Kareo Medical Billing Software


 

Kareo is a web-based medical billing and practice management solution used by medical practitioners and physicians across the United States. The system suits small practices and billing companies. With Kareo, practices can schedule patients, confirm insurance, manage delinquent accounts and the collections process, store patient documents, develop customized reports and more.

Kareo helps practices manage the complications involved in insurance billing. Medical staff can enter patient data and verify their insurance claims immediately. Kareo also provides a robust schedule and appointment reminder that helps practitioners schedule appointments with their patients and send appointment reminders to reduce no-shows. The built-in messaging feature allows practices to communicate with their billers, patients and employees. Other features include billing analytics, advanced claim processing, document management and agenda planner.

Kareo is ICD-10 compliant medical solution used across a wide variety of medical specialties, including mental health, family medicine, pediatrics, cardiology, chiropractic, podiatry and more.

 

Kareo Billing - Agenda
 
  • Kareo Billing - Agenda
    Agenda
  • Kareo Billing - Billing analytics
    Billing analytics
  • Kareo Billing - Calendar
    Calendar
  • Kareo Billing - Charges
    Charges
  • Kareo Billing - Insurance collections
    Insurance collections
Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000, Windows 8, Windows 10

444 Reviews of Kareo Billing

 

Start your review of Kareo Billing

Click to start
http://www.softwareadvice.com/medical/kareo-review/
Software Advice Reviews (320)
More Reviews (124)

Showing 1-20 of 320

richard from Dr Richard Charles
Specialty: Psychiatry
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

September 2017

September 2017

Easy to document and send scripts.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Scripts are not tedious to send. Pt documentation is easy to use. The format for finding pt is user friendly.

Cons

There is no stand alone eprescribing or part time options. The initial set up for controlled substances I thought could have been smoother.

 
 

Nayari from Behavioral Healthcare Services
Specialty: Mental & behavioral health
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

September 2017

September 2017

Looking for More Compatability with other Softwares

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Very user friendly, nice appearance, easily able to access topics, reports, and other clinical data such at progress reports with Quality and patient education. I do really like the help tips provided within the patient charts as well.

Cons

Lags quite a bit, occasionally experienced lost notes, does not provide auto-corrections on spelling errors.

 
 

Valerie from Reliable health services, inc.
Specialty: Psychiatry
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

September 2017

September 2017

Stay away from Kareo except you want nightmares and hardship

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Do not sign up with them. This is too much trouble. I have been dissappointed since the sign up.

Cons

They are unprofessional and the software is outdated and worthless. They will cause anyone much hardship and worries. Stay away from them. They have no help and do not know what they are doing. There is better out there. Do not believe anything their salesmen tell you.

 
 

Rebecca from Medicine with Mercy and Grace
Specialty: Family medicine
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

September 2017

September 2017

Customer service so poor you may never discover any redeeming benefits

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

I am puzzled by previous positive reviews that I read when researching products for a new practice compared to my experiences with other products in the past and my experiences in trying to implement Kareo. When Kareo was free, people must felt it sufficed and not worth complaining. The total lack of response to questions or complaints is surreal. I do not see how this company can survive. I'm trying to figure out whether to bail out now or try to adapt to get at least something from my investment of time so far.

Pros

It allows flexibility to structure notes to include narrative information.

Cons

Can't get answers to questions or any sensible follow up from startup coach who always states that he will check with a colleague and get back to us but never does. This is the worse customer service I have ever experienced in my life. Requests to talk with a supervisor lead nowhere. No one responds. Chat line staff sign off on problem tickets before reported problem resolved. Problems abound in almost every area--saved notes disappear without explanation, e-prescribing is cumbersome and not suited to work flow typical office practice. There is no training module and no instrcutions available for the e fax services through updox, no glossary of error messages, not reliable transmission to send or receive.

 
 

Thomas from Excel Medical Group
Specialty: Pain management
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

September 2017

September 2017

Kareo seemed to be thorough.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Variation...... The program seem to have significant variation on how to do things..................

Cons

Steep learning curve. It took quite a bit of trial and error.....It was somewhat difficult to learn.

 
 

Vincent from Modern Urgent Care
Specialty: Urgent care
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

August 2017

August 2017

Easy to use, but difficult to maintain in urgent care

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

One major draw for EMR systems is customizability, I feel with Kareo I wasn't able to customize the EMR to the providers' needs.

Pros

The system was easy to use, basically click on an area and type in your medical chart. Easy to use on most platforms (both Apple and PC).

Cons

Patient eligibility was faulty. The patients eligibility was "unable to be determined" more often than not, we had to use third party sites or call for verification of eligibility.

 
 

Chris from Alpha
Specialty: Other specialty
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

August 2017

August 2017

Get what you pay for

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

It's inexpensive so that's attractive for a small clinic. It's also helpful that it's cloud based .

Cons

The PM and EHR don't always work together. Scheduling is cumbersome. Former employees are still listed and can't be deleted. Customer support is poor.

 
 

Linda from Linda Buseman PMHNP, LLC
Specialty: Psychiatry
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

August 2017

August 2017

I began to use this system with templates that I created. I have used different systems and found this feature to be difficult. I have designed my own website so I am not a stranger to template making tasks.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A

I appreciate the discount for e prescribing only. I am a single person office, pay for a schedule system that is excellent and allows the pt. to prepay, and tech support is five + stars.

Pros

I can e prescribe and this is a great time saver. However, I would like to more easily print scripts for controlled substances without using 1 sheet per script. I treat ADHD and my patients often require 6 scripts.I do not use the scheduler, notes, etc. Because I do not take insurance, it appears that the insurance features would be beneficial. I also like the ability to find diagnoses for ICDM-10 by referencing ICDM-9.

Cons

One must find the pharmacy in demographics so as not to waste time. Using the prescription generator oftentimes will display those applicable pharmacies as does the demographics page.

 
 

Denise from Medical Office
Specialty: Internal medicine
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

August 2017

August 2017

Watch you AR!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Disappointing.

Pros

The system is fairly easy to use. Our original account representative was extremely helpful. When I would request certain reports, she would make sure that I received them monthly.

Cons

Watch you AR. If you commit to them the billing portion, they do not work your agin AR (even when I would call hem to find out the status.) Posting to patient's accounts would go to a line item, and not separated, which would make it look like the patient had a balance. Kareo (which is not located in the US) only does data entry for the insurance reimbursements, if there is a coding issue, they let it expire and do not have an issue with not collecting any funds. Also, if you don't stay on top of it, there are entries of write off's that the office is never informed of.

 
 

Val from VWE, LLC
Specialty: Family medicine
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

August 2017

August 2017

Great product at a good price

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Value for Money

Pros

The interface is straightforward and easy to understand. Integrates well with labs, pharmacies, etc. The billing and EMR functionality are priced separately and both very affordable.

Cons

Telemedicine capability is through integration with another company that charges per call, so that will take away a bit from the value-add of telemed, but overall very affordable.

 
 

REBECCA from Harmony Mental Health, Inc.
Specialty: Mental & behavioral health
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

August 2017

August 2017

We almost switched!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

The program was fast; switching from chart to chart or the calendar was much more efficient than our current software.

Cons

The interface was generic looking and not user friendly. Creating a new patient chart was very time consuming and not the easiest to understand.

 
 

Carla from MFHC
Specialty: Family medicine
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

August 2017

August 2017

Stay Away, there is better out there. Take the time to look.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Watch out - their billing practices are not honest. They will get you coming and going.

Pros

Great trainers (at least ours was). Not much else good to say - the salesman was slick, but from then on it was a nightmare.

Cons

Once past the initial set up, they are rude and support is not good. Software is not intuitive and certain features are not offered. No functionality for mid-level practitioners, non MD providers, etc.

 
 

Lawrence from Software Advice Test - Please remove
Specialty: Cardiology
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

August 2017

August 2017

Title your review - Sabat Automated review test case. Please feel free to remove it.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Your Review - Sabat Automated review test case. Please feel free to remove it.

Pros

Pros - Sabat Automated review test case. Please feel free to remove it.

Cons

Cons - Sabat Automated review test case. Please feel free to remove it.

 
 

Dr. Harshad from Dr. Harshad Patel MD PC
Specialty: Internal medicine
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

August 2017

August 2017

poor urgency handling customer concern

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Pros would consist of the ease of learning the fundamentals of working the EHR. It is pretty self explanatory once you fire up the application.

Cons

Our practice is located in Arizona, and the time on our EHR is incorrect since the base of kareo is located in California our system is on California time as opposed to Arizona. We have brought this issue to kareo, nothing was done there was no resolution to this matter and the time is still incorrect. One major issue that we are having is, we use a desk top for the use of kareo and as well as an Apple IPad. We are having an issue accessing "labs and studies" on the iPad and every time we open up this tab our app not only kicks us out but does not allow us to access the labs from the iPad thus causing Dr. Patel to then have to leave patients room come to the front to look at the labs, majorly taking away from Doctor Patient time. This matter has been brought to kareo's attention numerous amounts of times, and still it is not resolved we have been having this issue now for a total of 3-4 months. We call and receive a very typical answer from them stating that "we have our engineers working on it and someone will give you a call" no one ever gives our office a call back. we are very dissatisfied at this point with kareo and cons definitely out weigh the pros with this system.

 
 

Christy from Balanced Wellbeing, LLC
Specialty: Psychiatry
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

Terrible Experience

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Not much. The orange guy logo? That about sums up my likes. I have nothing nice or positive to contribute.

Cons

Kareo is outdated and difficult to navigate compared to other available software. It lacks functionality and intuition, completely incapable of anticipating the needs of its user. The ability to sort through super bills is RIDICULOUSLY inefficient. (I have many examples of poor software design, that is making my life hell.)

The soft ware has so many "An unexpected error has occurred" alerts that prevents me from entering the patient chart and no one on the support team ever knows how to fix it. I was unable to view my patient charts for 7 days with NO SOLUTION from program designers. There is a significant lack of accountability for their shortcomings which needs to be addressed urgently. I am getting further and further behind in my documentation because this error message prevents me from viewing notes at all. I have been told 2x now that a supervisor will call me back. NO ONE ever does. It was fixed very briefly last week, but here I am again...

MASSIVE improvements to expand the functionality are needed. Kareo is not a big player in our market, and likely never will be if big changes are not made. Immediate attempts to find SOME tools that will drive efficiency are critical. This EHR software is NOT designed to save medical organizations time and effort in processing patient information, as much as they may think it does.

 
 

Nataile from Inspire Communication, INC
Specialty: Speech therapy
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

New customer to Kareo and so far I'm loving it!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

We are switching from clinicsource to Kareo and so far we are loving the extra features we get - text/email alert for patients, ease of site navigation, multifunctionality and I absolutely love all the reports and tracking systems. I can't wait to see where are earning and losing money!

Cons

The only issue I keep hitting is the template system. I understand why it is as complicated as it is but I would love an even more comprehensive guide on how to create templates from scratch AND any templates related to speech therapy would be nice. There are ZERO at this time.

 
 

Jessica from Integrated Wellness Group
Specialty: Mental & behavioral health
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

Somewhat frustrating

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Our Providers find entering notes for patient visits to be very user friendly and billing finds posting payments for patients to be easier than our previous system.

Cons

Reporting options are limited.
Cannot scheduling recurring bi-weekly appointments (which is a regular thing for our office)
Electronic eligibility check does not work.

 
 

simone from Forest Clinica Familiar
Specialty: Family medicine
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2017

July 2017

User Intuitive but lacking support

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Easy interface that is simple and fairly fluid. Staff with limited EHR systems are able to learn Kareo quickly.

Cons

Too many glitches and inadequate access to customer support. Unacceptable to wait over 24 hours for assistance with an urgent/critical system issue.

 
 

LISA from Advanced Physical Therapy, Inc.
Specialty: Physical therapy / rehab
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2017

June 2017

BILLING MANAGER

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

There is a lot of click here and click there to get anywhere, which I believe this software should be easier to use than the older software that we had, but it is not. takes more time to do anything. There is no discharge feature. I wish customer service would be more helpful.

Pros

Very inexpensive, easy set up. Getting clearance from the insurances to switch over to the new clearing house was a piece of cake.

Cons

customer service is hard to get once they think your all set. So now I am trying to train myself. UGH!!!!

 
 

Rhonda from MBS GA
Specialty: Billing services
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2017

June 2017

The EHR does not have many bells and whistles. As a free service it sacrificed, however the options do not compare with most other services on the market in the new price range.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Kareo is similar to PracticeFusion except they now charge a few for the EHR. If the company had made changes in the operating platform to keep it modern like other programs on the market it would be great, not all programs have iPad apps; otherwise it's a waste of money and would recommend picking something different.

Pros

Familiar with software and functions.
Easy to use and maneuver.
Web-based and compatible with MAC.
iPad application available for tablet users.

Cons

Rates are fairly comparable with other EHR systems, however Kareo does not often the functions that are available on most EHRs.
Not compatible with all specialties.
Support is hit and miss.

 
 
 
Write a Review
Showing 1-20 of 124

CRISTAL from Pathways Psychology Services
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

August 2017

August 2017

Bad Customer Service

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Newer use than our old one but not what our intentions and not user friendly, aesthetics could be better and better synchronization with the practice management

Pros

The scheduler is very helpful, I like that we can place a color coordination. I also like that you can view it when you hoover your mouse over it.

Cons

The view settings, you can not adjust your views. Reports are hard to set up and customize even with the Excel Ad-In.

Source: Capterra
 

Samantha from Pro-Fit Physical Therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2017

July 2017

We have used this program for almost 2 years and it is so easy to work with!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Fast smother payments from insurances

Pros

What I like most is the ease from moving from one area to another without having to close everything down and reopen it.

Cons

There needs to be a better way to do patient statements. Right now I have to remember who owes what and when to send them. There needs to be something to just click on and print all patients due.

Source: Capterra
 

Aldo from Monmouth Functional Neurology Center
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2017

July 2017

We have been using this for some time and it's the best and easiest to learn how to use of all them.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

It runs my office!

Pros

Easy to institute and learn how to use. Helps integrate website promotion as well. Cloud-based so it can be accessed from anywhere.

Cons

Takes a long time for bugs to be fixed after having reported them. This is pretty annoying, As they should be able to institute changes relatively quickly.

Source: Capterra
 

Melody from Walnut Street Health & Wellness
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2017

July 2017

Terrible. Going on 4 months, cannot bill Medicare due to their incompetence. No formal training.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I cannot honestly say that has given up much benefit = perhaps more options for reports.

Pros

lots of options in reports, but not easy to figure out. colors of screens are easy on the eyes. no other good comments.

Cons

Poor training. poor customer service. errors that I do not get answers on. Does not pull in appointment code & ending date of service, using Care360 for EMR. Pulling up info - not enough info shows. No place to make recommendations (like when pulling up the list of "encounters", which insurance is it). Too many steps to find the patient balance, why is it not on the first patient screen. Also, copay, have to add an extra step in to find copay for insurance unless the patient has a card. Difficult to figure out what needs to be fixed on denials. No place to put the reason the patient is coming in that will cross over. So an "office visit" for any reason, we make a note and then have our staff print that day's appointments - or flip between systems. I have over 30 years experience, the sixth system I have been on, and I am NOT happy.

Source: Capterra
 

Suzanne from Alliance Physical Therapy
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2017

June 2017

Kareo has been instrumental in billing "clean claims" to the insurance.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Clean claims

Pros

Easy to navigate and customer service is professional and helpful. Claim rejections are informative as far as what is needed by the payer and enrollment assistance is easy to access. Claim scrubbing can be done for each new patient which creates smooth billing for ongoing claims.

Cons

Not enough variety for report options and the custom report option is too complicated. Billing secondary claims can be perplexing trying to attach the primary remit information to the claim. The sort method for some of the screens could have more options.

Source: Capterra
 

Tina from Doctors clinic

June 2017

June 2017

Easy to learn and use.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

Easy to use. You can toggle begin different tasks without exiting out of what you are doing at the time.

Cons

It could have the name of the doctor or the name of the office of your appointment on the reminder call.

Source: Capterra
 

Christopher from Varsity Rehabilitation
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Change is always hard at first, but Kareo is indispensable

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

It covers all the aspects we need to keep record and track of claims

Pros

Change is always hard at first, and at first I was not happy. When things are made easier for you and you can not tell; you rebel. I was wrong...the more I used Kareo the more I found it to be so helpful in running a small medical office.

Keeping track of charges, billing, claim transmission, and statements all made easy

Cons

The Cons are not as negative as other issues. The program shuts down when an error occurs; yet nothing is ever loss.

Source: Capterra
 

Dennis from Right Relief Health
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

An unfortunate let down

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

An electronic health record system that works but even in itself has too many shortcomings for taste.

Pros

This software provides beatiful EHR templates for charting. You can also create your own specified templates but the pre-made ones suffice. Along with that the scheduling in the EHR is easy to use and you can create a patient if they aren't in the database and you need to schedule a new patient.

Cons

Customer service is one of the worst providing customer service I have experienced. Dedicated members of managed billing, enrollments, and marketing don't even communicate efficiently. They also have you do their job at times when they have the resources at hand to figure things out yourself. You'll spend more time trying to get the certified medical biller and coder to do their job than taking care of patients.

Source: Capterra
 

WA from OHM
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

The process of submitting claim was confusing and tedious. They also charged me 4 times quoted rate.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

None, tried to cancel immediately, but even that took months.

Pros

They provided a very extensive tutorial, which is needed considering how complicated the process was.

Cons

Poor customer service, they would not refund money after they placed me into wrong subscription category.
The process of submitting a claim took about 4 times as long as it did with a free system I had been using.
They continued to charge my bank account for 2 months after I cancelled and did not offer a refund.

Source: Capterra
 

Nolan from Sports & Wellness Physical Therapy

May 2017

May 2017

Efficient Revenue Cycle Management Program

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

A complete and easy to use software to maintain a clean A/R

Pros

Ease of use once you get accustomed to the location of the features. On-boarding and training are easy. They help you through setting up all the clearinghouses and getting your EFTs and ERAs.

Cons

There are some reports that would be nice to have and reports tend to be more complicated than they need to be.

Source: Capterra
 

Lisa from Southern Maryland Dietitian
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

RD Private practice

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I signed up for Kareo after trying with Office Ally. Office Ally was so hard to use, Kareo is much easier and had great training.

Pros

integrates with Practice Fusion, good customer support

Cons

Windows based

Source: Capterra
 

Brad from Your Health Pediatrics
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

Not recommended for start-up clinics

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

As a start-up and not being able to open for several months, having your arm twisted to purchase an PM/EMR/Billing solution is not being considerate on the part of Kareo. A start up has many things to do and many things to invest in without wasting money on a system that will not be used due to time constraints. We paid from our limited resources for nothing for a couple of months. Even after canceling they are still trying to bill us. I consider them to be insensitive to the needs of a start-up and would not recommend them. They have a good sales pitch but my trust level was completely destroyed and I switched to another company.

Pros

It has a marketing solution

Cons

It does not create an automatic narrative attached to ICD10 codes as you click on options.

Advice to Others

Start-ups with limited resources should not be pressured into buying any software until they know that other priorities are out of the way. Otherwise they will pay for something they will not be using for a couple of months.

Source: Capterra
 

Amanda from Endeavor Rehab
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

March 2017

March 2017

Kareo is great!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Kareo has been a great billing software that we have been using for a little over a year now. We have been able to keep track of our a/r with all of the great reports that are available to us. We are overall satisfied with kareo.

Pros

The reports

Cons

Collections accounts could be easier to differentiate with a highlight on the account.

Advice to Others

This software is very easy to use and if you have any questions you can call customer service who has always been extremely helpful.

Source: Capterra
 

Carol from Comprehensive Psychiatric Solutions
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

March 2017

March 2017

RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY IF YOU'RE THINKING OF USING THEM

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

KAREO IS HORRIBLE!!! They're customer service is rude. They're account representatives are illiterate.

They do not know how to bill for services. We tried Kareo for a time. They sent out invoices to people who never should have been billed and for the people who were supposed to be billed they never sent an invoice. They're expensive for extremely poor work. We could not wait to get away from this company and now they're denying us access to our old notes. We often receive requests from lawyers, insurance companies, other physicians for our patients notes, but Kareo will no longer allow us access to the old notes unless we pay...

It's clear to me that this company is in trouble if they have to insist on payment to access old notes that the doctor documented on his patients. We are now looking into litigation and we will sue for our records. This company WITHOUT QUESTION and most assuredly is destined for failure. IT's inevitable. AGAIN IF YOU'RE THINKING ABOUT USING THIS SERVICE, KAREO, FOR ANY OF YOUR MEDICAL OFFICE NEEDS I IMPLORE YOU TO LOOK ELSEWHERE. THIS COMPANY KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT MEDICAL BILLING, SCHEDULING AND THEY REALLY, REALLY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT DECENT CUSTOMER SUPPORT. ALL THIS COMPANY CARES ABOUT IS $$$$$$$$$.......TAKE IT FROM ONE WHO KNOWS...MOST INCOMPETENT.

Pros

Nothing...it is not user friendly

Cons

Customer service is rude. Customer billing representatives are incompetent.

Advice to Others

FIND ANOTHER BILLING SOFTWARE COMPANY...KAREO IS ON ITS WAY OUT....

Source: Capterra
 

Kevin from Spectrum Behavioral Health LLC
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Kareo Billing and Practice Management programs work.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We are a small practice, and handling the office management, administration and billing was taking too much time and manpower to address. The Kareo Practice Management app allows me to stay on top of issues and keep my practice running well. Their billing team is excellent and we have a dedicated team leader from Kareo (Tanya) who is outstanding. They have kept my A/R aging under control and have really helped me deal with the many hurdles you can face with insurance companies. I have been able to use my time on running and growing our business and have been able to focus our small office staff on customer service and revenue generating activities.Strongly recommend you check Kareo out.

Pros

The support is excellent and you can always get a live voice to discuss issues and develop solutions.

Cons

Would like to see the cost come down a bit.

Advice to Others

Worth a look

Source: Capterra
 

walter from nextclinic
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Get quote in writing or bait and switch

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

make sure to get a quote in writing, we received a quote and started to implement the software and later found out it was really two times as much, had to start all over with a new company. Lots of wasted time.

Pros

original price

Cons

the actual price

Advice to Others

get quote in writing, will change after you start implementation.

Source: Capterra
 

Luana from New School University

January 2017

January 2017

Too confusing

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Very confusing system and doesn't show the bills by line item just a total. You can enter multiple codes for billing but to actually look at what your sending out, you can't.

Source: Capterra
 

Philip from P Mark Glencross MD MPH

January 2017

January 2017

No guarantees

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I had to cancel due to inability of Kareo to integrate with Practice Fusion. Despite advertising they could, they were unable to do so after multiple hours with technical support and two months trying. It was - Practice Fusion saying it was Kareo, Kareo saying it was Practice Fusion. I was very surprised having seen Kareo's reviews. When I asked for a refund, I received a firm, "no" and the reply below. I didn't read their extensive contract, which in fact states, if they can't get it to work, it is not their responsibility. I switched companies and was up an running in two weeks.

From Kareo, "Please keep in mind that Kareo subscription fees are not contingent on your ability to successfully integrate with your third party EHR"

Source: Capterra
 

Jeremy from Taylor Made Integrative Therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

January 2017

January 2017

DON'T DEMO THIS SOFTWARE UNLESS YOU KNOW YOU WILL BUY

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Red flag went up when they wanted my credit card information before I was able to use the free 3 month demo version. Well I was busy setting up a new practice that I moved into December 1st and never used the software. I emailed them 8 days after the 3 month demo expired which was December 4th and that I wouldn't be able to afford the EHR just yet and to check back in February. No response from Steve Cohen the sales guy. But on January 10th I don't just get a bill but they automatically withdrew over $800 from my account for a service I never used. I call and left a voicemail, then I emailed Steve Cohen, no response back from either yesterday. I call again and the guy puts me on hold at least 4 times and his response is, "Well we tried to call you several times." I understand I went past the deadline so I was willing to pay for the 6 business days of use after the demo was over but that was over $500. And then I got hung up on. I guess I know why they get your credit card info. If you don't want the software they can find some way to charge you anyway!!!

Pros

great options, would have done what i needed for manual therapy

Cons

Too costly and too many features for what i do.

Advice to Others

don't demo it.

Source: Capterra
 

Sharla from Cutting Edge Physical Therapy
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

January 2017

January 2017

Easy to Use

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I really enjoy using Kareo for our PT clinic. It is so easy to use! I really enjoy the check code feature it has.

Pros

Ease of use, reporting, and code check

Cons

It's missing some reports I would like to have and I would like a few more filter options on some of the reports

Source: Capterra
 
 
Write a Review