About Childcare Sage


Childcare Sage is an on-premise childcare management solution that can be installed on multiple computers operating within the same center. It offers functionalities such as billing management, payroll management, record keeping, attendance tracking, expense tracking, meal tracking and menu planning.

Childcare Sage enables users to record and store information about children and their families in the system alongside the records of alumni. The solution offers custom billing that allows users to enter different billing criteria and rates that can vary by day, time and month.

Childcare Sage helps in data safety by using five levels of password protection. This allows only authenticated users to view data related to children and their families. In order to overcome any disaster, the product automatically backs up its databases at regular intervals.

Services are offered on the basis of number of active children and families. Support is available via online forum.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 2000, Windows 8, Windows 10

17 Reviews of Childcare Sage

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.12 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(8)

4 stars

(6)

3 stars

(0)

2 stars

(3)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

December 2015

Suzie from Little Village

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

3.0

December 2015

Good customer service

I bought this product because it was supposed to be an all-in-one management tool designed for all the demands of a child care center. The product is a great way to electronically manage all the data that is necessary to collect and have on file. However; the reports are all pre-formatted and although you can send most to Xcel and make formatting changes there, every time you run an updated copy, you have to do the formatting all over again. The accounting functions are difficult to figure out (the manual and training videos were of very little help), and created more work for me to have accurate accounting reports and tasks completed. For example, there is no guided bank statement reconciliation statement. You have to print out the month of check register, reconcile it with the bank statement and old records of outstanding checks, then go back into the center ledger to mark each entry individually as paid with a paid date. Another problem we have with the accounting functions is that on the website, CCS claims to integrate with QuickBooks. "Integrate" depends on your definition of the word. We tried every possible export function. In the end, though, we worried about the integrity of the data and decided that exporting data from Sage into QB would not be a good idea. Bill Jacobs in tech support was very helpful when he was available. Sometimes I had to call/email multiple times before getting a hold of him and as a director, I was not always available when he returned calls. He had many answers and was more than willing to help me figure out functions. However, after 8 months of using Childcare Sage, the functions in accounting are simply too limited and I will use it only for managing child files from here on out. Luckily, I maintained a duplicate (more accurate) set of books in QuickBooks and will return to that. Unfortunately, I spent a lot of money on Childcare Sage for it to not be as amazing as the website makes it out to be.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our system. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our customer service and we always strive to help our users any way we can. We designed our payables, G/L, and payroll system to meet the needs of childcare centers after getting a lot of input from many of our users concerning the functionality they need. We will use your comments in our new versions, and we will contact you asap to show you how our software can address your concerns.

March 2018

Marriah from Sanjel

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Good value

Would recommend for smaller organizations. Not quite robust enough for larger ones. Value worth the money.

Pros

Program maintains multiple data points and consolidated them into one portfolio. Easy to use and look up information using a number of search tools. Organizes data well.

Cons

Not very customizable. Program offers canned reports but doesn’t allow functionality outside how it was designed.

December 2016

Gail from Angels Child Care Center, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Not impressed

Extremely difficult to get systems to talk to each other if your using parent check in. Instructions are very hard to follow and you need to send an email for customer service and they call you back when they can. Program never did work for me, changed to another program. Not impressed.

Pros

You cover a lot of things that are needed, but the program is to difficult to use.

Cons

Not user friendly, instructions are difficult to understand, never did get the program running. Just this month went with another program.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied December 2016

We are sorry that you had issues setting up our software at your center. Our software is currently in use at over 11,754 centers, and most use a check-in computer for billing, meal tracking, and payroll. We often remotely log in and connect computers at centers, and we frequently answer questions from IT people about connecting computers. This is included in our support, as well as unlimited training to help you use our software to help your center.

January 2019

Connie from Salvation Army

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Child management

As a teacher, I have received positive feedback from the parents regarding this software. They enjoy how easy it is to use l, how they can make payments online and view their child's account at any time.

Pros

I found this software to be user friendly as well as a wonderful tool for our families.

Cons

There wasn't anything I didn't like about this software.

July 2015

Dianne from The Discovery Center

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

July 2015

Love the idea of it but difficult to figure out.

ChildCare Sage seems to be a great program. Unfortunately it is difficult to figure certain things out. The manual is not helpful at all, no explanation of how to do things step by step. I have tried several times to get a hold of the company by phone and by email and have had very little response. When they do respond, sometimes the explanation does explain anything at all!

Response from B & I Software of

Replied July 2015

Thank you for using our software. We have several ways of helping our users with any questions they have. We offer phone, email, and online support for any questions, plus we offer extended training by appointment. We will contact you immediately to set up a training session. Thank you for the feedback.

July 2014

Claudete from Kid-E-Shack Lakeway

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2014

ChildCare Sage Software

I am the owner of small business called Kid-E-Shack Lakewayin Texas. After searching for few childcare software, my husband decided Childcare Sage to be the best software that will fit the needs of my child care center, and my staff. ChildCare Sage is an easy software program and we do not need to be computer experts. It's only for drop-in center. Every time I had to call the tech support line, Bill Jacobs friendly helped me right away, guiding me step by step. I highly recommend ChildCare Sage. Thank you for the great software program.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied July 2014

We are glad that the drop in version of our Childcare Sage (DropInCare Sage) is helping your business and thank you for the kind words.

June 2015

Alyson from Keshet Child Care Development

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

June 2015

Great software I have never need to update.

There is so much this has to offer I haven't needed all of it. After so many year (9) of using this product I have not felt the need to upgrade to another product. I found it easy to learn and easy to train my staff to use. I like the way it tracks the kids and billing. The customer service, though I need so very little has been great. This has been a huge savings vs the other companies I have researched.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied July 2015

Thank you for the kind words and your continued support. Our goal has always been to provide the most professional, comprehensive, and affordable system on the market. Please contact us with any suggestions for making our software even better.

May 2015

CJ from Fusion Learning & Development Center

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

May 2015

Very comprehensive .... great if you have experience with computers

Its a very comprehensive program, unfortunately it's a little confusing and it's not very intuitive for the user. You have to have the manual to get the instructions but even then it can still be a little overwhelming. Support is great when you can reach them.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied May 2015

We always strive to provide excellent support and service to our users. We offer free training for our software, and are also available for training before or after our business hours by appointment. Please call us with any questions or to set up a training session at a time convenient for you. Childcare Sage: 866-842-7806 or 301-537-4754. Thank you for the feedback.

December 2015

Kim from KimCare Child Care

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2015

We use Childcare Sage to run our daycare

Love the software. No modules and all inclusive. You can archive seasonal kids so the don't count on you active kids number instead of having to delete them. Love the full accounting GL feature. I used to use quickbooks and I find this just as robust and right there in one place. Tracking meals, class schedules, Timeclock for kids and staff, full payroll and taxes and everyyear new features are added at no cost that are amazing. These developers truly know my business needs.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied December 2015

Thank you for the kind words. We are always happy when our software helps centers.

August 2015

Rosanne from Kids Care Inc

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2015

I have been using CC Sage for 6+ years and its made my accounting much easier

I have some unique applications for my before and after care programs. Bill has always worked with me to create applications that suit my different tuition pricing needs . Although I don't use all that CC Sage has to offer, I couldn't operate without it. Its cost effective and the hands on computer assist is worth the small annual fee . I lost my database and Bill was able to rescue and recreate my program so I am up and running again.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied August 2015

Thank you for the kind words. We are always happy to help our users.

July 2014

Derryl from Evans

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2014

Very affordable and totally complete childcare software on the market.

Pro: This is the best complete affordable childcare software on the market. Easy to use and customer support service is phenomenal. Love it keep up the great work! Con: New computer users may get overwhelm with program layout but manual instructions is very helpful.

Response from B & I Software of

Replied July 2014

Thank you.

May 2015

Luke from Childrens Academy of Hickory Flat

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2015

The product is great and the company is very helpful!!!

Amazing product! Customer service is amazing! The price is amazing too you get MORE than what you pay for!

Response from B & I Software of

Replied June 2015

Thank you for the kind words. We are very happy our software is helping you run your center.

September 2017

Brenda from Bethesda Learning Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

It is not user friendly.....finally gave up!

Pros

I liked the "advertised" functions, (billing, time clock, payroll, emploee taxes, student records, etc).

Cons

Customer service is lacking. Called twice due to lack of understanding of some components and was given a very brief, non explainatory answer. Disappointed in the program and the service..I really wanted this to work for me, instead, I am stuck with a program I am not using

Response from B & I Software of

Replied October 2017

We are very sorry to hear about your support experience. We do offer free training where we can go over any questions that you have and we can also walk you through any process that you have questions about. Please call us at 301-537-4754. Thank you.

May 2015

Cedrick from Little Care Bears Learning & Child Care Center

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2015

Fantastic Service !!!

Very helpful when i called in for support. I recommend this software to all Childcare Centers!! :-)

Response from B & I Software of

Replied May 2015

Thank you for the kind words. We are very happy to help our users.

January 2017

Jeff from Sunnyside Childcare

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Great