TherapyAppointment Software


TherapyAppointment is a web-based HIPAA-compliant solution designed to serve small to midsize mental health practices. The solution allows professionals to create session documentation, file insurance claims electronically, record medical treatments, document client's protected health information and more.

TherapyAppointment enables paperless clinical procedure workflows, as well as online document storage. TherapyAppointment’s Autopilot feature provides real-time information about patient appointments (e.g., notes, reminders, copays) in sync with the flow of patients. It also allows for automated sharing of appointment reminders via phone call, email or text message.

TherapyAppointment allows physicians to set up a self-service portal for patients, where they can book appointments and pay fees online. Doctors and staff can upload images and documents, share records and also set restrictions for each file and folder.

The system also integrates with other modules, including electronic medical record (EMR), scheduling, billing, insurance claim management and mental health management.

Appointment scheduler
Appointment scheduler

Appointment scheduler

Client invoicing

Client invoicing

Electronic insurance billing

Electronic insurance billing

Online scheduling

Online scheduling

Sharing clinical notes

Sharing clinical notes

Login page

Login page

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Mac OS, Linux, HP-UX, AIX, Solaris, Unix, IBM OS/400, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000, Windows 8



51 Reviews of TherapyAppointment

Overall rating

4.0 / 5 stars

Write a review

Showing 1 - 20 of 51 reviews

Start your review of TherapyAppointment

Write a review

Sima from The Harm Reduction Psychotherapy Institute, LLC

Specialty:  Psychology/therapy

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

November 2018

Revolutionized My Practice

Therapy Appointment has changed my professional life- the way I leave daily having fully charted, sent out bills as well as been reminded to respond to things important. It seems amazing to me that the staff at TA answers the phone with any question I’ve had- even the owner/ developer answers the tech call sometimes and you feel like you are talking to a friend! I know some of the staff’s names- they remember me- help solve my problems- even help me relax and see they’ve got it- it’s incredible. Therapy Appointment is user friendly and seems so sophisticated in its reminders it’s almost scary accurate - like artificial intelligence. I could not even write all that Therapy Appointment has been a part of revolutionizing my practice- let alone quicker income from efficient submission of claims- I haven’t left my building in months with a mistake or misfiled claim- the software is designed to help you submit without one error! I thank you so much Therapy Appointment! Sima, Washington DC, Virginia and Maryland.

Pros

Almost no one forgets or misses their appointments due to very professional non intrusive auto reminders, User friendly, TA error checking for you, reminders for client and therspist( birthday, bills, everything) , ability to send print a receipt in sevinds( it’s something I’ve never had- previous fumbling, searching and after hours find- not here it’s at most in 30 seconds!

Cons

I’m wishing for the reminder for a client not seen in a month to be personalized by me( not saying to call office) but staff said they are working on it after my call( and they will)- total trust in Therapy Appointment staff!

Review Source
LinkedIn icon
Verified Reviewer

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

October 2018

Small Therapy Office

It makes my life 10 times easier! But we still need clients to fill out information on paper because they have a difficult time setting up and using their accounts properly.

Pros

I'm the billing assistant in the office. My favorite part is that it makes billing insurance companies so much easier and faster. It also tells me when I'm missing information in a client's file.

Cons

One of the features allows clients to create their own accounts in the system. Their system is so different from the one I use. It's difficult for them to access it without explicit instructions every time. It's not user friendly for ages 40+ from what I've found. It's also a pain to re-bill under a different CPT code if it's already been submitted once before under a different specific code.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

November 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're glad TherapyAppointment makes your life easier! We are always working to make our software better, so appreciate your feedback on the patient portal and billing CPT codes. The patient portal in V2.0, our next upgrade, was built with user-friendliness in mind and we think you'll love it! Also, our team of billing experts is happy to take a look at this billing issue as well -- please give us a call and we'll see what we can do to help!

kristie from The Counseling Center at TTUHSC

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

October 2018

I use TA in my private practice and which I could use it at the Univeristy I work for.

It is a good software for a good price. I like the simplicity.

Pros

Therapy appointments is easy to use. The scheduling and notes are simple and quick. I like that I can check appt. from my phone.

Cons

As of yet it does not support televisits which is becoming more and more important. The software is not customizable.

Review Source

Nicole from RCWC

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

September 2018

Good functionality but not very pretty

Pros

Very easy to use and intuitive. I like the statistics function and the reports I can run. Like that you can share files.

Cons

Can’t do room assignments. Isn’t very pretty. Would love if it could sync with google or outlook calendar

Review Source

Response: Emily, Psych Select Software LLC

September 2018

Hi Nicole, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you've found TherapyAppointment easy to use and intuitive. Also, glad the stats and reports have helped! Our goal is to help simplify managing a practice so that you can focus on patients, not paperwork -- it sounds like this has proved true for your practice! We do hear you loud and clear on the look of the platform -- this is definitely being addressed in Version 2.0, which will be released in late 2018. our testers have reported that it's clean and modern, yet still intuitive and easy to use. We've noted adding room assignments and syncing with calendars! This is something our dev team will love to know, so thanks for the feedback!

Lori from Mental Health Care

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

July 2018

streamlined my practice, trustworthy,

Pros

Therapy Appointment is dependable, ease to use, paperless option, everything in one place. My clients and I depend on it for scheduling, finances, and notes.

Cons

I wish they had a Hippa-compliant video session option. I know they're working on it!!! I'd rather not sign up with another app.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

September 2018

Hi Lori! Thank you for your review, and we are so glad to hear that TherapyAppointment helped you streamline your practice! You're right, a HIPAA compliant video session is on the roadmap! Version 2.0 will be rolled out later this year, and we are excited to incorporate the features that will help make managing your practice and communicating with your clients easier. Keep the feedback coming -- you listen for a living, and so do we! Thanks again!

Shondra from River City Psychological Services

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

June 2018

Nice overall product with a few fixes needed

Overall, it is a great product there are just a few tweaks that would be helpful

Pros

Ease of use - learning the software is extremely easy. Data entry is simple and managing patient database is easy and straightforward.

Cons

No insurance history is kept (if someone gets new insurance, you have to eliminate the old information to put the new insurance in)

Review Source

Christine from Long Grove Psych Associates

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

May 2018

TherapyAppointment is a great tool for psychologists!

A great tool for psychologists and therapists for a one stop shop as far as scheduling, note taking, and billing!

Pros

I like the ease of use, the reports, customer service help and the ease of electronic billing as well. I love that it shoots out a reminder of the appointment to my clients. They love that too!

Cons

I have had complaints from clients that they do not understand the bills. They are sort of confusing and probably gives more data on them that is needed.

Review Source

JudyAnn from Bar JD

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

April 2018

Effective and conscientious about security.

Pros

I like this software because of the security. The billing department has more control over small things. I've worked with it for a couple years and figured out many of the tools. I use the monthly calendar view constantly to present open date/times. The interface isn't going to win any beauty prizes, but it does work very effectively and that is what really matters.

Cons

Separate calendars for each therapist require a lot of clicking back and forth.
Patients are sorted by surname only. (Work around; present all old patients and do a control F search)

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

September 2018

Hi JudyAnn, Thanks for your honest feedback! We are so glad to hear that TherapyAppointment has made your billing department's job a little easier and that it gives you more control over the small things that might otherwise fall through the cracks. We know managing a practice isn't easy, and we are happy that we can help! You're right about our user interface, but we're excited for you to take a look at the new software later this year! We think you'll find it clean and modern (and hopefully a candidate for one of those beauty prizes!) Thanks again for your review. Again, we really appreciate your time and feedback.

LinkedIn icon
Verified Reviewer

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

April 2018

Excellent, offers the possibility of administering the mental health practice.

The benefits are diverse and stand out: session documentation, Medicare PQRS reports, automatic patient account accounts, the attached EOB report to patient sessions. track the dates and amounts of insurance, check / direct deposit, offers the Patient Portal and among other things, appointment reminders are made.

Pros

I like most is that it offers the possibility of managing the mental health practice of an individual or group, this sofware has allowed me to document the session
ensuring compliance with HIPAA with structured notes, treatment plan reports and separate psychotherapy notes. Also allows you to mark notes and create custom templates.

Cons

I like the least is that you can neglect the responsibility of developing the ability to remember individual or group information because you can retrieve and access with this software, mental health records are not always mechanical, there is qualitative information that can not always be recorded in this software.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

September 2018

Hi! Thanks for your feedback and for using TherapyAppointment. We are glad you've found our software helpful in administering your practice! We are excited for you to take a look at the new version when it is released later this year!

Laura from Laura Thompson Ph.D.

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

February 2018

Excellent Electronic medical record and billing software

Pros

I like the ease of writing clinical notes, keeping a schedule, and using these to file claims through the system.

Cons

It is a little expensive for the solo practitioner. The cost adds to monthly overhead which solo practitioners must keep low. It's efficiency at filing claims does make it worth it.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

September 2018

Hi Laura, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review, and thanks for being a valued member of the TherapyAppointment community! We are so happy that our software has been a helpful solution to help you grow your solo practice. And we completely understand how tough being a solo practitioner can be -- our founder was one himself! To that end, we've set up a variety of transparent, no-hidden-fees pricing options to help. So whether you're just getting started and see less than 10 clients, or are building your practice and seeing up to 40, we've created plans that can help you grow. And, it's worth noting that all packages include the full version of the software and on-the-phone, person to person support. Our software also includes practice statistics to manage your growing business and billing tools to ensure your focus is on patients, not paperwork. We want to see you succeed, and are here to help! Thanks again for your review! :D

LISA from LISA A GALLAGHER PSYD

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  1 employee

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

February 2018

Follows the work flow of a psychotherapist, saving time and making it easy to complete notes and send claims.

It may not look as pretty as competitors (but an upgrade is in the works), but it is priced for non MD budgets, works consistently effectively and is great value for the time and financial investment required. I love being free of paper.

Pros

Easy, cost effective, and clients LOVE the online scheduling, appointment reminders and email bills. It follows work flow so I don't waste time clicking from window to window. Customer service has been quick, responsive and effective every time over the last 5 years.

Cons

No to do list on the margin of all screens, would like a list of important history as a margin in patient prog notes, would like to send/receive/autoscore assessment tools, would like printing of notes to be an easier process.

Review Source

Pam from Pathfinders Counseling and Consulting

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

February 2018

Our company uses this and I love it.

Pros

It's super easy to navigate, with internal communication and I can access all of our providers, no matter what state they are in, with just the click of the mouse.

Cons

I haven't figured out how to delete an Insurance Co. LOL. I wish a refund, of any amount, was possible to make. If a patient over pays it has to be left as a credit or refund the entire amount.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

September 2018

Hi Pam, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you are part of our community and that our cloud-based software has made managing a dispersed practice a breeze. Sorry for the delay on this response, but please do feel free to give our Support Desk a call at 1(800) 242-2127 whenever you have questions. We can help anytime you have concerns like this! We've also created a pretty large library of help topics here: https://therapyappointment.desk.com/ Please let us know if we can help with anything! Thanks for being a valued TherapyAppointment customer!

Sola from The Lifeworks Group

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

November 2017

Great product

Even though there are a number of redundant features because we are a self-pay private practice and don't work with insurance, it has certainly made our scheduling process easier and more streamlined

Pros

Easy to use and quite intuitive. The training is helpful but we have not needed a lot of customer support - even though it is available - because the software is quite user-friendly

Cons

I understand the use of various colors to distinguish availability, payment status, etc, but the choice of colors used are not exactly easy on the eyes

Review Source

Caitlin from Hope Springs Behavioral Consultants

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

November 2017

Great customer service!

Pros

TherapyAppointment is very simple to use and easy to understand and navigate. It is a great system for a small practice or individual provider.

Cons

Notes were lacking structure integrated in the system. We found that, without copying and pasting our own structure with state requirements, it was easy to miss required pieces.

Review Source

Christine from Compassionate heart counseling

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  1 employee

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Functionality

October 2017

Easy to use

Pros

I like that it sends reminders to my clients automatically. I also like how easy it is for my clients to login and check my schedule and schedule themselves.

Cons

I wish clients were able to fill out and sign my consent forms and releases to avoid having to do them in my sessions.

Review Source

Malarie from A Balanced Life, Inc

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

August 2017

Great for small practice or one provider.

This system is inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. It serves its purpose, but if you are looking for something with bells and whistles, this may not be for you. Want something simple that makes scheduling easy? Then you may have found the perfect system for you.

Pros

The scheduling function is really easy. Integrated credit card processing allows for easy check in and payment, right from the schedule. It is easy to use, and the minimal functionality keeps the system from getting overwhelming. It is completely cloud based for easy access from any device with internet access. I haven't used customer support much, but when I have, the response time was almost immediate and all my questions were answered.

Cons

Functionality is limited. There is no ability to create invoices from the system, so we have to use an external system for billing. It is very manual. If you don't do much external billing, or if you can submit insurance claims completely electronically, or you are completely private pay, this system would be perfect. Another con is that when you add a new patient, that patient must be added under a single provider, not under the practice. If one patient sees multiple providers, that patient will end up with multiple records and multiple accounts. It can get quite confusing for note taking, payments, and data updating. If they change their address, you have to update a bunch of records, not just one!

Review Source

Brad from Pathfinders Counseling and Consulting

Number of employees:  51-200 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

August 2017

I have used this product for years and love it.

Easiest practice management software that I have found. Their tech support is outstanding and you actually get to deal with people who work at the company and understand the system! All requests over the years have been resolved quickly!

Pros

All in one system for managing your practice. This is by far the easiest and most complete system I have found for scheduling, billing, accounting, and charting.

Cons

There are very few cons to list. Perhaps the only gripe I have (and it has long since been resolved) was some server downtime when they were transitioning to a new server. When everything is integrated into one program downtime is disastrous when you have several providers.

Review Source: Capterra

Sola from The Lifeworks Group

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

July 2017

User-friendly program

Pros

The software is easy to use and understand. Learning curve is minimal. Tech support is helpful and responds in a timely fashion

Cons

The choice of colors is not very easy on the eyes. I understand the reason to have it color coded, but the choice of colors could be better

joey from LifeWorks Counseling Center

Specialty:  Mental & behavioral health

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Functionality

June 2017

Not meant for large practices

Pros

I enjoy the customization of medical record notes and the separation from your psychotherapy notes.

Cons

Servers go down from time to time; minimal integration between providers of the same practice. messaging system not user friendly

Sima from The Harm Reduction Psychotherapy Institute, LLC

Specialty:  Psychology/therapy

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

June 2017

UNBELIEVABLE RELIEF OF PRESSURE ON ME AS A THERAPIST

Can I just tell you that in 3 years I've never left my building but perhaps 2-3 times without every note being completed, every bill submitted to insurance panels! I had an arguous and ineffective employee for 10 years before I found Therapy Appointment that forgot to bill, forgot to submit, forgot to attend to errors( some we never knew for years- I mean years). It's almost been error free for us since using Therapy Appointment to " shepherd" us to remember- I mean It alerts you to everything- it's unbelievable! If a person feels they can find better, I'd love to see how- it has given me an ability to go home after entering my work, get timely paid( for the 1st time in all those years)- I'm not being theatrical- it's amazing!

Pros

Always a live person helped me trouble shoot- and I mean fast!
ease of use
Keeps me disciplined
Saves me time
never a HIPPA problem shields me largely from an easy error
Thorough
I've never been this organized

Cons

I can tell you if people complain and not be understanding of " rough waters" and adjustment errors during software upgrades and apparent hackers- then they have really missed the point of how Therapy Appointment has " knocked it out of the park" 99% of the time! Yes, this rough patch happened a few times but each time they jumped on it with full attention.


Displaying 1 - 20 of 51 reviews