Valant EHR Suite

RATING:

4.1

(280)

About Valant EHR Suite

Valant’s Behavioral Health EHR and Practice Management Software includes all the tools you need to provide exceptional individual and group care while running a successful private practice. Unlike other non-specialized EMR software, Valant is built exclusively for behavioral health. It is designed to increase the administrative and clinical efficiency of your practice and includes built-in outcome measures, billing, reporting, telehealth, clinical documentation, and patient engagement and communication tools – all tailored to the unique needs of mental health. Access the only integrated tool that streamlines your prospective patient process. Receive requests for services directly in your EHR, manage new patient inquiries, and get an automatic data-driven analysis of y...

Valant EHR Suite Pricing

Valant offers pricing plans for therapy and psychiatry practices as well as billing agencies. Book a demo for quote details and get started with no implementation fees.

Starting price: 

$120.00 per month

Free trial: 

Not Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Valant's customizable dashboard keeps you organized and on task. See upcoming appointments, to-do lists, and documentation status in a quick-view format.
Slide 1 of 6

Valant EHR Suite Reviews

Overall Rating

4.1

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

Most Helpful Reviews for Valant EHR Suite

1 - 5 of 280 Reviews

Kenneth

1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed June 2021

Well suited my my solo practice and for expanding its use to other clinicians

Teresa

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Highly recommended!

The business benefits include a significant decrease in time spent on administrative tasks and documentation leaving me more time for clients, myself, and reducing my overall stress level. Additional business benefits include increased confidence for accuracy in billing and being paid in a timely manner, also increased confidence that my clinical documentation will meet or exceed audit requirements. And as a clinician, it enhances my ability to provide more meaningful assessments to clients.

PROS

Valant is a clinically comprehensive and sound software that is intuitive to practitioners and user-friendly. It provides exceptional options to support top-notch clinical documentation, organize and track all functions in charts, scheduling, and billing, it includes customizable options for calendars, documents, notes, treatment plans, and so on. Using this software makes my record-keeping and all other administrative tasks easy, fast, accurate, and saves me valuable time and provides excellent security and peace of mind. Also, their customer support is the best I have ever encountered.

CONS

Integration with my previous business was quick and easy. I find all the features exceed my expectations. I did not find the webinars particularly helpful; although they were well-organized, for me they moved too fast through too much new information and I wasn't able to grasp or retain it well. The ability to grasp the user skills was greatly enhanced by the Knowledge Base provided and by patient and knowledgeable customer service personnel that could walk me through some processes and explain things and answer questions during the process.

Reason for choosing Valant EHR Suite

Valant had many more and higher quality options for both clinical and administrative tasks.

Reasons for switching to Valant EHR Suite

I went into business from a group practice to a solo practice, and I had found TheraNest, which the group practice used, to be unsatisfactory clinically and cumbersome and confusing to use.

Elizabeth

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Valant EHR Review

I am very glad that we decided to go with Valant.

PROS

Valant was the best choice for our behavioral health clinic. They continue to update and expand features that have improved the functioning of our system. It has saved time and worked well with our systems. Billing was a major improvement and linking to our Calander and notes was essential.

CONS

There are some features in the assessment and MTP that could be improved for our particular uses. Also billing is slightly complicated and could be simplified with some small adjustments. I do however appreciate the flexibility.

Reason for choosing Valant EHR Suite

There were other products not listed, however we met with each one extensively and found that Valant most closely met our needs at a price point that was affordable.

reid

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2020

terrible customer service

SLOW EMAIL CUSTOMER SERVICE, Currently, I have an email support request, now going on TWO WEEKS WITH NO HUMAN RESPONSE. Only automated "we got your message, but we're swamped. If you no longer need a reply, let us know. Otherwise please be patient we'll get to you when we can" canned replies. This is TYPICAL of several past email requests. Calling is difficult due to time-zone differences, so email is by far more practical for my solo practice.

PROS

fair pricing. reliable scheduler, albeit a little cumbersome and old-skool. integrated schedule / billing was fairly easy to submit in batches. mostly, i just keep using it because it's what I originally set up for my practice. I have buyer's remorse all the time.

CONS

For several YEARS (literally), Valant used outdated web technology (Silverlight) that was incompatible with several web browsers and the latest MacOS. They actually encouraged users NOT to update web browsers and desktop OS because it would break compatibility. I've had to DOWNGRADE my firefox browser to an old, obsolete, unsecure version because that was the only way I could access Valant on my Mac. POOR QUICK CLINICAL NOTES MODULE: they TRY to make click-click-click notes sound like "natural language," but colleagues got annoyed and felt like I was faxing them boilerplate notes. Sure notes meet billing requirements, but don't naturally capture actual patient encounters with nuance, which is important in mental health. The notes are several pages long, a waste of ink and paper for the amount of actual content. I stopped using their notes module altogether and went back to paper charts within 6months. It was embarrassing to send my Valant notes to consultants and PCPs.

Reason for choosing Valant EHR Suite

Their simple clinical notes module (clicking, dictating) looked promising, but after trying for six months I switched back to paper charts.

Vendor Response

Dr. Hamamoto, thank you for providing a review of Valant. We always appreciate the feedback good or bad. We are very sorry for your recent experience getting product support. Due to COVID, we have had a record number of requests creating a backlog with our support team, but we have made some adjustments and are rapidly improving response time. We pride ourselves on our high level of service and take this feedback very seriously. Regarding the Silverlight technology and notes module, we have recently released a new platform (IO) that offers a much-improved user experience and is compatible with modern browsers. We are transitioning existing customers to this new platform in waves. Our customer success team will be reaching out to you to discuss access to the new platform and provide support for any outstanding issues.

Replied June 2020

Carolina

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Review Valant

PROS

I like that everything EHR is in 1 place adn the system is user friendly

CONS

the times when the system server acts up bc then we cannot do anything

Reasons for switching to Valant EHR Suite

we wanted everything to be in 1 system-