to your Enterprise package. This price difference was never discussed. We were led to believe it was all included in what we were getting.

Customer tracking translates to funding for Rethreaded. As mentioned earlier, the representative and the Board were also adamant that customers needed to be categorized properly. Rethreaded needed to assign customers to the right categories. Often the same person belongs to multiple groups whether they be a customer, volunteer, employee, or a donor. If not, the cost of switching systems would not provide enough return on investment to Rethreaded. For some clients what may be a lost sale or commission to Rethreaded could mean a lost opportunity to employ another woman or help a person get out of the trade.

Rethreaded was never made aware of the additional costs of an Enterprise system. Finally, they led us to believe these capabilities were in the package we were purchasing and never indicating there would be an additional cost beyond the initial installation. The entire call led us to believe that the Revel representative coming to the training would teach us the CRM. He asked about the ability to scan barcodes, the representative responded that the M-Tab reader had the Bluetooth scanning capability built-in. Upon receiving the M-Tab scanner, we were sent scanners that did not have the built-in capability for barcode reading. **Simply put, this was one of many times your company dropped the ball.**

I was led to believe the Revel Training Expert would be my answer to every installation and training concern. The representative overall answer to getting everything setup the way we asked was, “That is why you are hiring the Revel expert for training.” Myself, the CEO of my company, the representative from Rethreaded, and the Board all believed that the Revel Installation would be the situation where all of our issues were solved. If it fell under the umbrella of installation or training, the on-site Revel installer would handle all of the setup issues. After that meeting, Rethreaded and myself had complete confidence that Revel was the solution for us. We went into the final approvals of hardware and service packages. During this time of looking at the hardware, the representative had failed to include all items that were originally quoted to us by QuickBooks. When the representative sent over the final quote, he had removed several of the M-tab readers and cases. In our email on September 28th, he acknowledged his mistake and included the missing hardware. During our sales process, several times, I had to point him back to our first conversation and the quote I originally sent from QuickBooks. Throughout the process, it seemed like he was trying to upcharge me past what I had been originally quoted.

It was only my diligence on pricing that saved Rethreaded, a nonprofit organization, unwarranted expenses. When I received the final quote on September 28th, I directly asked the representative how much the shipping costs would be and made him aware again that Rethreaded was a nonprofit business that is not charged tax. He responded that shipping would be around $. I expressed this was a high price but recognized the necessity of accepting. I found out days later that Revel had charged me the tax and clumped it into one fee as a shipping fee. Once it was discovered, I was credited back the taxable fees (after several emails) and I was charged the correct shipping amount, which totaled less than $. **Once again, this shows your company trying to make another dollar and dropping the ball.**

The onboarding process was not made clear. Upon signing our agreements, I received an avalanche of emails for an onboarding process. After reviewing the avalanche of emails, I sent him an email and spoke with him on or about October 18th, stating that if I followed everything requested in the emails for onboarding, then I saw no need for Revel to come and do the install and wanted to go about getting a refund for the installation and training as I felt I could do it myself. I requested a documentation that clearly outlined what came with the install, I did not receive this for two days. I also requested a meeting with them regarding cancelling the install and getting a refund. During that call, I was informed by them to do my best in completing the initial 8 steps of the onboarding. Anything else, I was assured would be completed by Revel’s installation team. They assured me the best option was to have an installer from the Revel team come out and still save me the headache the install.

I was sent the wrong routers and also iPad minis which I had to ship at my cost. Once I got the equipment, he also contacted me to inform me that he realized that the network routers he originally sent to run our Revel system was not adequate to run our Revel system. Having to send additional equipment **Once again dropping the ball showing another mistake that was made by your sales team.**

The representative was essential in assisting with installation, yet he still couldn’t meet the promised timeline. In addition to the training, I once again brought up my concern about creating the sales order process, the ingredients, and how that would be set up as well as the CRM. I was reassured that the Revel training and installation team would handle all of that and do a superior job. Upon the day of installation, I had the privilege of meeting with him and quickly discovering that if I had done the whole onboard process that my system would have already been set up and the only thing he would have had to do is train me. Instead of doing the entire process, I was assured by them to relax and the day of the install would go smoothly.

On the day of the install this was quickly found not to be true. After going through the install with the representative, it confirmed that if I had done the entire onboarding process I would have not have needed to pay for the install or training. Furthermore, after working throughout the day with him, at several different points of the install, he informed us that Revel would not be able to do key functionality that we had requested – like sales channels. He stated that we would have to have additional establishments and I would need to talk with my sales reps about how to activate those establishments. This was the main reason we selected Revel and decided to change systems at all.

Upon receiving the hardware, I left everything in the box for the day of the install. I only pulled out the main iPad so I could complete the minimum necessary steps for onboarding advised by them. The day of the install, I brought the equipment and the representative opened the box. He led me to believe we were given one extra M-tab and case.TI informed him of the extra equipment only to be told by the representative later, that he had made a mistake, it was not extra equipment. It was the actual M-tab and case that would hold the iPad currently running Rethreaded’s current POS system, Vend. He can confirm that I had no extra equipment so at this point in time, we demand that invoice #210571 for the amount $ be immediately removed from our account. During the day of the install, all we could accomplish was the install and a 50% training on the backend. Nothing was trained on the front end, nor was the system able to go live as promised during the whole sales process. **Once again dropping the ball showing another mistake of your sales team.**

The webinar training provided by him should not be charged to my account. He went over and beyond trying to resolve all of the issues that the sales reps had created. I am grateful for his offer and kindness but it still did not meet what was offered/promised during the sales process. In addition, he did a front-end training via webinar which we documented and used to create a custom training document for Rethreaded [click the link for the document]. This webinar training should not be a charged as a part of the install and training because this is offered for free to anyone signing up for Revel (as it was not done at Rethreaded’s location).

When I returned hardware sent to me, I did not receive the refund in a timely manner. I still don’t have the money back. He sent us the incorrect iPad Minis. He was completely aware and directly told that these iPads would need mobile data capability, preferably with Verizon capability. Instead he sent us the Wi-Fi only iPad Minis. In the replacement process of the iPad Minis, he requested for us to return the wrong ones and that I would be charged for the new ones in the meantime. I hesitated to do this because I felt that there was no need for the duplicate charge. I paid out of my own pocket to ship it, expedite it, insure it, and for signature confirmation. Upon delivery, I did not receive the refund as promised.

In fact, the refund only started because I followed through on tracking and determined the package had been delivered. Your company signed for the unopened products on November 9th. On November 17th, I was told by him that we would get our refund in three to five days. By November 25th, I had been handed off to a brand-new person who was then telling me I would need to wait an additional 3-5 business days. I escalated the issue with my bank and they gave Revel a full week to resolve the matter. As of today, the matter has yet to be resolved.**Someone dropped the ball on this one.**

QuickBooks ProAdvisors could not perform what was promised to be by Revel. Meaning, what I was promised was not possible. After the install and training was complete, I contacted my sales rep asking him about setting up additional establishments or how to clearly define my sales channels. My exact words as of November 15th were “I shared my concerns several times during the sales processes that Revel sounded good but I was very concerned that it wouldn’t be able to be configured to our needs…only to have every objective overcome by him or yourself reassuring me Revel was the answer for our needs.”
Rethreaded never would have switched if different sales channels weren’t included. I was informed by both that my QuickBooks expert would have to configure that on the QuickBooks side. I hired QuickBooks Certified professional and ProAdvisor of FairwindsBiz. During her time of setting up the proper mapping for QuickBooks, she clearly shared with me that there is no way to set up sales channels because there were no sales channels set up by Revel as originally requested. Per advice, he directed us to work directly with Revel’s QuickBooks specialist. We tried for several hours while my own expert was on site and working with Revel’s team – with no success. At that point, I needed to confirm my beliefs that the only way that the sales channels could be created is through establishments. Establishments are only offered in the Enterprise package.

An additional QuickBooks ProAdvisor confirmed Revel could not deliver as promised without a considerable price hike. To confirm I had set up everything properly and integrated Revel, we contacted advanced QuickBooks ProAdvisor and Certified Revel POS Consultant confirmed that I was completely correct and that the only way I could establish sales channels were through additional establishments and that yes this was an Enterprise feature. He agreed this should not be an enterprise feature considering this is the same business, same tax ID, and same entity just to be able to track all of the sales channels. I shared all of the details I had gone through with the sales process as well as what the installation was to do, he then advised me that I was completely on the right track and this wasn’t the first time he had seen a Revel install go the wrong direction because of the sales rep giving misleading information.

Rethreaded was misled during the sales process. Upon confirming my discovery, I reached out to them to bring it to their attention that I had been misled during the sales process and that I confidently believe Revel should provide the enterprise service offering at no additional cost. I believe a number of mistakes were made by him, not because of his abilities as a sales person, but because of his inexperience with your product. When these mistakes were detected, he backpedaled on his terms. The only reason I continue to work through this process is because his ability as a sales representative has been phenomenal. He was a sales representative that didn’t understand this product and had a pushy sales manager, like a used car salesman, leading him in the wrong direction.

I would like to offer the following solution to this issue: I can reconcile this issue right away, as long as M-tab scanners can be exchanged for a Bluetooth capable option and Rethreaded is offered 18 months of the Enterprise plan. I formally request that for the life of the 18-month contract, that the enterprise functionality, or the ability to add additional establishments, is given to Rethreaded at no additional costs – under the condition that it is still run under the same tax ID and reseller’s certificate. This would not be a condition if Rethreaded opened an additional sales location. I request CEO of Revel, to meet with the women of Rethreaded either in person or via video chat to speak about the trials, tribulations, and successes of being a woman-owned business and the success she’s had in the past three years. All would be to give hope to the survivors that they can achieve whatever their hopes or dreams may be. As mentioned many times via email and by phone, Revel was of great interest to us not only for their product offerings but for their woman-owned business status. This serves as an inspiration for Rethreaded’s survivors. I know this would be an advantageous meeting for both Rethreaded and Revel.

In the event that my request cannot be met, we would like a full refund for every penny spent with Revel to include: hardware, software, training, installation, shipping, and any additional fees incurred by my company of loss of time or efforts (not to exceed an additional amount of $ this is fair considering my billable rate is $ an hour).

REVEL HAS FAILED TO AGREE TO FAIR TERMS AND NOW WON"T ACCEPT A REFUND. Keep in mind Revel dragged out the 30 day refund period to defraud be out of the ability to exercise my right to a refund.

Pros

I can't find any pros with this system.

Cons

Not trustworthy. Product does not perform the way stated in the sales processes. Horrible company that is only driven by their successes at the expense of small businesses.

Advice to Others

Stay Far Away! Feel free to contact me for full disclosure of my experience with Revel Systems. I now have to pay thousands of dollars to fight Revel in court.

  Response: Sarah, Revel Systems Inc.

Date: February 2017

February 2017

 

Hi Shawn,

I apologize for the for the frustration you have experienced so far. It sounds like there has been some confusion here. You have been working with our Client Relations team for some time now and we have offered several solutions for your business.
I am sorry that you got the impression that our EMS capability is a free service, but it is not. We would have loved for you to use Revel and to "Go Live" but unfortunately we do not allow 2-week "trial periods" which I believe you have recently suggested. Your Terms & Conditions allowed for you to return your hardware within 30 days (this always depends on the T&Cs) and you purchased the hardware on 10/11/2016. You are more than welcome to sell your hardware, of course.

Hope this helps you with your decision either way.
Regards,
Sarah, Community Manager at Revel

 
 

Dan from Armor Nutrition
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Do NOT trust!!! Support is from another country and they do not hold true to their word.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

I signed up for this service after being promised certain functions. After I was on the phone with the onboarding team. In which I could barely even understand due to the dialect. I was told informed they system could not do what I needed it to do. So I decided to cancel. I was charged a restocking fee for the credit card processing machine which was not even supposed to be sent to me until I decided on a credit card processor. I sent them the email showing that the salesman said he made a mistake and forgot that he was not supposed to ship them out. And they still would not waive the processing fee. This company is an absolute nightmare.

Pros

Nothing

Cons

I was treated like crap. They do not care about their customers.

Advice to Others

Do not use this company support sucks and they do not hold to their word. They only care about making money not the customers success.

 
 

Peter from Mad Taco
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Trust the Bad Reviews

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

N/A

For the sake of easy reading, I will simply say that at 49 years old, I have never had a worse experience in terms of product capability, professionalism within a company, accountability, and most of all, service. So bad was the product and service, that I willing gave up the initial expense, to allow myself to walk away from any contractual obligation. And this was after only months of use. There is too much negative to put down in a review. We literally had issues with every system of the program: setting up the system, the loyalty program, programming the system, credit card processing, state taxes, and revel not understanding restaurants and the nomenclature of the industry. Advice: Look for a system that clearly outlines their service obligations. Make sure that you are able to speak to someone in the company, and not to an outsourced panel of phone answers who's only response is, "I am sorry that you are having this problem" and who are in no way able to offer solutions to your issues. You will spend hours on the phone during the life of your revel relationship pulling out your hair, yelling things at people overseas that are not typically in your vocabulary or character to say, and ultimately so frustrated that you too, will be looking for ways out of this bad relationship.

Pros

Few

Cons

Many

  Response: Sarah, Revel Systems Inc.

Date: February 2017

February 2017

 

Hi Peter,

I am sorry to hear you had such a poor experience and that we weren't able to turn it around for you. It is definitely not characteristic of our platform or current Customer Support structure.

I took a look at your history and I see that you have not been a customer for some time now and that your primary issue stemmed from networking - if the networking is not functioning properly, of course, it can cause problems, and it can sometimes be environmental.

We have definitely made a lot of advances since you were a customer and we now offer an Apple Ethernet Connect solution which solves trickier situations. I am just sorry we weren't able to offer this option to you formerly. Regardless, your feedback is appreciated.

- Sarah, Community Manager at Revel

 
 

Trina from Final Gravity Brewing CO.
Specialty: Bar / nightclub
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Nice POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

We have been using Revel POS for going on 3 years now. We have had our ups and downs but always seem to get it worked out and running smoothly with customer service.

Pros

There are a lot of tracking options that are very helpful.

Cons

What we dislike the most is this is a small screen. We want a large screen.

Advice to Others

Check it out, it does no harm to try it.

 
 

Alan from Innevape Labs USA
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Revel Retail POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

We recently switched to the Revel system from an older POS. While there was a slight learning curve for our employees it was very slight and has run smooth. Since installing Revel the amount of information garnered from the system has already begun to transform our business for the better. I would highly recommend Revel to anyone that is looking for quality software that will bring them to the next level in their retail establishment.

Pros

Ease of use, back office software, Cloud based.

Cons

Many items for retail are not turned on immediately.

Advice to Others

Make sure you have a qualified person setting up the system for your business and make a checklist of all of the features that you must have so they can be available at once to you.

 
 

Stuart from The Pickled Pig
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Nice idea, but horrible for restaurants.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

I love the functionality of the product, but the concern I had when considering the purchase was related to connectivity issues. In short, would there be occasions when one of the iPads lost connectivity briefly, causing orders to be lost. Well, I was right to be concerned. We have had ongoing issues with lost tickets that don't make it to the kitchen in a timely manner, sales reports not matching actual sales and overall downtime with server stations when it can't connect. I was reviewing Lavu at the same time, which has a hard-wired option and should have gone with that. I went with Revel because they promised it would not be an issue and I preferred the Revel functionality.

Pros

Functionality

Cons

Performance and Connectivity

Advice to Others

Don't use if you have a medium to busy restaurant.

 
 

SCOTT from Tap and Bottle
Specialty: Bar / nightclub
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Revel Rocks

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

We have been using Revel for the last 9 months. We love the constant updates, the prompt customer service, and the stability of the system.

Pros

Constantly Improving, Live customer service, Fast, Detailed.

Cons

The system is pricier than others.

  Response: Sarah, Revel Systems Inc.

Date: February 2017

February 2017

 

Hello Scott,

Sarah here, the Community Manager, from Revel. So happy that Revel is working out for the Tap & Bottle! We appreciate the positive marks.
Cheers!

 
 

Nima from Shiraz
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Best pos

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

Great organization from start till you go live and start using it, unbelievable customer service, nice people.

 
 

Khaled from Mlabbas
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Revel POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

Amazing experience so far. After using more than one ERP software FINALLY we found Revel

 
 

Alisha from Dayhome
Specialty: Apparel & fashion
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2016

December 2016

A Okay

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

This product does run very smoothly and has a lot of functions and is very easy on the eyes and mind, however i found it "slowed" down after all inventory was inputted! Very good product though! Only other downfall would be price! it cost a pretty fortune which is the reason i switched!

 
 

Lucas from Farmers Market
Specialty: Grocery / supermarket
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2016

December 2016

Scary service reviews.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

Never even bought it, after reading online complaints decided to use shopkeep instead.

Pros

Can do everything.

Cons

Apparently with no customer service to show you how to do everything

Advice to Others

None, didn't actually buy software license.

 
 

Lisa from Beach Funatic
Specialty: Toys / hobby shop
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

December 2016

December 2016

Wild about Revel Systems

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

We decided to turn in the old fashion cash register and purchase a Point of Sale system. We decided on the Revel System, and after one season I can't say enough about the system, features and the customer support. It is intuitive so easy to train new employees. Great purchase order features along with a re-order feature.

Pros

Ease of entering items, cost, reports created, and customer support.

Cons

None at this time...

Advice to Others

We purchased the entire system hardware included and it has made our inventory control a breeze.

  Response: Sarah, Revel Systems Inc.

Date: December 2016

December 2016

 

Hi Lisa,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Software Advice.

I am so glad to hear that Revel is working so well for your shop!

Cheers,
Sarah, Community Manager, Revel Systems

 
 

David from Java Station
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

November 2016

November 2016

Revel review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

product is fine. set-up, menu load, training was incompetent and ineffective

Pros

it is easy to use and modify

Cons

customer support is attentive but incompetent

Advice to Others

find local support

 
 

James from Madison Kitchen
Specialty: Restaurant
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

November 2016

November 2016

Happy Early Adopter of Revel Systems

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

I was an ‘early adopter’ buying my Revel Systems POS in late 2012. My business has more than doubled and I credit Revel Systems as integral to that success. We started with one iPad, but within 6 months seamlessly added the second. I personally built the backend and found it intuitive and relatively easy once you commit to understanding the basics.
I have felt some of Revels ‘growing pains’ over the years, however ultimately I always had my issue resolved, which all too often were a ‘user error’ situation. I also have experiences where Revel made changes to the system, which were not beneficial to me. I reached, complained, and ultimately they reintroduced the feature that I missed.
For those looking to start with Revel today benefit from all the capital and advancements implemented in the last 4 years. If or when I expand beyond my original location, I will use Revel Systems again. I have experience with Aloha, Dinnerware, and Maitre D and much prefer Revel Systems.

Pros

Unlimited expand-ability
Remote access to information
Clean, simple iPad based POS

Cons

Rapid changes that ultimately benefit me, but sometimes I'm not ready for
Managing Apple's updates with Revel's new builds

Advice to Others

Give Revel a good look, comparing features and value, I think you'll see Revel has the most to offer. Realize, if you are changing from an existing POS other than Revel, the change is going to be tough no matter what system you are moving to.

 
 

Ariday from Ramos Wood Floors
Specialty: Manufacturing & wholesale
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

November 2016

November 2016

Ariday's Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Ease-of-use
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support

It helped us make our sale smoothly and on time and not time consuming for work. All my employees enjoyed this system.

 
 
 
Write a Review