TherapyAppointment software


48 reviews(4.0/5)
48 reviews(4.0/5)

TherapyAppointment is a web-based HIPAA-compliant solution designed to serve small to midsize mental health practices. The solution allows professionals to create session documentation, file insurance claims electronically, record medical treatments, document client's protected health information and more.

TherapyAppointment enables paperless clinical procedure workflows, as well as online document storage. TherapyAppointment’s Autopilot feature provides real-time information about patient appointments (e.g., notes, reminders, copays) in sync with the flow of patients. It also allows for automated sharing of appointment reminders via phone call, email or text message.

TherapyAppointment allows physicians to set up a self-service portal for patients, where they can book appointments and pay fees online. Doctors and staff can upload images and documents, share records and also set restrictions for each file and folder.

The system also integrates with other modules, including electronic medical record (EMR), scheduling, billing, insurance claim management and mental health management.

Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7 , Windows Vista , Windows XP , Mac OS , Linux , HP-UX , AIX , Solaris , Unix , IBM OS/400 , Web browser (OS agnostic) , Windows 2000 , Windows 8

48 Reviews of TherapyAppointment

Showing 1 - 20 of 48

Start your review of TherapyAppointment

Click to start
  • Nicole from RCWC

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    September 2018

    Good functionality but not very pretty

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Very easy to use and intuitive. I like the statistics function and the reports I can run. Like that you can share files.

    Cons

    Can’t do room assignments. Isn’t very pretty. Would love if it could sync with google or outlook calendar

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source

    Response: Emily, Psych Select Software LLC

    September 2018

    Hi Nicole, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you've found TherapyAppointment easy to use and intuitive. Also, glad the stats and reports have helped! Our goal is to help simplify managing a practice so that you can focus on patients, not paperwork -- it sounds like this has proved true for your practice! We do hear you loud and clear on the look of the platform -- this is definitely being addressed in Version 2.0, which will be released in late 2018. our testers have reported that it's clean and modern, yet still intuitive and easy to use. We've noted adding room assignments and syncing with calendars! This is something our dev team will love to know, so thanks for the feedback!

  • Lori from Mental Health Care

    July 2018

    streamlined my practice, trustworthy,

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Therapy Appointment is dependable, ease to use, paperless option, everything in one place. My clients and I depend on it for scheduling, finances, and notes.

    Cons

    I wish they had a Hippa-compliant video session option. I know they're working on it!!! I'd rather not sign up with another app.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

    September 2018

    Hi Lori! Thank you for your review, and we are so glad to hear that TherapyAppointment helped you streamline your practice! You're right, a HIPAA compliant video session is on the roadmap! Version 2.0 will be rolled out later this year, and we are excited to incorporate the features that will help make managing your practice and communicating with your clients easier. Keep the feedback coming -- you listen for a living, and so do we! Thanks again!

  • Shondra from River City Psychological Services

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    June 2018

    Nice overall product with a few fixes needed

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Overall, it is a great product there are just a few tweaks that would be helpful

    Pros

    Ease of use - learning the software is extremely easy. Data entry is simple and managing patient database is easy and straightforward.

    Cons

    No insurance history is kept (if someone gets new insurance, you have to eliminate the old information to put the new insurance in)

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Christine from Long Grove Psych Associates

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    May 2018

    TherapyAppointment is a great tool for psychologists!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    A great tool for psychologists and therapists for a one stop shop as far as scheduling, note taking, and billing!

    Pros

    I like the ease of use, the reports, customer service help and the ease of electronic billing as well. I love that it shoots out a reminder of the appointment to my clients. They love that too!

    Cons

    I have had complaints from clients that they do not understand the bills. They are sort of confusing and probably gives more data on them that is needed.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • JudyAnn from Bar JD

    April 2018

    Effective and conscientious about security.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I like this software because of the security. The billing department has more control over small things. I've worked with it for a couple years and figured out many of the tools. I use the monthly calendar view constantly to present open date/times. The interface isn't going to win any beauty prizes, but it does work very effectively and that is what really matters.

    Cons

    Separate calendars for each therapist require a lot of clicking back and forth.
    Patients are sorted by surname only. (Work around; present all old patients and do a control F search)

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

    September 2018

    Hi JudyAnn, Thanks for your honest feedback! We are so glad to hear that TherapyAppointment has made your billing department's job a little easier and that it gives you more control over the small things that might otherwise fall through the cracks. We know managing a practice isn't easy, and we are happy that we can help! You're right about our user interface, but we're excited for you to take a look at the new software later this year! We think you'll find it clean and modern (and hopefully a candidate for one of those beauty prizes!) Thanks again for your review. Again, we really appreciate your time and feedback.

  • Verified Reviewer

    April 2018

    Excellent, offers the possibility of administering the mental health practice.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    The benefits are diverse and stand out: session documentation, Medicare PQRS reports, automatic patient account accounts, the attached EOB report to patient sessions. track the dates and amounts of insurance, check / direct deposit, offers the Patient Portal and among other things, appointment reminders are made.

    Pros

    I like most is that it offers the possibility of managing the mental health practice of an individual or group, this sofware has allowed me to document the session
    ensuring compliance with HIPAA with structured notes, treatment plan reports and separate psychotherapy notes. Also allows you to mark notes and create custom templates.

    Cons

    I like the least is that you can neglect the responsibility of developing the ability to remember individual or group information because you can retrieve and access with this software, mental health records are not always mechanical, there is qualitative information that can not always be recorded in this software.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

    September 2018

    Hi! Thanks for your feedback and for using TherapyAppointment. We are glad you've found our software helpful in administering your practice! We are excited for you to take a look at the new version when it is released later this year!

  • Laura from Laura Thompson Ph.D.

    February 2018

    Excellent Electronic medical record and billing software

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I like the ease of writing clinical notes, keeping a schedule, and using these to file claims through the system.

    Cons

    It is a little expensive for the solo practitioner. The cost adds to monthly overhead which solo practitioners must keep low. It's efficiency at filing claims does make it worth it.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

    September 2018

    Hi Laura, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review, and thanks for being a valued member of the TherapyAppointment community! We are so happy that our software has been a helpful solution to help you grow your solo practice. And we completely understand how tough being a solo practitioner can be -- our founder was one himself! To that end, we've set up a variety of transparent, no-hidden-fees pricing options to help. So whether you're just getting started and see less than 10 clients, or are building your practice and seeing up to 40, we've created plans that can help you grow. And, it's worth noting that all packages include the full version of the software and on-the-phone, person to person support. Our software also includes practice statistics to manage your growing business and billing tools to ensure your focus is on patients, not paperwork. We want to see you succeed, and are here to help! Thanks again for your review! :D

  • LISA from LISA A GALLAGHER PSYD

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    February 2018

    Follows the work flow of a psychotherapist, saving time and making it easy to complete notes and send claims.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    It may not look as pretty as competitors (but an upgrade is in the works), but it is priced for non MD budgets, works consistently effectively and is great value for the time and financial investment required. I love being free of paper.

    Pros

    Easy, cost effective, and clients LOVE the online scheduling, appointment reminders and email bills. It follows work flow so I don't waste time clicking from window to window. Customer service has been quick, responsive and effective every time over the last 5 years.

    Cons

    No to do list on the margin of all screens, would like a list of important history as a margin in patient prog notes, would like to send/receive/autoscore assessment tools, would like printing of notes to be an easier process.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Pam from Pathfinders Counseling and Consulting

    February 2018

    Our company uses this and I love it.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    It's super easy to navigate, with internal communication and I can access all of our providers, no matter what state they are in, with just the click of the mouse.

    Cons

    I haven't figured out how to delete an Insurance Co. LOL. I wish a refund, of any amount, was possible to make. If a patient over pays it has to be left as a credit or refund the entire amount.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Psych Select Software, Psych Select Software LLC

    September 2018

    Hi Pam, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you are part of our community and that our cloud-based software has made managing a dispersed practice a breeze. Sorry for the delay on this response, but please do feel free to give our Support Desk a call at 1(800) 242-2127 whenever you have questions. We can help anytime you have concerns like this! We've also created a pretty large library of help topics here: https://therapyappointment.desk.com/ Please let us know if we can help with anything! Thanks for being a valued TherapyAppointment customer!

  • Sola from The Lifeworks Group

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    November 2017

    Great product

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Even though there are a number of redundant features because we are a self-pay private practice and don't work with insurance, it has certainly made our scheduling process easier and more streamlined

    Pros

    Easy to use and quite intuitive. The training is helpful but we have not needed a lot of customer support - even though it is available - because the software is quite user-friendly

    Cons

    I understand the use of various colors to distinguish availability, payment status, etc, but the choice of colors used are not exactly easy on the eyes

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Caitlin from Hope Springs Behavioral Consultants

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    November 2017

    Great customer service!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    TherapyAppointment is very simple to use and easy to understand and navigate. It is a great system for a small practice or individual provider.

    Cons

    Notes were lacking structure integrated in the system. We found that, without copying and pasting our own structure with state requirements, it was easy to miss required pieces.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Christine from Compassionate heart counseling

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    October 2017

    Easy to use

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I like that it sends reminders to my clients automatically. I also like how easy it is for my clients to login and check my schedule and schedule themselves.

    Cons

    I wish clients were able to fill out and sign my consent forms and releases to avoid having to do them in my sessions.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Malarie from A Balanced Life, Inc

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    August 2017

    Great for small practice or one provider.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    This system is inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. It serves its purpose, but if you are looking for something with bells and whistles, this may not be for you. Want something simple that makes scheduling easy? Then you may have found the perfect system for you.

    Pros

    The scheduling function is really easy. Integrated credit card processing allows for easy check in and payment, right from the schedule. It is easy to use, and the minimal functionality keeps the system from getting overwhelming. It is completely cloud based for easy access from any device with internet access. I haven't used customer support much, but when I have, the response time was almost immediate and all my questions were answered.

    Cons

    Functionality is limited. There is no ability to create invoices from the system, so we have to use an external system for billing. It is very manual. If you don't do much external billing, or if you can submit insurance claims completely electronically, or you are completely private pay, this system would be perfect. Another con is that when you add a new patient, that patient must be added under a single provider, not under the practice. If one patient sees multiple providers, that patient will end up with multiple records and multiple accounts. It can get quite confusing for note taking, payments, and data updating. If they change their address, you have to update a bunch of records, not just one!

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Brad from Pathfinders Counseling and Consulting

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    August 2017

    I have used this product for years and love it.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Easiest practice management software that I have found. Their tech support is outstanding and you actually get to deal with people who work at the company and understand the system! All requests over the years have been resolved quickly!

    Pros

    All in one system for managing your practice. This is by far the easiest and most complete system I have found for scheduling, billing, accounting, and charting.

    Cons

    There are very few cons to list. Perhaps the only gripe I have (and it has long since been resolved) was some server downtime when they were transitioning to a new server. When everything is integrated into one program downtime is disastrous when you have several providers.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Sola from The Lifeworks Group

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    July 2017

    User-friendly program

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The software is easy to use and understand. Learning curve is minimal. Tech support is helpful and responds in a timely fashion

    Cons

    The choice of colors is not very easy on the eyes. I understand the reason to have it color coded, but the choice of colors could be better

  • joey from LifeWorks Counseling Center

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    June 2017

    Not meant for large practices

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Pros

    I enjoy the customization of medical record notes and the separation from your psychotherapy notes.

    Cons

    Servers go down from time to time; minimal integration between providers of the same practice. messaging system not user friendly

  • Sima from The Harm Reduction Psychotherapy Institute, LLC

    Specialty: Psychology/therapy

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    June 2017

    UNBELIEVABLE RELIEF OF PRESSURE ON ME AS A THERAPIST

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Can I just tell you that in 3 years I've never left my building but perhaps 2-3 times without every note being completed, every bill submitted to insurance panels! I had an arguous and ineffective employee for 10 years before I found Therapy Appointment that forgot to bill, forgot to submit, forgot to attend to errors( some we never knew for years- I mean years). It's almost been error free for us since using Therapy Appointment to " shepherd" us to remember- I mean It alerts you to everything- it's unbelievable! If a person feels they can find better, I'd love to see how- it has given me an ability to go home after entering my work, get timely paid( for the 1st time in all those years)- I'm not being theatrical- it's amazing!

    Pros

    Always a live person helped me trouble shoot- and I mean fast!
    ease of use
    Keeps me disciplined
    Saves me time
    never a HIPPA problem shields me largely from an easy error
    Thorough
    I've never been this organized

    Cons

    I can tell you if people complain and not be understanding of " rough waters" and adjustment errors during software upgrades and apparent hackers- then they have really missed the point of how Therapy Appointment has " knocked it out of the park" 99% of the time! Yes, this rough patch happened a few times but each time they jumped on it with full attention.

  • Amy from CNP

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    June 2017

    Expect Outages

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I am in the process of switching over to a different system.

    Pros

    Easy to use, you can make some very basic templates if you want.
    No significant training needed to get started
    Low cost

    Cons

    Frequent outages
    Poor customer service - I asked for a partial credit due to significant outages and was arrogantly told that the electric company does not issue credits, and the most they would do would be to remove the outage time from the last bill when I decided to leave their system.
    They have promised an update for a while now, and still no ETA.
    Templates are very basic, you can only make a template with text, no check boxes, etc.

    Response: Denise, Psych Select Software LLC

    June 2017

    We have continued to test the software changes made in response to the recent service outages. and are convinced that the problem caused by by our new password encryption system using too many resources and crashing the system has been resolved. We also have a compensation policy that you will likely not find from most software companies. Here is our policy: we consider any service outage that lasts for more than one hour to have a significant impact on the utility of our system. For this reason, we consider any day with outages totaling more than 60 minutes to be a "lost day of service" for which compensation is appropriate. We count four such days in the last month; therefore, we will be giving credit for four days of service. This is consistent with the End User License Agreement that you accepted as a precondition for use of our system. We understand that you may rely upon TherapyAppointment as a locus of organization of your practice, and recognize that a system outage can disrupt the operations of your practice. We will continue to strive for consistent service delivery; we believe that the recent problems are resolved.

  • Sherry from Lifeworks Counseling Center

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    When it's up and running, it's good. Not great, but good

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    N/A
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The system is good, there are many improvements that need to be done. It's better than doing everything manually.

    Cons

    The amount of time that the system is down, especially lately. You can't even get a hold of anyone, not even to leave a message. No customer service person when the system goes down, they don't answer the phone.

  • Lindsey from Self Employed

    Specialty: Mental & behavioral health

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    May 2017

    Looking for a new software

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    My office of colleague are sadly looking elsewhere for our EMR.

    Pros

    user friendly and customer service is very helpful and kind. Love the 24 hour text message reminders to my clients.

    Cons

    The site is "out of service" often and refunds are not offered. I would not be concerned for a refund if this was not a regular occurrence, but unfortunately this is becoming a familiar pattern. My other concern is I have two different office locations and the software does not allow myself or clients to distinguish between the two offices when signing up for sessions.

Do you use TherapyAppointment?Write a Review
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 686-5616